We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, good location but not quite like photos”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, good location but not quite like photos”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We were overall impressed with the apartments in terms of cleanliness and perfect location just 1min from riverfront. Other hotels in this area are often 3 times the price so very good value. The only let down really was the bathroom which was concrete and seemed slightly unfinished. It is clean and the shower is hot and powerful so can't complain too much just wasn't what I was expecting. We stayed in room e2 which is towards the back meaning it is quieter as it can be noisy at the front. Bottles of water are supplied in your room everyday. There is a working large size fridge and hob if you want to cook but so many restaurants nearby there is probably no point. Flat screen tv with English channels. Ceiling fan in the living room and aircon in the bedroom. The bedroom also has a wardrobe and laundry service is also available. Staff on reception are friendly but some speak English better than others. They arranged a taxi for us to visit the killing fields which was very useful. We travelled to siem reap with sok sokha buses no 7 st 106 for $8 and hotel pick up. Overall very good value stay but not quite the luxury I was expecting. Some of the more deluxe rooms may have been very different. I have uploaded photos also.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks a lot for your reviewing and feedback, it's really help full. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we were just checking it out for fun, cause it looked out of our range in terms of travel budget, but we were lucky to be proofed wrong! my friend and I rented one of the apartments for two nights and looooooooved it!! apart from the great, absolutely efficient and elegant interior design, the super central location and the friendly stuff, we felt like really living in phnom penh for 2 days. in a loft! with excellent spring rolls in the mom's and pop's place right across the street and occasional food stalls rolling by. after a long day walking around and surviving the traffic outside, we walked up to the second floor, set down on the balcony and had a cigarette. just like home :) or better!

Room Tip: go for the apartment up on the second floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your reviewing at our Hotel-serviced apartment, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I stay in this hotel due to it location and I always prefer service apartment than hotel.

Pro :
Location, it near to nightlife and alot food available all around.
Morning staff and the owner is friendly

Con :
Room is huge, but very little equipment on the room. Making the room look very empty.
One room with air conditioner, another with just fan. And to make it worse, air conditioner is old and didn't make the room feel cooling.
Room look very weird and could see that the wall and floor are done poorly.
The worst thing happen to me is my friend went back hotel earlier and was asleep, I came back later and to only find that no receptionist, staff can't speak English at all and since the guy station there can't speak English, don't have master key, I am forced to book another room with full rate! It ain't my fault that I can't get back the room, why there isn't a single receptionist available to handle guest at night? You want to operate a hotel yet leave no staff to handle the guest? That ridiculous right?
I came early and there I can't have a early check in, I understand as I do work in hotel line too.. But there room suddenly available at 10am when I offer to pay, so in the end for my entire stay, I pay a extra of 70 USD for something that is not my fault at all(the late time when there no staff to.open room for me) and only a 10 buck discount for me to stay in a room for only 2 hour?


Overall
If you just want a good location, big empty room and do not really care for service, you can consider this.
But I rather choose other hotel that is cheaper and serving me better. 50 USD a night without breakfast and no night staff don't make sense to me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simple_guy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was my first trip to Cambodia and chose Koki due to location and from pics on website.
Booked in for a week then extended another week. The room was amazing. Just as per the advertised pictures and very clean and welcoming. Kitchen facilities I used once but it was there and fully functional. Had a room away from roadside which suited me as I am not fond of noise. Staff spoke very good english and always helful. Chenda was most helpful and giving good tips on stuff to do and look at.
Cleaners were awesome and came only when required. Getting laundry done was a breeze and inclusive in the price which was great!
Location is perfect. One minute walk to the riverside to enjoy food, scenery or just a good walk. Great photo opportunities as well.
Access to apartment really good and with small number of apartments, hassle free!
ATM just around the corner which is very convenient
Convenient store under a minute walk and has everything you need!
The Sorya Markets on the same street so just keep walking in opposite direction to beach and you will hit it! Loads of shopping.............give yourself 4 hours in there cause there is alot!
Planning to come back in October so if you are reading this review, please don't book my room out! Haha!! Carl.

Room Tip: Rooms away from roadside is quiet. If you are tall, check room for low ceiling cause you dont want h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you so much for your reviewing, see you back in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Studio apartment which was well priced and conveniently located.included laundry and cleaning apartments. Small kitchenette was handy. However, on the downside, there was no table and chairs on which to prepare food or sit and eat it. This was a bit tricky and something that should be rectified. The studio apartment was at the back so didn't get the street noises but did get the alley conversations of families living there. Had to sleep with earplugs. Wi fi was OK but intermittent. The staff were very helpful and polite. There was full time security which was reassuring for a solo traveller. Other than the alley noises and the lack of table space it was pretty good and great value for relatively short stays.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your attention, we wish to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Spacious apartment with lots of windows and french doors onto a balcony with a view. Even the kitchen sink has a view! And a coffee maker, gas stove with range hood, rice cooker, good sized fridge and plenty of benches. Big flat screen TV with lots of international channels, air cons in the lounge and bedroom, two comfy couches big enough to stretch out on, a lounge chair and coffee table. Absolute comfort and a welcome change from pokey hotel rooms.

The river is only a block away and there are restaurants in every direction. Great, friendly, helpful staff to look after you and a witty and charming owner. And a good price too. We loved it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Kerry,
Thanks a lot for your reviewing, have a safe trip back home and we will see you again on your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We thought we'd try something a little different, and instead of staying at a boutique hotel, we'd try a serviced apartment.

A friend put us on to this place, and it's perfect for us. It's close to the action - but not so close that you get surrounded by the beggars, sellers and sex tourists the moment you step out of your hotel.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment - which was huge - with large kitchen, huge living space and balcony (where you can just see the river if you look hard enough :)

Only thing that was missing was a dining table and chairs - as eating food on the couch with a toddler won't end too well :)

Staff were very friendly, and attentive, rooms were spotless (alibet a little bare) - ours had a top notch exercise bike - which we thought was wierd though!

We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment is perfect for families! Lots of room for the kids to run around - and not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deejman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChendaNem, Manager at Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your kindly reviewing our Hotel-serviced apartment, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
11.1 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,119 reviews
10.9 mi away
St. 288 Hotel & Apartment Service
11.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
11.9 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
772 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Koki Tree - Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 50-52, Street 130 | Sangkat Psar Kandal I - Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 233 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koki Tree is centrally located in Phnom Penh, on St 130, a few meters from Riverside with a stunning view on the Tonle Sap river. Our hotel & fully furnished Serviced Apartments can function as a hotel or as a temporary "home away from home" for both short & long-term, business & leisure travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing