We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price and location”
Review of Flamingos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingos Hotel
Ranked #188 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good for the price and location”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The 2 most positive points at the Flamingos are 1st the people working there and 2nd the location. The employees, from the front desk to the bar going through the cleaning ladies, all people are so nice, friendly, smiling and helpful that I would go there only for them ! Great people !!! The location ... if you go there for a good night life (good bars and discotheques), the Flamingos definitively has a good spot. You can reach many good places in less than 5 minutes walking distance. If you want to go to the seaside, it will take you less than 10 minutes and 2$ by tuktuk. Just in front of the hotel, you also have a very nice spa where you can get good professional massages. Now, who says good night life also says some noise so if you have a room giving on the street, it can be a bit difficult to fall asleep ...
The rooms ... well, the rooms could be renewed. You can find better rooms for the same price but not with the same people, of course ! The price is still fair, the rooms are clean and they all have aircon, a TV and a safe and you also get a free pick up from the airport if you request it which is a very good service.

I like this place and will definitively return !

Room Tip: Ask for a room not giving on the street which can be noisy due to nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcTisserand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    43
    33
    11
    23
See reviews for
2
19
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PARIS
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Basic, worned rooms with poor value (standard room 25USD). Rooms at the back of the building are less noisy.
Free WIFI + Free Airport pick-up

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DEMOSTHENE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bornem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Basic but good rooms, value for money I guess.
Location is between the river and central market, it's possible to walk to both.
Near some nightlife (Heart of darkness disco and some bars)
Free airport pickup is included, as well as a basic breakfast.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the streetside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I have stayed here on a number of occasions. The staff is tops, the food Ok. My room is quet. The surroundings are the pits - full of bars.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Hi, to break the myth about the former reviews read below, I am a 32 year old guy, apparently attractive and happily married, who stays at Flamingo's, and loves it... I travel on a monthly basis to Phnom Penh for the United Nations, and am familiar with the hotel circuit there. After reading some of the whining comments below, I put together a short list of "is / isn't" about the hotel:
What the hotel is:
Yes, this hotel is guest friendly; yes, it is a little noisy; yes, it is full of older single men who mind their own business; yes, it is located walking distance to most places you would want to go to; yes, it is clean, safe and the staff is friendly (tip the guys a couple of $ and they'll take care of you), and yes, you will not be bothered by annoying "know-it all backpackers".
What this hotel is not:
No, the hotel is not a brothel; no, it is not ideal for single traveling women; no, comfort is not their main concern; no, the food is no Michelin restaurant; no, you will not make "buddies" with the other hotel residents, and no, the staff will not be honest if you're a whining arrsehole... In short, it is not ideal for people not accustomed to the way things work in Cambodia.

To people below complaining about the noise pollution below as well as the expected European standards, I say this: this is CAMBODIA, not the USA... If you don't like it, don't come... And the hotel is $20 a night, so don't expect to stay at the Ritz and eat gastronomic food! I hope this helped...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank EazyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Mr. Bona, the hotel's manager, was consistent as always, booking the free airport pick-up and holding a room in the high floor city view location requested. An ANZ ATM is still in the lobby, if out of cash several others very close to the hotel. The shaded patio tables and chairs out front are very comfortable. Bedding and pillows are quite comfortable. Must be a new chef in the kitchen as the complimentary breakfasts are better than last time. Crappy white breakfast toast, and suspicious city water are still used to make the coffee; why not some real bread and a real multi-stage water filter? Don't forget to tip the breakfast ladies, especially the breakfast bar manager> she's always cheerful and attentive in service. Major thumbs up to housekeeping, don't forget to give them a few dollars as they work very hard! As a long stay vacationer, housekeeping learned my habits and would make-up the room while I was downstairs having breakfast, checking AM emails on the 2 free computers. Note: the internet grinds to a standstill all over town about dinner time and all of Saturday evenings. Safety boxes are not functioning in all rooms and I was issued the backup key to open and close my safety box; not being able to use a code to do this, and having to keep track of the key kind of defeats the purpose. Security and personal safety in the hotel was very good, but please invest in some new safety boxes. New QG disco next door opened and then closed. New Pontoon disco across the street now open and blasts serious bass thumps that prevents deep sleep until 4AM. The Heart of Darkness club, highly recommended, and the fascinating WalkAbout Hotel bar, are just around the corner. Next time I will request a room that is "low and inside" to get away from the hip hop noise from Pontoon. In short, give up the high floor view for the more peaceful half, first, or second floor rooms. As concluding my last review over 2 yrs ago, I could live at Flamingos month on end no problem. Perfect location and great staff.

Room Tip: Low floor away from QG disco request when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltimoreMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

The lobby staff were actually polite and helpful. I arranged a 1 day visa service for a neighboring country and they managed to finish it relatively on time. The location is OK and within walking distance to all the major sites and pubs/restaurants. They also do have a "free" airport pickup via minivan which was on time and fast during rush hour.

However, that's about all the good things I can say about this place. The rooms were dingy and there was cigarette ash on the bathroom floor. The sheets didn't look totally clean and the room had a mildew odor about it. The hallways were also dark and depressing. There was a rooftop bar with a pool table but it seemed to cater towards single western men looking to purchase more than just drinks from the wait staff plying their trade. All in all this was a dank, dark, and depressing hotel. The surrounding area is full of girly bars containing their usual sad sack expat punters. The hotel's room cost at $25 (plus free airport and lobby PC internet) wasn't all that great of a value considering the general seediness. There are much better deals to be had out there but the airport pickup isn't bad for a confused first time traveler to Phnom Penh and more importantly they were prompt with their visa service.

Didn't bother trying the food since it didn't look like there was anyone eating there and everything looked unclean including the guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolognapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#114 of 267 in Phnom Penh
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bolina Palace Hotel
Bolina Palace Hotel
#162 of 267 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#49 of 267 in Phnom Penh
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kambuja Inn
Kambuja Inn
#98 of 325 in Phnom Penh
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Hotel

Property: Flamingos Hotel
Address: 172 #30 Street | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming hotel, in the best location in town, in the Famous street #172, Near by Central market, indepedance Monument, River Side, Bars, Restaurant ,nightclubs and bars This Pleassant Hotel, in THE HEART OF THE CITY, Secure, with Exclusive packages included gym/sauna/fitness an up coming Sushi bar on the Private Roof Top. Our staff will help you, in any case, bus tickets, travel plan etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingos Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing