We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position and great pool”
Review of Billabong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Billabong Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good position and great pool”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

While not a stand out, this hotel had all we needed. We had a family room which was huge.The highlight is the beautiful pool and surrounds. A relaxing and cool place to hang out. It's well located close to the Central Market. The service was adequate but the staff could benefit from some training in hospitality which would make breakfast a much nicer experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    406
    109
    27
    13
See reviews for
187
287
211
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Friends had recommended Billabong so we decided to give them a try and never regretted it. The staff was so helpful. We had been emailing for a couple months and they helped us sort out so many details of our trip in Phnom Phen. The rooms are extremely clean and very modern compared to anywhere else we stayed. The breakfast was delicious and although it was a bit to chilly to swim the pool looked gorgeous and very clean. The hotel has tuk tuk drivers that work for them and we did a day tour which turned into a 14hr adventure. He was the best driver we had in all of Asia and hated to say goodbye to him! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yulara, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights including New Years eve with a family of 4. The room we had (room 20) was huge and suited the family. The food at breakfast and through the restuarant was great for quality and price. The pool was nice and the atmosphere was great, friendly and peaceful. The owners and staff where very friendly and helpful. It is centrally located to all city sites and close walking distance to the Central Market and a supermarket that supplies everything.

Room Tip: Family room on ground floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the larger rooms with balcony and pool view. The room was nice and clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was tasteful and the staff was great! We loved to hang out at the pool after our 13 hour journey. Staying in the Billabong hotel felt as staying in a beach resort, but you're only a few minutes away from the central market. We travelled as a couple, but this place is great for families too.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shesports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent just one night in this very friendly hotel and were capted by the nice swimming pool and all the rooms built around it.
Room was ok but did not like the bathroom, so dark and with poor light.
Pricing was USD 50 per night including breakfast.
My personal point of view, location would make this place a no going back for me as it at the end of a road which is desert at night and with nothing else around.

Room Tip: All rooms are around the swimming pool as per attached picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Location of the hotel is great ... Walking distance to Romdeng Restaurant, Sorya Shopping Centre and the Central Market. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. Wi-fi was satisfactory. Only shortcoming was that there was no sign board to indicate the name of the hotel. Quite a few of our Phnom Penh friends had difficulty locating the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tou Boon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Most relaxing place in Phnom Penh, you forget your a stones throw from the central market. Family friendly, quality service and great atmosphere. Staff go out of their way to assist in any way. Had a great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylmaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#48 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#35 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Hostel

Property: Billabong Hostel
Address: 5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly The Billabong Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Billabong Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located. Free WIFI. 24 hours Reception. Large saltwater swimming pool and garden. Hot showers. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Inner spring mattresses. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms. Quality Linens. Only minutes from Central Market, Sorya Department Stores. 1km from the Riverfront. Featuring a restaurant and bar with cosy hangout areas around the pool. All our spacious rooms have comfy beds, private showers, toilet facilities, air conditioning, and lockers for your belongings. You'll get a set of bed linen, towel, Wi-Fi as well as maps with all essential information about the going-ons in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Billabong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing