We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Cosy with friendly staff!”
Review of Anise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anise Villa
Ranked #14 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean & Cosy with friendly staff!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I like Cambodia and have been there a few times.
For this recent trip in Jul 2014, I decide to choose to stay in this new hotel, Anise Villa.
It was wonderful three nights for me and my three good friends being their first time .
Like their spacious rooms with two double beds , very clean and cosy and not forgetting their wonderful deal of free laundry for 5 items per person per night. It helps a lot after a long day with our clothing full of dirt and dust from taking the Tuk Tuk and going sightseeing. Imagine so nice to send our dirty clothing in the morning and to have fresh clothing pressed and delivered to us that same night so we can wear them . Thumbs up for this excellent service : )
We spent two days in the row by going for the massages in the hotel too and it was good deal with a 15% discount . My friends went for the herbal massages which is 90 minutes with two masseuse doing the massages which were excellent.
Finally not forgetting what makes our stay wonderful are the people in the Anise Villa - the security staff who help us with our heavy shopping bags, the housekeeping staff for keeping our rooms clean and comfortable and our fresh clothing too.....smiling & helpful staff such as Samlot, Srey Neaung , Chantha, Meta, Mala and Chivon who serves us breakfast every morning with a smiling face . Leat even though it was his last day of work when we first checked into hotel still give us excellent service by checking us in and providing us information about the hotel surrounding and places to go to. Anise Villa should be proud that they have a team of excellent staff. Thank you and I hope you will keep up the excellent service and maintaining the hotel in wonderful condition!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    80
    11
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
113
48
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel was fantastic. The staff was friendly, helpful and very efficient. The rooms were clean, nice decor and comfortable. The poolside is exquisite -- quiet and "green".It was extremely relaxing to sit poolside, order food ( which was very good and a wide variety of entrees from western style food to Khmer, Vietnamese and Thai choices.

If you come to Phnom Penh do not think about staying anywhere else it was that nice and I have been in over 42 countries so have had my share of hotel experiences. As well, take a look around at the art on the walls as it is interesting and varied in taste and style.

Room Tip: There is one room that is right across from the check -in and in front of the pool -- it is a very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Really good reputation, was looking forward to staying. Sadly the smiles disappeared when I complained about being put in a twin instead of a superior double. We were then moved to a studio with no hot water.

Mistakes can happen, wasn't too fussed initially, it was their reaction which was shocking. They offered us a £5 discount. Accused us of lying about the problems in the room which were an inconvenience but not the end of the world.

Eventually the manager told us that we were fortunate to stay in their hotel in the first place. Ultimately they just want to fill the hotel. Will advertise more rooms than they have - which they oddly admitted.

Great if you get the right room (not on the first floor ever), shocking if you complain. I have never seen people switch from smiles to insulting me and my girlfriend so quickly.

We always use trip advisor, and consider 4/5 good reviews is a good hotel. Sadly not on this occasion. I wouldn't recommend it or stay again. If you do get e-mail confirmation of the EXACT room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Uche O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Villa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Uche O,

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience at the hotel you stayed at but we are sure that it was not at the Anise Villa. As owners and managers of the Anise Villa, we are very hands on and if anything, our guests would say that we go out of our way to make our guests feel comfortable for we believe it is important to treat everyone the way that we ourselves would like to be treated. We have contacted TripAdvisor to have your review removed, but have not gotten any answer from them yet. So hopefully in the near future TripAdvisor might get hold of you, and if you look at the picture of our hotel you might see whether this is the hotel you have stayed at or not.

All the best,
The Anise Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were thrilled with our decision to stay at Anise Villa for our 3 nights in Phnom Penh. The rooms are stylish, inviting, roomy and comfortable, and the bathrooms nice. The included breakfast has many choices and is delicious. And then, of course, there is the wonderful pool and the daily laundry service of 5 pieces per person (free). The staff was lovely, and helpful with suggestions and reservations. They have a lending library, which we used and was a wonderful touch. We had an early morning flight out, and the staff helpfully made us a breakfast to go (before breakfast hours started) and had it ready for us to take in the taxi they booked for us. We would definitely stay here again!

Although the hotel is not right next to all the tourist attractions, it is a short tuk-tuk ride. And it is an easy walk to excellent restaurants and other sights, such as the former S-21 prison.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The anise villa is the best hotel among all I've tried in the city. The staff is excellent and the rooms are perfect. The restaurant is also very tasty and their menu is very complete. It's a nice and quiet place to stay, you'll love it. Very good value!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana-201407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My stay at the anise villa was perfect. The service is very good, and the room was very clean and pleasant. The hotel is located in a quiet street, so you won't be annoyed by the noise of the traffic. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearlake, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On our way to Indonesia, we stopped by the Anise Villa in Phnom-Penh and were met by a warm and professional staff. Our room was on the 2nd floor with view on the hotel's pristine swimming pool and surrounded by big mango trees. My family and I took a sightseeing trip to Oudong Mountain where an urn containing the remain of the Buddha was stolen and later on recovered this year. We were very tired when we came back. The kids jumped in the pool. We ordered some food, drank coconut juice, and rested in the shade of the big trees until dinner time.

The hotel restaurant serves excellent Khmer and international food. Our room came with free breakfast for all four of us. We could choose between a continental breakfast with eggs, sausage, and beacon, or an Asian breakfast like noodles or fried rice. There is also a Spa and a rooftop gym on site. The wifi works well in our room and downstairs, at the restaurant and around the pool.

The villa is situated in a quiet street but it is conveniently located in the best NGO and tourist area in Phnom Penh with easy access to markets, restaurants, parks, and just a short tuk tuk ride to the riverside. It is also at walking distance from the new Aeon mall, the latest shopping center to open in Phnom-Penh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BassAngler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 267 in Phnom Penh
771 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 267 in Phnom Penh
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,922 reviews
0.9 mi away
the 252
the 252
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Villa

Property: Anise Villa
Address: #18, St 400, BKK1 , Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Phnom Penh! Once known as the Pearl of Asia, it is now a vibrant Southeast Asian city of over 2 million people. After a full day of exploration where exciting new sights, sounds and scents have competed for your attention, come back home to Anise Villa, and let us care for all your needs in our sanctuary of peace and tranquility. Located on a quiet street of BKK1, a popular area among NGOs and expatriates, we are just a 5 to 10-minute tuk-tuk ride away from all of Phnom Penh's major attractions. Designed by Cambodian and French trained architect, Chea Sopanha, Anise Villa exemplifies a new vision and trend in contemporary Cambodian architecture marrying perfectly local elements with Western comfort. Anise Villa is also richly decorated with our own private collection of contemporary Cambodian art by local and expatriate artists. With only 21 rooms to ensure at once intimacy and privacy, Anise Villa is managed by the same trusted team as the Anise Hotel bringing you a professional and dedicated English speaking staff to make you feel right at home. So let yourself be transported by the warmth of true Khmer hospitality while enjoying the comfort of modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing