We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central location and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billabong Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great central location and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We walked in from the Soyra bus station and got a ground floor poolside room for $45 including a hearty breakfast for two.
We stayed extra nights and the hotel was near full over the weekend. The only room on offer was a huge room with king size bed plus two singles on the third floor . With a bit of negotiation it was $55 per night including breakfast. This room overlooked the pool on one side and the street on another. With heavy glazing and a relatively small street below, the room was amazingly quiet at night.
All the staff were great.
The Central Market was a short walk - not worth a tuktuk, Lucky Supermarket even closer. Food at hotel was good but the little cafe a few doors down was even better and cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noddy3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    385
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
184
274
188
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The rooms here are functional but the diamond is the pool which is a good size and salt-water (something of a rarity). The owners and staff are extremely friend and the food is solid asian-western fare. Location is good as it's close to the Central Market and close to most tourist locations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horatio2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Like everyone says, its a nice little mid-range clean Hotel with nice friendly staff.
Splash out a bit more and get a room that doesnt look onto the back of another Hotel wall, but I am glad I never booked a ground floor pool view rooom, just a bit inpersonal as you open the room door striaght onto the pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: Dont use the room mini.bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a great place, fairly priced, AND have a beautiful, fanastic saltwater pool..
Nothing bad to declare, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, and a nice, descent place if your a bit of sun! ;)

thanks

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nhulunbuy NT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Billabong. We (couple with a toddler) stayed in a downstairs/poolside room which was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable.
The pool and outside dining area is very relaxing - it was nice to sit out by the pool and be waited on by the obliging, efficient and hard-working staff. A definite plus is that the pool is saltwater and very well maintained.
Breakfast is fresh and the red curry that I had delivered by room service was five star.
In summary, I appreciated the calm, quiet ambience at the Billabong, with it's competent, unobtrusive staff and adequate facilities. Definite value for money.

Room Tip: I would definitely pay extra for a spacious poolside room. I'm not sure about the other options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhulbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

It's a little expensive for the size of the room but you get a swimming pool which has a perfect temperature and the wifi works wonderfully.Overall, an excellent hotel.


  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

stayed here as part of a tour booked last minute through Journeys With In tours.
their usual hotel was booked. It was step down in what we were expecting. so nothing against the Billabong. It is conveniently located near the central market. A little shopping hint, go to the Russian Market, it's further away, more "authentic" and better bargains.

The breakfast was adequate, eggs cooked to order with toast and beverage. Mini fridge with pay for drinks at same cost as bar down stairs. This also happens to be the check in desk

Large 4th floor room, patio with fan overlooking the lovely pool courtyard stay. large bathroom with great shower. The whole concept of not flushing your used TP kinda creeps me. You place it in a lidded can next to the toilet. This apparently is common through out southeast asia. in mid to lower grade hotels. We had to do it at the airport crash pad hotel in BKK.

Only spent one night, got out to explore the area a little. Just keep in mind not to be scared or intimidated by first impressions of the surrounding area. It's the center of a bustling Asian city. Hectiic, noisey, dirty. Felt safe. The locals were friendly and offering directions when we got lost.

Room Tip: get a higher up room away from the pool if you want less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
2.3 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#39 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#32 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hotel & Hostel

Property: Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hotel & Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst landscaped gardens, Billabong Hotel is located in Phnom Penh, a 5-minute drive from the Royal Palace and National Museum. It offers free Wi-Fi and a freeform salt-water outdoor pool.Air-conditioned rooms are equipped with a cable/satellite TV, minibar and personal safe. En suite bathrooms come with a hairdryer and hot water showers.The tour desk can arrange day trips to attractions in and around Phnom Penh. The hotel also provides laundry services and a 24-hour front desk.The hotel's restaurant serves a selection of Asian and Western dishes. Refreshing cocktails are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing