We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White River Guest House
Ranked #225 of 320 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special but OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Pluses:
reasonable prices
free pool table
friendly stuff
good wifi internet
security guy checks your guest for safety. Not always happen in cheap places

Minuses
They dont have own restaurant but deliver food from nearby on order
In my room it was little noisy in early morning couse sound of some religious pray was loud every day. Not sure muslim or buddhist.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    20
    19
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
17
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Arriving late with the buss from vietnam,i decided to crash on this backpacker place.The rate was4-5$,but i told i could go as far as 10$ if the room was clean and nice.

And 10$ they took,and i guess the room was 5$.The room pretty worn down,no towels,remote for tv and etc.The toilet was defently the worst.
I was rotten behind repair,and what a smell,the drains were open (did not shower here) and i can only imagine which creatures roaming around here.It was very noisy too as the window was facing the bar and pool table.luckely no beed bugs,cheched out early morning.....The staff was "cool" thou.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you are a traveller looking for a cheap place with air con then White River could be what you're looking for. For $4 each a night it won't be luxury, but free pool in the lobby, good music and cheap beer it's a great place for a quiet one. Located on a street with a few nice restaurants too. Nice staff and good selection on the TV.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanHenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Upon checking in I found out that I had to leave. I was midway through checking in. I was still required to pay for a room I had not even seen, let alone been given a key.
I was unhappy with the rudeness to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#179 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
PRASATs Boutique Hotel
#32 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 264 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.0 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White River Guest House

Property: White River Guest House
Address: #142 A5-A6, Street 172, Sangkat Chey Chumnas | Khand Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 320 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing