We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary from the madding crowd”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
VILLA Silk Road Hotel
Ranked #65 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Finding a haven during a sweltering May in Phnom Penh was vital and here la librairie came to our rescue. It's new, very comfortable, has a great restaurant, inviting pool and friendly staff who looked after us well whilst we recuperated between our ventures in the capital. Would definitely recommend to others as we thought it punched above its weight price wise.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Vanna23,

Warm greeting from Villa Silk RoadHotel, Phnom Penh !

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay at Villa Silk Road Hotel.

We thank you again for sharing your experiences at Villa Silk Road Hotel in TripAdvisor, with 5 star rating us that help other travelers choose the right place to stay.

We are glad you'd enjoyed our services, providing best services and comfortable stay are our prime focus.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit in our beautiful Kingdom of Wonders.

Best Regards and Best Wishes,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
+85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Friendly welcome, breakfast OK (both Khmer and western food), clean room, hot water and AC. Small pool in the lobby.
10 minutes walk from National Museum and Royal Palace.
A bit expensive regarding the country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Biebar,

Greeting from Villa Silk Road Hotel - Home away from Home!

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

We are looking forward to welcome you back here in the short future!

Best regards,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is located within walking distance (circa 1km) of the river and lots of restaurants, on a relatively quiet old street. The pool looks inviting and our room was lovely- tastefully decorated with a big veranda with chairs. It was also nice to have a Singapore (ceiling) fan so in the morning we choose to turn off the air conditioner and enjoy real air.

Our check-in was a little unusual with the gentleman struggling with visas and check-in procedure; he offered us our welcome drink then promptly showed us to the room. A couple days more training and he will be fine.

Breakfast was good with fruit and crepes, or you could have noodles or eggs.

Next time we return to PP we plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taolxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Taolxd,

Greeting from Villa Silk Road Hotel - Home away from Home!

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

We are looking forward to welcome you back here in the short future!

Best regards,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights en route from Vietnam to Siem Reap.

The young guy on reception (always wore a white shirt) was an idiot. Rude, unhelpful, and laughed at us when it was mugged and we needed help. Reason enough not to stay here.

The manageress, however, was lovely and couldn't do enough for us. Took us to the police station, was understanding and gave us a free dinner. Reason enough to stay here.

In general though, I'd avoid Phnom Penh if I were you. Not a great city.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Michael L,

Warmest greeting from Villa Silk Road Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your recent stay. While I am pleased to hear that, I have taken note of your comment on the experience you had. I have since shared your feedback with the team to ensure prompt improvement.

And also I am delighted to inform you that, now we have taken over this business of change the ownership with new owner, new management, new renovation of the building so your comment is really very importance for us for every single commend is our improvement to make our value customers happy and satisfaction is our goal.

Thank you once again and hope to see you sometime soon in our new hotel!

Yours truly,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
+85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I spend one week in Phnom Penh, the staff is incredible. they are always smiling. The food was really good too. The french Chef can do very nice Plate.The Manager was really Helpfull and very Nice . The hotel is very close to Royal palace ,to Central Market then is the place to be ! The swiming pool is really big and the room are very nice too !! I hope to come back soon in this place !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank françois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Francois R,

Warm greeting from Villa Silk RoadHotel, Phnom Penh !

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay at Villa Silk Road Hotel.

We thank you again for sharing your experiences at Villa Silk Road Hotel in TripAdvisor, with 5 star rating us that help other travelers choose the right place to stay.

We are glad you'd enjoyed our services, providing best services and comfortable stay are our prime focus.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit in our beautiful Kingdom of Wonders.

Best Regards and Best Wishes,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
+85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We got a very good deal and stayed at la librarie for one night. The rooms are quite clean and the interior design of the hotel is very charming. The location is not bad either. The staff is friendly but the receptionists need to be better trained in English. It is so annoying to have to repeat yourself 5 times to get a simple taxi booked and then to wake up in the morning to see that the guy just nodded his head in agreement without understanding your request. Plus the taxi driver they arranged was officially the worst driver I had ever taken..and I travel Alot! He spoke on the phone constantly and I almost missed my flight. By the way..the hotel is atleast 45-60mins away from the airport. The breakfast took forever to come..so I would not stay here if I were travelling on business or short on time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank adinhasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dear Adinhasan,

Greeting from Villa Silk Road Hotel - Home away from Home!

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

We are looking forward to welcome you back here in the short future!

Best regards,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

this hotel is very welcoming, the staff are very helpful , and greet with welcome smiles . the decor has that certain ambiance , . i stayed here for 20 nights over the new year 2013 to 2014. and returning again . 2 months later . splendid hotel . my rating 10 out of 10 .

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice . may i also add . you have your own personal safe . so you can leave your va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lak s, General Manager at VILLA Silk Road Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Dear Paul H,

Warm greeting from Villa Silk RoadHotel, Phnom Penh !

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review regarding your most recent stay at Villa Silk Road Hotel.

We thank you again for sharing your experiences at Villa Silk Road Hotel in TripAdvisor, with 5 star rating us that help other travelers choose the right place to stay.

We are glad you'd enjoyed our services, providing best services and comfortable stay are our prime focus.

We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit in our beautiful Kingdom of Wonders.

Best Regards and Best Wishes,

Sokchan Lak
General Manager
gm@villasilkroadhotel.com
+85517565959

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#50 of 276 in Phnom Penh
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 276 in Phnom Penh
462 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home Chic Hotel
Home Chic Hotel
#58 of 276 in Phnom Penh
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
V Hotel Phnom Penh
V Hotel Phnom Penh
#71 of 276 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
Villa Samnang Boutique Hotel
#73 of 276 in Phnom Penh
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VILLA Silk Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VILLA Silk Road Hotel

Address: # 22 Street 184, Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia (Formerly La Librairie Phnom Penh)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VILLA Silk Road Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA Silk Road Hotel is 700m away from the popular 3 Rivers, Mekong River, Tonle Sap, Tonle Bassac, VILLA Silk Road Hotel’s provides comfortable accommodation, an outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi access at all areas. This modern hotel is conveniently placed for walking distance to Wat Phnom Mountain, Central Market, Independent Monument, National Museum, Royal Palacce, River side, Night Market. The Russian Market and Toul Sleng Genocide Museum is 2km away and Phnom Penh International Airport is 11km with 30minute drive away. Each rooms featuring elegant decor, Balcony, Comfortable rooms with air conditioning, Flat-screen TV, Some rooms has sitting area, Cable TV, Free WiFi, Tea/Coffee making facilities, Minibar. The en suite private bathrooms come with free toiletries and slippers. VILLA Silk Road Hotel, guests will find a 24-hour front desk. Other facilities include a tour desk, traditional massages and luggage storage space. Offering poolside dining, the in-house restaurant will serve a variety of Khmer and Western cuisines. Daun Penh is a great choice for travelers interested in markets, museums and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your VILLA Silk Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing