We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homeland Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 327 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here 2 nights.

Aircon great, bed comfortable and bathroom clean-- can't ask for much more than that for the cost of the room. Although the location is not near the river, tuk tuks are easy to come by and I found it good to be a closer walk to Tuol Sleng when staying for such a short time.

Had breakfast here one day- food was good but took about 35 mins-40 mins and the wrong drink which wasn't a problem but seemed to be a little disorganised.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J123C2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    62
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
62
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

On the surface, Homeland Guesthouse is a solid choice for low-priced accommodation in Phnom Penh. When my boyfriend and I arrived at the hotel for our two night stay, we thought we'd done pretty well for ourselves, considering we were only paying $9 per night. However, the cracks soon began to emerge. First off, the air conditioning in our room was broken. A staff member put a fan in our room to try to compromise, but it wasn't very effective and resulted in 2 sleepless nights for both of us. On top of this, the windows wouldn't close all the way, meaning mosquitoes had pretty easy access to our room AND the bathroom drain wasn't covered, which meant a small but persistent colony of ants had crept up into the bathroom. As if this wasn't all bad enough, our room wasn't cleaned. We gave in our room key to reception during the day in order to ensure it would be cleaned, and came back at 2 to find our room uncleaned. When we asked reception why this was, they said they had to get the key off the cleaners to give it back to us, so we gave it back to them assuming it would be given back to the cleaner... We assumed wrong.

As many people who have reviewed Homeland have stated, the location is not ideal. We are used to walking most places, but even we couldn't walk comfortably from the guest house into the centre of Phnom Penh, making us reliant on tuk tuks for the duration of our stay. The sidewalks in the local area are basically non-existent, as they're used either for car parking spots or as make-shift dumpsters. Don't let a tuk tuk driver swindle you out of more than $2 to get to the centre, by the way (should you choose to stay here).

All of these things, I understand, are small annoyances. I have stayed in worse places in terms of cleanliness, and have been to other cities with a similar sidewalk situation. However, what made our experience worth only 1 star in the end were two factors, both having to do with the hotel's overall lack of organisation and customer service standards. The first of these was that, when we asked to be booked on a bus to Kep, they put us on the worst possible service. They said it was a 'VIP' tourist bus when it turned out to be a local bus onto which we were crammed with far too many people than the bus was actually capable of holding. The journey took 5 hours instead of the 3 they had promised us, and no one at the desk seemed to know when it was departing. One lady said 7, while another said 7:45 and their timetable said 7:30... Thank goodness we came downstairs at 7 otherwise we'd have missed the bus! The second tipping point was that, the day after our departure, my boyfriend received an email from booking.com saying the hotel claimed we hadn't stayed there and that we would be charged a cancellation fee of the full room price for two nights. We disputed it, but couldn't help feeling that they had tried to swindle us out of more money... Either that or they are seriously lacking in organisation. Neither of these are acceptable.

Yes, this hotel is cheap. But that's the only good thing about it. We have stayed at plenty of other hotels in the 'budget' category around SE Asia who charge low prices without compromising customer service. Homeland needs to work on following those examples.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed at Homeland on three separate occasions because this place is one of the best I know in terms of value for money. Unless you are prepared to walk a lot, a tut-tut is required (about 1.5-2 dollars) to get to riverside. However, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms have all the basic necessities, usually a reliable wi-fi, (I stayed for 3 weeks one time, and it was out for one day, and dodgy on two, but fairly quick most of the time, except it does not connect to the BBC for some weird reason) some rooms have a fridge,most have a flat screen TV and there is 17 hours of room service. As for the general service, that rather depends upon who you get and when you get them. Most of the staff are very friendly, one can be slow, inefficient or moody, however a modicum of self control can over ride this factor. Homeland is in a quiet street but their is a mini mart that is open until around 3am, just around the corner exiting right. Check in at day time to ensure that there is no construction work at the back of the hotel as this factor disturbed the end of my last visit. If one wants value for money and is prepared to use our legs for getting about then this is a good place to stay, as rooms can be found for about 12-13 dollars a night.

Room Tip: All the rooms have slightly different facilities, some have a fridge, some have a wardrobe, most hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbywideadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We really loved our stay at Homeland, good service, good food , friendly outdoor eating communal area, easy going place to catch up with other backpackers. Big room and ensuite, decent air con. Good location - it's a street away from the s21 prison- a must see in Phnom Penh. There are always tuk tuk drivers outside the guesthouse - haggle your price for a ride to the killing fields. A great stay, thanks !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank parkerkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I just returned to Australia after a week staying in this delightful guesthouse! I was meeting up with my son, daughter in law and their 10 week old baby. We asked for rooms close by and were given lovely rooms side by side. Theirs was huge, with plenty of space for cot and other baby gear, large flat screen TV, great airconditioning, reliable hot water, fridge and WiFi. My room was slightly smaller but otherwise similar. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was wonderful, we ate at least one meal each day at the hotel, free room service. Free bottled water daily, ( great for baby bottles). Laundry service good. In a quiet safe area, I went walking every morning and watched Phnom Penh 'wake up', I never felt unsafe walking alone. Local shops were fun to explore. Went to Riverside a couple of times, $3 in tuk tuk. Homeland was just perfect for us as an extended family. Thank you so much for a lovely, inexpensive, relaxing time with my family. :)

Room Tip: Both our rooms, on the second floor, were quiet, clean and totally met our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here and found the place met all our needs. While the hotel is not in the heart of the backpacker district - arguably a good thing - we found the location to be good, a couple of blocks from S21 prison.

The place also has hot water, clean and comfortable beds (not always guaranteed in Cambodia), helpful English speaking staff and a half-decent restaurant serving local and western food at competitive prices (great when one of us was sick and didn't want to travel).

The only annoyance was that the room wasn't cleaned or tidied in 3 nights, but overall this was the best and cheapest backpacker hotel we stayed in during our trip to Cambodia.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, 1 night before traveling to siem reap, and then back to phnom penh for 3 nights. Location wasn't good, some tuktuk drivers faced difficulty finding the place despite it being near S21. We were charged $2-3 per tuktuk ride to the riverfront. The price per ride was increased depending on the time of the day (they usually charge higher at night). There were not many mid-ranged eateries nearby as well; the BKK area would be better for this. Like the previous reviewer, we had requested the hostel to change the bedsheet as it was old and dirty, and although they did apologize, they did not change it. On the fair side, the receptionists were helpful in catering to our needs. We had them arrange our transport to the airport, and then to siem reap. Facilities wise, this hostel is value for money. The beds feel solid, there's a flat screen tv, wifi connection excellent. What you pay is what you get.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faithexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Samnang Laor Phnom Penh Hotel
Samnang Laor Phnom Penh Hotel
#93 of 269 in Phnom Penh
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#36 of 269 in Phnom Penh
803 reviews
1.2 mi away
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
#71 of 327 in Phnom Penh
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SafeStay Hostel
SafeStay Hostel
#91 of 243 in Phnom Penh
6 reviews
1.2 mi away
Good Morning Guesthouse
Good Morning Guesthouse
#20 of 327 in Phnom Penh
153 reviews
1.9 mi away
Me Mates Place
Me Mates Place
#100 of 243 in Phnom Penh
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeland Guesthouse

Property: Homeland Guesthouse
Address: no. 15, Street 304, Beung Keng Kang, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Homeland Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Homeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing