We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent last weekend at the brand new Anise Villa. I found it on TA but actually had my Tuk Tuk driver take me for a look before booking. I was delighted with the third room they showed me -rm 301 on the top floor with a big terrace and sliding glass wall for $75 a night. Very clean and excellent AC and quiet at night.

The staff were all nice but maybe a bit inexperienced in hotel services as they lacked basic knowledge in travelers ordinary questions - referring me to seek the advise of my Tuk Tuk driver instead. But they will learn.
Overall I did not need much help anyway and my room was a good value. They provide free laundry and did a nice job.
There is a good restaurant on the way to the riverside called Friends, that trains former street kids to be in this industry. I met and visited with several people while sipping a glass of wine and waiting on a table. Don't leave if you see a wait - it was fast and fun to chat with other travelers.
I went to a great great beautiful restaurant right on the waterfront but can't recall the name. It is quite large and beautifully lighted inside and out with comfy lounge seating outside where we dined. Hope you can figure out which and enjoy.
Hope this helps,
Jana

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Jana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

As in previous reviews, this place is probably a 20 min tuk tuk ride to the river front, but is only a 10-15 min walk from S21 prison. location-wise, it is bang in between the Russian Market and the river front in a nice and quite neighbourhood. Don't let this put you off, you can get plenty of tuk tuks at a cost of 2-3 USD to the river front.

Staff are extremely accommodating - they even offered to lend us their own bicycles to cycle around the city. The free laundry service is a bonus and the spa is quite cheap, no frills. Ideal when you are waiting for your taxi back to the airport.

Room Tip: Dont get room 101 as it faces the pool and will be a bit like living in a goldfish bowl. Try for roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is my second stay at this exceptional boutique hotel. The staff all welcomed us. All my friends enjoyed the swimming pool. The rooms are large well appointed, there is no street noise and the location is central for visiting the sites and markets, The service is excellent and staff are very helpful, The menu is limited but the food is organic and good. We ate and had drinks drinks next to the pool. Happy hour was great value for the money

Room Tip: Some rooms have private terraces and are great value for the money. If you stay here be sure to rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dochertyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Only by coincidence did we make a reservation at anise villa after having spent one sleepless night at another boutique hotel. We stayed four nights at beautiful anise villa. The hotel is lovely, clean rooms with free laundry service, gorgeous pool area, good food. The staff was amazing, very friendly and helpfull. We did not expect the great service we got at a boutique hotel in Cambodia! We would love to go back anytime...right now, if only we could!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gudrun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

First the only negative: a little way from the central monuments etc. (although by no means a bad location).

The very good: price, breakfast and room and tranquil ambiance

The excellent: the staff and the service they provide - simply 5*

James

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It is a boutique hotel and the best staff I ever saw. Customer satisfaction is their key and they truly maintain quality and commitment. It is located in a street that is quieter than the other streets. The pool was so great and I felt like swimming their almost the whole day as the water was clean and I felt so good. I just spent $11 to be picked up from the airport and I did not believe it even now. Such a great experience and awesome service by these people. They offered me a big safe box, which was good enough to hold my laptop as I cared much for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamptonAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here one night after we stayed in Anise hotel for 3 nights. Wanted to extend our stay but they were fully booked so reserved us a room at the Anise villa. Provided free one way tuk tuk ride and same rate we paid at hotel.

Breakfast, laundry and wifi all included in room rate. Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Pool and restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. Staff helped us book a minivan to Siem Reap for great price.

Only things letting it down were the shower which soaked the whole bathroom and the location was not near many restaurants or shops.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolef494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
866 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 274 in Phnom Penh
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing