We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Ranked #4 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our stay at Rambutan was really good!
- The rooms are so modern in decoration and lay out (but probably better for couples or families, ask for a frosted window shower if you are not traveling as a couple)
- The swimming pool is the best! Salt water, so pretty and clean
- The staff is so helpfull
- The minibar is perfect
- Breakfast is the best

A tip: please note that you can order more than one dish from the breakfast menu. We didn't understand that the first day, so I ended up having only one pancake for breakfast - though it was extremely good, not enough food for most people. And be aware that it can take 15-20 minutes from you order till your breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with outdoor bathtub is very nice, but you need to let the hot water run for some time b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla_DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    104
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
41
240
126
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Boutique style hotel, very professionally run with a wide range of services and facilities. Slight mix up with airport transfer on arrival however the rest of the stay was excellent. Respectful staff and very LGBTQI friendly. Dining, beverages and massage all of a high quality.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms all seem great with large balconies and outdoor bath's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bruxelles
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was originally coming for 2 days in the hotel. And I extended my stay by 2 nights more.

Everything was very nice. The cleanliness of the rooms and the common parts, the breakfast excellent, not to envy any western place. There is particular attention to every details. Very nice decoration and design to make you feel very comfortable.

The staff was very friendly and aware for any request. Good suggestions for Phnom Penh.

No doubt, a good place in Phnom Penh. I've stayed also at Nogaworld Hotel. Absolutely nothing to do with Rambutan and even more expensive!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Prior of the trip, I have emailed the hotel regarding the availability etc and they were very efficient in responding to my emails.

We arrived around 8+AM at Rambutan. We had a welcome drink and cold towel as refreshment. After registration, one of the staff gave us a short ‘briefing’ on the resort where about, hotel policies, the surrounding tourist attractions areas and gave us a map. Should you need tuk tuk or private taxi service, they will be happy to assist in arranging for one. I find this to be useful.

Once that is done, we were shown to our room. To my surprise, they upgraded our room from Standard to Deluxe Garden which comes with private garden and outdoor bathtub. How cool is that!

The room seems to have clean and minimal concept. The room was very clean, spacious, has open wardrobe, bath with rain shower, TV, air conditioner, mini bar, jug kettle, coffee & tea amenity, 2 bottles of drinking water (refilled everyday) and FREE wifi throughout resort. The bed was very comfortable and comes with soft & hard pillow.

We also enjoy free breakfast. It is not a typical buffet offering however they serve breakfast set which comes with juice, coffee / tea, dessert and off course your choice of breakfast menu.

There is a pool for those who love hanging out by the pool side or taking a dip after venturing out in Phnom Penh.

The staffs are friendly yet professional. I think one of the things that I really like about the resort is the hospitality rendered by the staffs. They make you feel welcome and every time I come back to the resort after being out for the whole day, it felt like coming back ‘home’.

The resort is located in town but not in most central area of Phnom Penh which is actually a good thing. I feel the central town is ‘congested’ and heavy traffic. There are some local restaurants just outside the resort which opens from noon till late night. Should you crave for some café food, etc you can walk to street 51, which is about 10 minutes’ walk. On our 1st day, we did the walking to street 51. Just be careful as the road traffic can be hectic especially during the rush hours. Don’t fancy walking, you can always get a tuk tuk to bring you there for about USD3.00. This is the rate we paid during our stay there. Where to get a tuk tuk? Don’t worry as there are few waiting outside the hotel. Just inform the resort staff, they will assist you.

Overall, I am very happy with my stay at Rambutan. Why? Awesome hotel with heartfelt service.

More pictures are here: https://brownboyspeaks.wordpress.com/2014/07/24/review-of-rambutan-resort-phnom-penh-cambodia/

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cammal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is a little oasis. It is in a quieter part of the city, but the there is still a lot of activity outside; once inside it is quiet. My room was on the first floor (101) and it the patio was right next to the house next door, but it was still calm. I slept amazingly well for being in a hotel. The mattress was comfortable and the pillows were also good. The decor is modern and sleek, but the bamboo towel rack reminds you that you are in Cambodia. There is a tv with lots of channels and a minibar. The shower, sink, and commode were all separate. There is a safe in the room, a bit awkwardly placed though. The pool (salt water) area is beautiful and the dining room has yummy food and great cocktails. The complementary breakfast is great!

The staff is so helpful! I arranged for a tuktuk to pick me up at the airport, and later changed the time of my flight and forgot to tell the hotel; I borrowed a monk's mobile and called the hotel and they sent a driver right away. He, Mr. Heng, was so nice that I asked for him for the rest of my stay. The staff helped arrange all my travel and made the whole trip quite easy.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the extreme left side abut another building; it is not loud, but is less aesthetically plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The staff here are most helpful, and the room is awesome (penthouse). They have a saltwater pool and breakfast is great. It's a $3us trip into town proper and they have tuk tuks on standby out the front. The currency is mostly US, strange to us as it is our first trip to Cambodia.
The food at the restaurant is also very good quality.
It appears a new hotel and the rooms are decked out in a modern style, well maintained and easily pay $300+ in Melbourne.
You could easily be anywhere in the world here and worth every cent.
I would definitely stay here again.
Josh and Betty, Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Without much preparation we arrived in Phnom Penh and Rambutan Resort and was greeted warmly. The hotel is small and cozy with a fresh and modern touch.

Phnom Penh is a city of great contrasts ! And so is the hotel and the surroundings. Outside the hotel there are the weird and fanatic traffic and inside the oasis with the pool, restaurant and nice rooms. The backside for us was that the upgrade of the room made us face a construction with generators running from early morning to dark, but luckily they were quite during the night.

A hotel to recommend and we wouldn't hesitate to use Rambutan as our home next time in Phnom Penh.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 264 in Phnom Penh
741 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 264 in Phnom Penh
2,372 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#5 of 264 in Phnom Penh
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 264 in Phnom Penh
418 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
VMansion Boutique Hotel
VMansion Boutique Hotel
#8 of 264 in Phnom Penh
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh

Property: Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Address: #29 Street 71 | Between junctions with streets 398 & 400, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sister property of Rambutan Hotel & Resort in Siem Reap located in the middle of Phnom Penh's chique and quiet BKK1 area, just walking distance of Toul Sleng and Russian Market and a short ride from all other activities. All rooms have TV, air-con, fan, writing desk, rain shower, fridge and all amenities. All deluxe suites have a private outdoor bath in garden or balcony. The Penthouse suite overlooks the city and has a large private Jacuzzi. Salt water pool, bar, restaurant, spa and free breakfast (large choice) complete the Resort. Set in a city environment with a green garden makes it the perfect city oasis for a short getaway or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing