We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, comfortable bed, excellent service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #4 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, comfortable bed, excellent service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel is fantastic. It has great modern style with comfortable beds and the food is fantastic! The staff are all very helpful. However I would probably not use one of their tuk tuks again as our driver that we had hired for the whole day did a disappearing act for about 30mins.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    103
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
239
125
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I ended up there from a friend recommendation, it was a delightful surprise, staff was great, food delicious and room were great. The help and caring of the staff was really precious and the service great.

Room Tip: one the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed at for a good value. would definitely come back for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spielben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Am not sure where to start knowing that other comments have already said all of what i would say! i booked a four night stay in the penthouse suite here, it was everything i had expected and more! the room was large, clean and quite. this was my first time in Cambodia so as always you never know whats right and whats wrong in a new country but the staff here are a credit to this hotel and were always so helpful with advice and questions, the tuk tuk drivers at the hotel will take care of you whenever you went out and were really cheap. The food in the hotel was very good and i have eaten in five star places that cannot match thyme, breakfast was cooked fresh for you every morning with a wide time span for those who like to lay in! To keep it short would i go back here? hell yes and i have booked to go back in a few weeks time so that should say how good it was. Is the hotel 5 star?no of course not but i know many five star hotels that could learn a lot from them!! the staff are the key to this hotel they really are good and always made me feel welcome with a smile and a chat! the hotel is in a great position away from the noise but close enough to have fun.

Room Tip: Penthouse with the big jacuzzi and terrace is worth a look and the extra money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIXERMAN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, Owner at Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear MIXERMAN, thanks for the compliments to our lovely hotel and the staff. We are very happy that your first stay was excellent and see you back in a few weeks. To have a breakfast possible the whole morning is something that I often miss in many hotels and often irritates me. If you are on a trip you want to decide for yourself when to get up and have breakfast, and thats what we try to do. Thanks again and see you soon.

dirk de graaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We would definitely return to this hotel. It is very well located just a short tuk tuk ride from all the central attractions. Our room was clean and newly furnished. The restaurant/ pool/lobby was a great place to spend time in the hottest part of the day. Staff were attentive and able to help with any inquiry. A great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed one night at the Rambutan and had a great time - the staff were very friendly, gave me a refreshing juice on arrival, and were always helpful. It was probably one the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed at - and definitely the best value. The restaurant downstairs was quite nice, food was tasty. A few of my expat friends in Phnom Penh mentioned they sometimes eat at that restaurant too on occasion. The best thing about the pool was that it's salt water! The only salt water pool I had the pleasure of swimming in in Cambodia. Most things around town were just a short tuktuk ride away, and the hotel itself is on a nice quiet street. Bed was very comfy, everything well appointed. I guess the only downside of my stay here is that it was right at the beginning of my trip, so it set the standard very high right from the start!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveller062, Owner at Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Diego, it was lovely to have you here and thanks for the compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the food in our excellent restaurant. Our chef is a award winning cook (silver in last years cooking competition amongst all 5 star hotels and restaurants) and we are very proud of him. We hope to see you again, soon.

Thanks again

Dirk de Graaff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel! I was dubious about it because I don't usually stay at 3* outside of the US as the international standard for 3* seems to be much lower--but this place is a little oasis at a great value! Not a mega hotel, but definitely a well put together little boutique place.

One thing to note: the staff is pretty good, definitely friendly, but at least one desk clerk will be afraid to tell you no. For example I asked about the boat to siem reap and was met with a "It wasn't running a few weeks ago, but I will check again, maybe it is running now..." followed up by nothing at all. I asked again later, and got an "I forgot." Later I learned from my tuktuk guy that it still wasn't running and had a different staff member make a bus reservation. Another time I tried to get the desk to break a $100 bill--got met with a nervous laugh and a (useless) suggestion to go to the gas station up the street instead of him just changing it for me. Other staff seemed more competent and got things done more readily.

You're farther from the main touristy things, but there are always tuktuk guys to take you around from right out front, they have their own little tour circuit planned and everything, so no worries there. I actually really liked both of my tuktuk drivers, they were super nice and animated, one took time to have a whole conversation with me before I took my first ride, convincing me to do the tourist circuit, the two tuktuk guys I rode with both had great english skills which was very comforting, as the level seems to be quite variable depending on where you go in Cambodia. If you have a lot to do, just take a tuktuk guy for a day or a half day to run around. You really can't easily walk in Phnom Penh anyway, and it isn't very safe to do so beyond the areas right around the markets and the royal palace area, so the distance from the tourist sites doesn't seem to be a problem. There isn't all that much to see at these places anyway, so you don't end up spending that much time there.

I expected simple decor, which the hotel had, but it was done in a very elegant, upmarket way. They also had the most comfortable beds I experienced in all of Cambodia--HUGE bonus points for that and much needed after the 19 hours of traveling to get there.

The little pool is super relaxing after a hot day sightseeing--great to be able to cool off and have a nice icy smoothie or beer. The ice is filtered and very clean by the way, I had several dishes there and no ill effects.

They also have massage services--I tried "Khmer massage" which isn't the stretching/using feet as leverage type like thai massage, but is also done with clothes on and the lady climbs on the table to get leverage on your back and stuff. Much more relaxing than Thai massage (I was able to fall asleep twice during it!) but more vigorous than swedish/oil based massages. Really enjoyable, from a sweet little woman who spoke about 4 words of English but started everything with "Scuse me ma-dahm."

Breakfast was included in my room rate and delicious, as was the food and smoothies they serve throughout the day (BEST Amok I had in Cambodia!). Do be aware, however, that Cambodia and especially Phnom Penh get up very early... you will hear the kitchen staff getting started around 6AM if you're on a lower floor. I was up at that time due to jet lag and squashing my sightseeing into a short day, so it wasn't a problem, but if you're a late sleeper you may want to ask for a higher floor or room further away from the kitchen.

Overall, liked it so much the first time that I'm returning for a night before going to the airport to fly home, and would definitely stay there again if I make it back to Phnom Penh.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I totally recommend this hotel. The staff are lovely, everything is new and very clean, the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast was great and they served really good coffee as needed. The guys at the front desk sent us to some fabulous restaurants.
Tip: always have a card with the location of the hotel on it as they sometimes have trouble finding the place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#9 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Property: Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing