We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia
Ranked #133 of 325 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay again.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The manager was so rude, I've never met a manager so rude and obnoxious. The dorm was good although no locks on the toilets or the bathroom. Very good air con, but was woken up every morning very early by construction/building/drilling right outside our window

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webby1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    32
    20
    18
    29
See reviews for
9
18
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My family and I stayed just one night at the GB2 at the recommendation of a tuk tuk driver (should have known better). The price was ok. The location, ok. The room was ok, until the music started downstairs. Earplugs!!!! And then my favorite part....wait for it.....there were bugs in the bed...not necessarily "bedbugs" since I've never seen them in person before, but definitely bugs in the bed.
They definitely overcharge for bus tickets. When we went elsewhere to buy ours, they gave us a hard time about it. It wasn't great.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago for 2 nights and apart from being sold an overpriced bus ticket everything else was okay. Unfortunately stayed here again for the night and our opinions changed drastically!

The hotel is in a good location 5 minutes away from the central market and shopping centre. Stayed in a private room with private bathroom and it was clean and tidy. The A/C isn't great but the fan in the room is more than enough.

The hotel reception is constantly full of tuk tuks drivers, they take up table space and use the pool table making it impossible for any guests to use.

Came back here for 1 night a few weeks later and the experience was totally different, at first it was great, we walked in and were recognised straight away by the manager and put in exactly the same room (excellent). Once we'd put our bags in the room we went out, on the way out one of the other guys in reception stopped us and asked us to pay for our stay and for our passport (although they already had a copy). He got very aggressive when I told him I didn't have it with me. I then offered to pay, and he then got angry because I didn't have the right change.

When we returned the manager was back and we asked again about bus tickets. We asked for discounts etc but he told us that he only gave us the previous time because he owned the bus company and this company was different (strange how when we got the bus the next day the bus picked us up from the same location and had the same name on the front!). Anyway this wasn't the worst...

That night, knowing we were up early to get the bus the next morning, we were woken at 2am by another member of staff, he knocked constantly for 5 minutes before I answered the door, when I did he said someone was waiting downstairs for me, I informed him I wasn't expecting anyone and he didn't let it go asking if I was sure, after a further discussing he left and I went back to sleep. 5 minutes later another knock on the door, this time the staff member in question had brought up the visitor to check, on seeing me answer the door they simply looked at me and walked off, no apology, nothing!

The following morning we had a knock on the door 5 minutes before we were due to leave to say we needed to hurry up, we left without a thank you or goodbye!

My advice DO NOT STAY HERE, it is full of creepy, scamming, unfriendly staff who only want to fill their own back pockets!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Slept in the dorm. What was oké but a little bit overpriced 8 dollar a night. They where constructing right outside, next to the window ofthe dorm. Luckely i had earplugs. Don't buy bustickets here they are to expensive!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Our tuktuk driver got us of here and the room and price was reasonable, so we stayed here for one night. At first our door didnt have any lock, it got one within an hour, and it worked, but when we went to bed, the door wouldnt close.. we found a solution ourselves though. The room was clean and the bed comfy with almost a real duvet from back home(!) We only stayed one night because it was not our kind of neighbourhood, too many bars. We asked in the reception about a nightbus to Bangkok and they said 38 $. At our new guesthouse it is only 24 $. I dont know if the price difference also equals a quality difference or not...
But! I must say, with the good bed and the aircon, it is the best sleep i have had for weeks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordfjordeid, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Bedbugs and not clean, especially dorms. I would pick another place. We were sent here by a different hostel and didn't read about it first. We had some girl in the group that freaked out by the bedbugs and refused to stay. The reception did refund for the people who left. Even if you like to save money on your trip, there are better ways to do it. It's also close to the red light district.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErlendOs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampot, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night but the staff were efficient & friendly, room 29 is small but quiet and has a very comfortable bed & soft pillows for a good nights rest if you are a tired traveler. The shower is very powerful! Just use for sleeping.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,463 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
786 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#52 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia

Property: Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia
Address: Street 172, Sangkat Chey Chumneas | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia (Formerly Touk Meas 2 Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Phnom Penh. Featuring an outdoor pool and a business centre, Golden Boat 72 Guesthouse is situated conveniently within a 5-minute drive to the Royal Palace and the National Museum. It operates a 24-hour front desk and provides free Wi-Fi access throughout the property. Fitted with tiled flooring, air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a personal safe, a wardrobe, a ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Golden Boat 72 by Tropasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing