We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in lots of ways - but could easily be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The location is great. The staff are incredibly friendly. The cost for an increasingly popular destination is reasonable. The rooms are a comfortsble size and the bathroom more than adequate. And - it is great to have a swimming pool at hand after a hot, dusty day in Phnom Penh. I would have rated it with a 4 if there hadn't been a total lack of towels at the pool (and none arrived even when I rang reception); if a bit more care had been taken with room cleaning (the soap tray in the shower was revolting); if pool tiles had been cleaned and loungers mended; and if someone took care to keep breakfast serving dishes adequately stocked. I like this hotel and would like a bit more effort to be made so it does not lose out to the many new establishments which are opening daily.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Goldiana Hotel has historically provided many NGO's with comfortable, clean accommodation and good service. But it appears time is catching up with this once grand old lady. With the passing of the owner, there was a massive change in staff and the standard appears to have dropped and money is not being spent on general maintenance and upkeep pending a complete refurbishment to increase it to a 4 star hotel.

The front of house staff are doing their best and are always helpful and friendly.

On my arrival at the hotel I was welcomed by the melodic thumping of jackhammers working beside and behind the hotel. Speaking to two other guests, who have stayed at the Goldiana every year since the late 1990's and 2006 stayed they had not been advised of the construction work when they booked. The construction work commences at. 8:00 a.m. and goes until 5:00 p.m.

My room was spacious but was also tired with the bathroom requiring cleaning. The mini bar door was open and had thawed with several towels lying in the bottom to mop up the water. I had to make a request for my room to be serviced after the second day.

The breakfast provided is well below standard with food in serving trays cold and not replenished.

The swimming pool was clean and appeared well maintained. The lounge chairs were uncomfortable and the pool towels needed to be replaced. The fitness centre no longer exists and all equipment has been removed.

On speaking to the people that have been loyal return guests you can see the disappointment in their faces. To hear their negative comments in relation to the current standards is also disappointing as this grand old lady has provided so much for so long.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cujo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Staid several times in Goldiana between 2007 and 2009, and again in December 2013. Then already dated, now a bit over-mature. But still a preferred option for me. Had a nice, large room on the first floor (101 I think). Room, bath room and beds clean fresh sheets w/o stains. Internet through good WiFi and cable (I prefer the latter: faster, safer). Breakfast basic, but many places for a breakfast or brunch close to the hotel. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bas_v_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed about 3 nights. It was an old hotel, but it was adequate. Service was good from front desk; seems to speak fair English. Located close to restaurants and busy street. Room was OK as it is old. Bathroom was also old, but functional. Air conditioning worked to keep room fairly cool. Internet was tricky and not reliable. Breakfast was good but not very big spread; enjoyed the tasty fresh mangos and other fruits. Pool was on the roof and refreshing in Cambodian heat; it is pretty deep so beware of your children. Gym is on roof without much equipment. Overall, an OK hotel, but it is old..

Room Tip: Some of the rooms were newer and may be nicer, so ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sactokw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for a week on a business trip. Room was clean and quiet. Internet was ok but sometimes a little slow. Breakfast is simple but ok, with a cook to make eggs to order. Didn't get chance to use the swimming pool but it looked ok and clean. No problems as mentioned by other reviewers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sudchai_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

l do not agree with one comment, regarding his stay. Last year l stayed in this hotel and l have no problem asking their front office staff to book bus ticket for me to Siem Reap and Sihnoukville after my return from Siem Reap. l find the hotel to be well placed and room may be outdated but most importand it is clean. For breakfast, l find it is above average and l find it is satisfactory. The price of the room is reasonable and this year l will be going to stay there again in May14. Many guest l met are returning guest of the hotel. Will they return if that is so bad as claimed by one guest. l will say that the hotel meet my expectation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackiekualalumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to a friend house, and was recommended by said friend. I thought it was a bit pricey, but since it is a 3 star hotel I thought at least I would get my money's worth. I was wrong. The hotel is outdated, but clean. I give that to them. The rooms are spacious and pleasant, and the pool is nice. However, everything else is amiss. The internet works very slowly or just didn't connect. Breakfast is included and at this point I wish they had reduce the price and let me eat outside cause the food is awful. There is a cook who will prepare omelettes and fried eggs, and that is the only nice part. The rest of the food is barely edible, the juice has an undetermined flavour, the cereals are moldy, and what they serve as bacon could be anything but bacon...On top of that, this is the only hotel I have been so far in Cambodia that does not sell bus tickets. I have been seven times in Cambodia, this last time I am spending 6 months in the country doing fieldwork, so I have been to numerous hotels and this most expensive I have been to in Phnom Penh and actually the worst. It is best to go down to Street 72 and book a suite at the Hotel Cyclo, which is going to cost the same but it is so much nicer and the food is truly amazing. If you still need to be in the BKK1 area and do not need a high speed internet connection, choose the Jasmine Terrace Boutique hotel. It is cheaper and much nicer (minus the pool, but you can actually pay for using the Goldiana Swimming pool, so perhaps this is not a deterrent).

Room Tip: The rooms close to the elevators do not have a good internet connection, in my case they were the 40...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishinUK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.7 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.7 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 278 in Phnom Penh
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#83 of 278 in Phnom Penh
378 reviews
1 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 278 in Phnom Penh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel

Address: 282 Street | Sangkat Boueng Keng Kang 1 Khan Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £26 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Meng Goldiana 282 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing