We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostmanship & Hospitality comes first :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #5 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostmanship & Hospitality comes first :-)”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hostmanship & horpitality comes at place 1 at Rambutan
U feel very welcome already at the reception
Rooms was clean and nicely decorated
Internet connection very good
Waterflow from the shower superb
Airconditioning was so constructed that u did not feel the wind while your in bed, a big +
Restaurant and bar also great service, vert fine food, lots of nice details
Clean swimmingpool :-)
I will sure go there again, and prob check out first the other 2 resorts by the same owners in Siem Raep called Golden Banana Resort

Room Tip: Had a pool view room with a hottub on the balcony, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    107
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
252
129
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Callicoon, NY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I picked this hotel in Phnom Penh because it's a sister property of the Golden Banana/Rambutan resort in Siem Reap, and I got a good deal by booking both. The Rambutan is quite stylish with a modern, boutique hotel vibe. Very functional and comfortable room.
The location is great. It's in a residential neighborhood, on a quieter street away from the busier main drags of Phnom Penh (and those main drags can be very, very busy.) I was able to walk from this hotel all the way to the central palace area and Sisowath Quay in about 20 minutes. Not a lot of people seem to walk in Phnom Penh, so I felt like I was a farang curiosity to locals.
The neighborhood is upscale, with a number of coffee houses and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. Definitely less of a scene than the hotels at Sisowath Quay. When I came back from sightseeing, it felt like I was coming back to my own quiet retreat. At night, the area was refreshingly quiet, for being in the middle of a big, buzzing city like Phnom Penh.
The experience at Rambutan felt a little less personal than at their sister property in Siem Reap, but that could well be more the difference between a big city and a smaller city. Overall, this would definitely be my pick for a return visit to Phomh Penh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed again on our last visit and feel like we have found our sanctuary when in the city. Stayed n the penthouse this time and found the extra space suitable for entertaining. The roof top spa is fab! The staff are getting their skills fine tuned and are a credit to the hotel and for the future of tourism in Cambodia. Keep up the great work

Room Tip: Have tried all room types all suitable based on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This place was fantastic. The room had a bath on our private balcony which was divine. The bed was large and very comfortable and the a/c and fan were great. The staff were so so helpful and had a touch of funkyness that made the social aspect around the pool very cool. Loved the place and they met any requests we had, nothing was too much to ask.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Rambutan is a relatively new and well designed hotel. The industrial concrete and minimalist modern look works well - it feels larger than it really is, and stays lovely and cool when the temperatures rise.

The rooms are large and well appointed with attention to detail. For example, it's a nice touch to have one electrical socket that still works when you leave the room, so you can charge your phone/tablet/computer etc while you are out. The location of the shower IN the room was interesting... if you're sharing a room with someone you don't usually want to see you naked, maybe choose a different room type than the deluxe pool view room.

The staff were friendly and professional, and the restaurant food decent when I didn't want to venture out. The massages in the spa on site were excellent! (Thanks, Smey)

As other reviewers have mentioned, the location in the BKK district may be away from the usual hotel locations, but it's a great choice, as other hotels springing up in the area attest. One of these was under construction next door during my stay, and scheduled to open the day after I left. Yes, it was noisy at times, but this is Phnom Penh - there's construction on every street, and you can hardly escape it.

Others have also pointed out one issue which can be annoying - the large number of local expats who utilise the pool area on weekends. I can completely understand why the management would encourage this - they spend money on food and beverage, and also create an atmosphere when interacting with guests. However, when you can't get a seat by the pool as a paying hotel guest because of the number of day-visitors using it as a place to hang out, it is frustrating. On a Sunday afternoon, I took food and drink up to my room and sat on the balcony instead, as it was just too crowded downstairs.

Apart from those times though, the resort is a calm and welcoming oasis from what can be a hectic, bustling city. I'll stay again when I return to Phnom Penh, even if it's just on my way to stay at their excellent sister resort in Siem Reap!

Room Tip: I loved the deluxe pool view rooms. Bath on the balcony is great. Just be aware that the shower is I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is a hotel with great design. Looks very modern and the concrete keeps it cool. Had a massive room with a great balcony and bath on the balcony.
Breakfast is great cooked to order and done well and you get your own fresh coffee. Massive very comfy bed.
Location wise in my opinion it doesn't really matter in Phnom Penh. No one seems to walk anywhere and if you try it takes forever because crossing the road is tricky and the pavements are almost non existent. Roads all very dark. So as it's in a quieter area you are away from things like the riverside but you can get a tuk tuk for 2/3 dollars and you get a bit more peace (although a great place lots of construction, begging and general hassle to buy stuff in Phnom Penh)
Staff are helpful and friendly and we saw the owner there every day having team meetings and eating in his own restaurant which is always a good sign. I ate at the restaurant once and it was nice.
The pool is fantastic. It's massive and well designed. My only issue with the hotel is that they let people who aren't staying at the hotel in to use the pool. I know hotels do this quite commonly but it seems that heading here on a Saturday is quite a popular thing for local ex pats to do. I imagine it brings in a lot if money but it means every sun lounger is taken by what were quite a rowdy bunch - I'd loved how peaceful this hotel was. Otherwise loved it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pow84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nites and really enjoyed the peace and ambience. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner and all meals were good quality and price. The bonus was good western coffee which is hard to find in Cambodia. The wait staff and reception staff were all attentive and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
785 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#7 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
the 252
the 252
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Property: Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing