We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai Food and Reasonably Priced”
Review of Banyan Thai Cuisine - CLOSED

Banyan Thai Cuisine
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Banyan Thai Cuisine to serve you the signature dish and authentic taste. We are not 5 star looking dish, but every single dish come from cook from love and serve you by heart. Special menu are create every week. We open from 9am. - 10Pm. We also have service catering outside and at the restaurant.
California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food and Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Did not go there for a massage b/c too hungry and hot when looking for a cook refuge after a whole morning of outing. Will plan accordingly when in town next. Onward with the review of the restaurant. Located next to NGO- Tabitha, which sells quality Khmer silk products that benefit the poorest of the poor in Cambodia. So if you are shopping next door, stop over for a lunch and cool drink (or vice versa). The menu offers a range of Thai food from the different regions of Thailand. I ordered 3 things based on the picture (see pictures). The mango smoothie hit the spot. Since it was mango season, I specifically asked for no extra sweetener--- just pure mango and ice. I also ordered the spicy pork curry with noodle and the mince pork dip. The minced pork dip with crispy rice chips came after the noodle soup, was not sure why...Nevertheless all items were very good, heavy in spice & calories...Service was a little slow though. My bill came to US$10.50. Definitely would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sofiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Since we live a block away from the restaurant, we regularly eat at this place and every time we try to choose something new. Almost all their food taste very delicious. The Tom Yum soup and fish menu are a must try. The staff are also friendly and helpful. It's definitely one of the most underrated restaurants in the city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PinayinthePenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Oh, I had the best cashew nuts chicken ever! Really good prices, amazing food and staff very friendly :) I would go definitely again :)

Helpful?
Thank Dadka Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food with great massages”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Do you want to eat delicious food and at the same time feeling tired? The Banyan Thai Cuisine restaurant is the place to be. First, the massages are great. The masseuses are very professional and well trained. Second, the food is exquisite. I had a variety of local Thai food which was mouth watering. I really liked their steamed rice with chicken and cashew nuts. Banyan Thai cuisine restaurant is worth a visit to try some of the local Thai delicacies.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EB211Erma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
546 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 988 helpful votes
“Great-tasting food.”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great tasting thai food at this restaurant slightly out from the city centre. The pin on this TA profile is incorrect, the actual location is towards the southern end of pasteur (street 51).

We ordered deep-fried pork ribs, a chicken curry in coconut soup, and a sour and spicy salad with fresh (raw) prawns.

Everything was delicious, and together with steamed rice and fruit smoothies, the bill came to just over $20; very reasonable for good food.

This would otherwise have been a 5-star review, but TWO stars were docked due to the menu being lacking in more detailed descriptions (a potentially dangerous and life-threatening oversight). Authenic thai names for dishes are well and good but, for those of us with food allergies (I don't eat fish, my wife doesn't eat saltwater seafood & peanuts), ordering is a nightmare without a more detailed descriptions of what's actually in each dish. Many curries that looked interesting couldn't be ordered because I couldn't ascertain whether they contained fish, and no staff were busy, so nobody was available to ask...

In future, we'll be going back to lemongrass, which remains our favorite thai restaurant in phnom penh. At lwast there, the dishes (still with thai names) are followed by a detailed description in English, including main ingredients.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Alin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banyan Thai Cuisine also viewed

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing