We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Escape in a Dirty City”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We are currently in the middle of our stay here at the Anise Villa. Our experience has been nearly perfect. I highly recommend this property for the following reasons...

The property is super clean. The breakfast is simple but well done with a choice of eight or nine different breakfast arrangements. The rooms are clean with tremendous water pressure. We had plenty of hot water; however, it has not been needed due to the heat and humidity.

We LOVE the A/C as it works wonderfully. We have three rooms in our small group and each person is very impressed with our accommodations. Our three rooms have two beds, two towels, two washcloths, a TV, small refrigerator with two free water bottles daily, free WiFI, a small desk, and five pieces of laundry per day!

This little hotel/motel is not difficult to locate. There is a small market store (like a 7/11) on the corner with all essentials.

This hotel has a small but very clean pool, several workout machines in their exercise room, and a small store with various trinkets and touristy items. Having been in many third world countries, this little hotel is an escape from the dirt and grime and they are doing well.

We have met numerous people from other parts of the world and all have been complimentary of this hotel.

Don't hesitate; make your reservations and you will not be disappointed.

A couple of minor comments: beds are definitely firmer than most. Room key (still old fashioned key) controls A/C and electric in room. Numerous TV stations but quality not there if you are used to digital (we didn't come to "hang out" in our room), WIFI will be slow if numerous people are using - get up early or stay up late and the WIFI is super. Everyone is helpful and seem to enjoy their job. Rooms lack personality - no pictures and very plain. Beautiful flowers everywhere and the smells are terrific. No elevator so if you do not like steps, request rooms 001 - 005. Room 001 is just across from the check-in desk so you will hear a lot of conversations.

Again, don't hesitate - stay here!

Room Tip: All three of our rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I spent one month at this fantastic boutique hotel. Being there for business I spent a lot of time in the hotel also during weekends. The rooms were always very well cleaned, the staff is polite and competent, and tries to foresee guests needs before they arise. The rooms are nice and well equipped and with comfortable beds. A nice swimming pool and great food (both Khmer and european) - top notch.

Room Tip: If you are planning to spend a lot of time in the room the catch is to avoid the rooms at the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ullapeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our experience at the Anise Villa was wonderful. From the modern rooms (and clean, relaxing, hot showers), to the poolside seating, to the food, the stay was great from beginning to end. If I could find an Anise Villa at the end of every travel day, life would be divine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great little hotel. Friendly staff, clean, modern. .

Similar in style and price to The 252 - The 252 is in a slightly better location and has a nicer pool area, I had a massive roof terrace at Anise and everything is brand spanking new as it's only just opened. Swings and roundabouts.

Bars/restaurants that are local to Anise Villa weren't that great but it's only a 15/20 minute walk to Palace / FCC area, which is pretty much perfect after a meal of drinks. If you;re feeling lazy, 5 minutes on a moto, $1

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDale82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In the middle of traffic jam and dusty roads, this little oasis hides behind a tall wall giving you a true surprise as soon as you enter the gate. The pool is surrounded by a few canopy sun beds and a few breakfast tables, with the bar serving food and excellent $2 cocktails during happy hour. The atmosphere is simply fantastic here and the food and drinks were actually the best we had in Phnom Penh!!! Staff was very helpful and there's even free laundry service available on a day-to-day basis. Rooms were clean and very spacious. We will definitely return to Anice Villa if in Phnom Penh again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was first time to Cambodia. We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The room is very nice, spacious with many facilities. It also has a great pool and a nice bar and restaurant with good food. The menu is limited but the food is organic and good. We ate and had drinks next to the pool. Happy hour was great value for the money. The staff was very helpful and informative. They provided us a lot of information as well as some travel tips. Good hotel for everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davidnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Phnom Penh can be a shock and Anise Villa was quiet, clean and conveniently located in the otherwise chaotic PP. Tuk tuks were always available and it was actually enjoyable to ride 10-15 mins to evening restaurants. We hired cars for the other tours and were really glad that we did. Hotel staff always asked us where we wanted to go and then translated to the drivers and we had no issues. The staff were all very attentive and efficient, room was clean and 5 free pieces of laundry per guest each day, are you kidding me?! That was awesome! Great value, we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.2 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#5 of 274 in Phnom Penh
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
866 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 274 in Phnom Penh
647 reviews
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £37 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing