We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all cost”
Review of Flamingos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flamingos Hotel
Ranked #203 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 15 March 2013

If there is anything that is eye-catching about this hotel, its the deceptive photograph of the hotel.

Checking into this hotel is a breeze, I must admit. But that's also where the good point about this hotels ends, and your worst nightmare about to begin. While walking to the lift to take you to your room, you'll be met with a surrounding area that's poorly kept and which also serves as an open store area of the hotel. Do make sure that you have a handkerchief or something to cover your nose before you enter the lift. The odour in the lift is so nauseating that it will be etched in your mind during and after your stay at the hotel! The hotel management has not bothered to replace the carpet in the lift which is the main source of the odour.

The quality of the room is no better. The bed is hard. The bed sheet and pillow cover need replacement. So do the towels. The rubbish bin of my room was not emptied prior to my checking in. Cigarettes butt could be found in the bathroom. The running water at the hand basin is so small as if there's water rationing! I was given a recycled bottle of shampoo, in the form of a half-used bottle left by prior guest. You'll hardly feel cool even with both the air-conditioner and wall fan turned on!

Free wifi is available in the room. Breakfast in included in your room rate. An ANZ Bank ATM can be found at the hotel lobby.

The hotel provides you with a free pick-up from the airport. But it's a one way ticket. You'll have to pay USD9-00 for you trip back to the airport to escape from this hell hole.

Avoid this hotel at all cost, unless disappointment is you cup of tea!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelNomadB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights. It was pleasant enough, the staff were friendly. Breakfast was pretty basic but fine - you choose one item from a menu, plus a drink (if you want more you have to pay). We did not eat there apart from breakfast
We had a room at the back of the hotel which was the best place to be as the nearby bars got pretty noisy at night (do not get a room at the front). The room was clean. The pillows were quite hard (seems to be norm in the cheaper hotels) but they did their best to find us softer ones.
There is a roof top bar as well as seating outside at the front.
The location is fairly central. Good if you want seedy bars and nightlife, but there are many 'escort' bars close by. Not a family friendly area! It was a couple of USD to get a tuk tuk to the bar/ restaurant area by the river, or you could walk in 15 minutes.
It was fine as a base for a few days of site seeing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, preferably on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucySky99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

There is lousy service, I had my stuff in the safe in the room and when I can back it was gone and they didn't do any about it. It is not a family friendly hotel there are prostitutes everywhere with old men. The food is junk. Way expensive, you can a better hotel and a lower price and it was all around a bad exprerince. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isnttough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

the place is clean, very well located and very reasonably priced. the staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. pick-up and drop off at the airport very well organized. the breakfast is small but tasty. they have a rooftop bar for people who like a view. all in all: i'll go back there

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francois331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A group of 8 of us stayed here twice in November. We rocked up without a reservation both times and the staff were easily able to accommodate us on the spot. Rooms were good (beds a little hard but bearable), good air-conditioning & free wifi. Food was great, beers were cheap & always cold! I do agree with a lot of the other reviews, great location & close to everything you need, but the sleaze is there and quite in your face. Not ideal for families but for everyone else, i recommend it :).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here on a short 2 night stop in Pnom Penh. My experiences were good here, the only thing is I missed my airport pick up but that was mostly due to my plane from Bangkok arriving 2 hours late due to Mr. Obama arriving in Bangkok.

The hotel is small but has a good atmosphere, staff is friendly and for the price you cant beat it. They include an airport pick up and breakfast. Rooms and amenities are basic but ok.

The hotel is close to a lively street, only annoyance are the tuktuk drivers outside.

I had a great burger from the bbq outside of the hotel, and together with 1$ Anchor beer had a good time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cominatcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

In a very handy location on the corner of Streets 172 and 51 - near nightlife and markets. Friendly staff and good service. Plenty of tuk tuks and motorcycles available outside the hotel although they dont always know the places where you want to go. Hotel staff can help though.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors and at the rear of the hotel are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNewton667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 277 in Phnom Penh
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 277 in Phnom Penh
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 277 in Phnom Penh
1,673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#15 of 277 in Phnom Penh
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingos Hotel

Address: 172 #30 Street | Sangkat Phsar Tmei 3, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £15 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming hotel, in the best location in town, in the Famous street #172, Near by Central market, indepedance Monument, River Side, Bars, Restaurant ,nightclubs and bars This Pleassant Hotel, in THE HEART OF THE CITY, Secure, with Exclusive packages included gym/sauna/fitness an up coming Sushi bar on the Private Roof Top. Our staff will help you, in any case, bus tickets, travel plan etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flamingos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingos Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing