We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always nice since 10 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #64 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always nice since 10 years”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at the Bougainvillier Hotel a few times since 2003 and I always look forward to my visits here.
The hotel is small and does lack a lift, but it makes up for this by having a wonderfull view an excellent restaurant and wonderful roof top bar for evening drinks.
The rooms are large and spacious, and I have always found them very comfortable. I have always found the staff very helpful and friendly.
I always prefer hotels with character and the Bougainvillier has bags of it.
The buffet breakfast is always perfect with American, Asian or European style meal.
I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to book riverside rooms! It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Epke,
Thank you so much to be our loyal customer for so many years. And to like our hotel and restaurants. Since 10 years we improved a lot even we need to continue to train our staff and new staff who change a lot. We try our best every days and to please you more we redesigned some rooms and bathrooms and concentrated all our rooms in one building only. Also we find an architect who can install a lift in a few months. Thank you so much and see you on your next trip in the country of Wonders.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    172
    74
    34
    21
See reviews for
25
152
89
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location,great value,close to most attractions including night markets,royal palace,river,shopping.transport including buses tutu's etc.
Staff were very friendly.
Roof top lounge very relaxing after a busy day.

Room Tip: 1st Floor as hotel doesn't have elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Paddy,
Thank you so much to take your time to send us your review, and to like our hotel and services. We are happy you stayed with us and hope to see you on your next trip to Cambodia and to Phnom Penh.
Kind Regards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Big rooms tastefully decorated. The bathroom fittings are from the 70s and 80s - looks dated but no an issue for the price. Great balcony overlooking the river and promenade - ideal for drinking a cold beer and watching the city go about its business. Well located for bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kernowtraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Kemow,
Thank you so much to take your time to send us your review. We are happy you liked our hotel and it s location on the Mekong River Front. We hope to see you again on your next trip to our wonderful city Of Phnom Penh.
Kind Regards,
Bernard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just shabby!

Not cheap. Checked in, no refrigeration, safe not bolted in, television not working, all after walking up 12 flights of stairs.

Not helpful and defensive!

In room water, small bottle $US4!

Just so happened that they were also renovating and the noise early was very inconsiderate.

Not recommended! Phnom Penh has plenty of good accommodation to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Carey,
Thank you for sending us your review. Yes we are renovating our second building 20 meters away from the place you were sleeping and there is another hotel between our two building. No refrigeration means no minibar or no aircon ? Will there are no guest in the room we switch off the aircons in the rooms. First reason is it is the most expensive power all over South East Asia, Second we need to save as much electricity as we can because Cambodia has much problems to to produce it and all is made by diesel generators around Phnom Penh. Our aircon are very efficient and need only 3 to 5 minutes to cool down a room. This is also the hottest season now. Afternoon time we approach 40 degrees outside. It was true you tv didn t work so we changed you immediately room. As our next building is under renovation we give you a special price witch was $35 per night including tax and Vat. I think it is a very good price as the river front is the most expensive place in town. But it is true you can find some hotels for 10 to 20 dollars in other place in town. The 2 water you took from our refrigerated minibar was Minere. It is pure mineral water from Thailand. Each bottle is $2.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We like the staff, the room was great with a wonderful view of the River, but we did not know they were under a major renovation. The internet did not work and there was work in lobby. No elevator so beware if you need one. We were on 4th floor and you didm't want to forget anything in room when you left for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mc Allen,
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review and to like our hotel. Just a small information, The building we are renovating is not the one we put our guests. It is 20 meters away from the one you were sleeping. We will finish the noise in four more days. Sorry for that and hope to see you during your next trip to Cambodia. our rooms and bathrooms will even be nicer.
Kind Regards
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When I read the previous reviews about the lack of elevator, I decided to brave it. The Cambodian heat and humidity showed me the error of my ways. The third floor is actually the fourth floor by american standards and I swear the floors are 1 1/2 times as big. No worries, though, they switched me to a room on the first (second) floor the next day.

Pros: The room is huge! The bedroom alone is the size of the living quarters in Afghanistan and I have to share that with another guy. The living room is correspondingly large. The breakfast buffet was large and had a great variety, both western, european and oriental. The dar wood panelling is great as well as the tile floors. The location s great with lots of restaurants, night life and ATM's within two blocks.

Cons: I have heard rumors of a pool within walking distance, but I didn't bother. The room was dirty above eye level (I'm 6'6" and I notice). The tub is an accident waiting to happen and the shower head only came up to my belly button. They really need to modernize there. There was a bit of construction noise since they are moving into the building next door, but it didn't really bother me. Pet peeve--- the room was very hot when I first came in and it takes a couple of hours to cool down. The fans helped a lot, though. There were no chairs on the balcony which kind of defeats the purpose. The TV's were old and small and new flat screens would make a big difference. Brining my HDMI computer cable was a waste. Finally, the reception on the TV reminds my of my youth with the rabbit ears and tin foil.


For those looking for the wild side, street 136 is a coupe of blocks down and you can meet the girl of your dreams, or just du jour.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Scott,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your impression and to like our hotel and services. I will check again with housekeeping and continue to train them. Our TV s are five years old only.
Kind Regards,
Bernard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in the Superior Suite with balcony, room is huge with large bathroom, separate kitchen, and a lounge area, the place is so big it has 2 aircon units and it was so hot I had both running at all times.
Balcony was excellent for passing the time watching the locals but from early on it gets way to hot to sit out there for long.
Only down side is the lift is not up and running, I understand the installer did a runner with the money but 3 floors is a killer especially if you have a skin full at 3 in the morning, for this reason I gave it a rating of 4, with a lift it would have been a 5.

Never got up in time to eat the breakfast but plenty of restaurants in the area.

Plan on returning to Phnom Penh at Christmas time and I will be staying here again and hopefully the lift will be up and running by then.

Room Tip: If you don't like to overdo things in the heat go for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crusaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard M, Owner at Bougainvillier Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you so much to appreciate our hotel and services and to take your time to send us your review. Mai and June are the hottest months in Cambodia. That s why people living here are so happy when the rain comes and cools down the air. If you visit us next time and wake up late our restaurant and kitchen staff will always prepare you something for free even our buffet already close. They know how to manage this and are happy if they can serve you. I would be happy if I could meet you next time.
Kind Ragards,
Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 264 in Phnom Penh
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#52 of 264 in Phnom Penh
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 264 in Phnom Penh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#91 of 264 in Phnom Penh
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#62 of 264 in Phnom Penh
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#68 of 264 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Property: Bougainvillier Hotel
Address: #277C, Sisowath Quay (Riverfront)., Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#34 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing