We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the location and the good rooms”
Review of Riverview Hotel

Riverview Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phnom Penh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview Hotel
Ranked #195 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go for the location and the good rooms”
Reviewed 26 April 2007

We stayed at the place for two nights 24/,25/3/07. Can recommend room 400 & 401, top floor with balcony, spacious and excellent view (USD35/ room/night).
Breakfast (in price included): not great and not surpisingly as the kitchen looked like the devils cave. As other guests, we went elsewhere after the first experience.
Place is undergoing major renovation with possible other nice rooms in the future (I suggest the kitchen be part of it).
Hotel offered airport pick-up for free, which was fine. But barely seated in the car, the constant nagging from the driver to hire the car for the other days as well became unnerving. Hotel also offers travel services and the hassling of some of the staff (others are very friendly and helpful I must say) to use their travel & transport services continued - be polite and ignore it. We hired the taxi to Siem Reap elsewhere in the end, a better car and 1/3 cheaper.
My top blew off at check-out when I received the bill including an extra pillow dry-cleaning charge because we were found guilty of having dirtied it beyond the power of a normal washing. I was sympathetic with the staff to the point that I did agree that not all guest have proper manners and do misuse property if not their own. I do however not belong to this group. The finally deleted this extra charge (staff claimed that they have to pay such cleaning from their own pocket if guest does not pay it) as the yellow staining they claimed came from our use was actually allover the inner lining of the pillows (I undressed all pillows I found in the room and lined them up).
Conclusion: Go for the good rooms, check the pillows and if thinking about food check the kitchen as well.
Ah yes, there is a lift, internet is free and the drinks cold.

  • Liked — Rooms and View from these particular rooms (room 400/401)
  • Disliked — Hassling by some staff, breakfast (food)
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JustNeverHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2006

I stayed at the Riverview 3 times: July-Sept 2004, Oct 2004 and July 2006. All 3 times, I stayed in the spotless, air-conditioned room with own toilet/(cold) shower, and cable colour TV, for US$10 per night. There is no longer a restaurant on-site, but there is an Irish-owned pub next door with pub food, and a very good Cambodian restaurant (US$2.50 all you can eat lunch buffet) around the corner. Management can also provide laundry service, and book tours or bus and plane tickets (I have used all these satisfactorily). Now there are many "tuk-tuks" next door: this means (1) you can get anywhere you want to go to in Phnom Penh, relatively safely (more safe than the back of a motorcycle) but (2) the drivers do hassle you when you come out to take a ride, as near many hotels and guesthouses in Phnom Penh. The area, in front of the Post Office, is more residential and does not have that atmosphere of the masses of bars and expensive restaurants "down the Quay". The site is also across the street from the dock for boats going to Vietnam. The owners are a young couple, Sunny and Kaing, who have always been eager to help with anything I needed to succeed in Phnom Penh: their English is not perfect but if you are patient you can communicate. By the way, the address on this site is wrong: it is 87 Sisowath Quay and the e-mail address is riverview_guesthouse@yahoo.com.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — No restaurant on site or shopping nearby
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to book in advance by e-mail: there are only about 10 rooms and they are easily booked out. But they don't always watch their e-mail!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwirover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,465 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#58 of 267 in Phnom Penh
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel

Property: Riverview Hotel
Address: 85, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia (Formerly Riverview Guesthouse)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Riverview Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing