We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the 'Directors suite'”
Review of FCC Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FCC Phnom Penh
Ranked #90 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beware of the 'Directors suite'”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We were booked to stay in the Directors suite but had been a little nervous that the web page diod not show pictures - when we arrived we saw why - small pokey and rather depressing collection of rooms up a disgusting stairway just down the street from the main bar. We elected to not stay and moved in to The Quay just up the street which was sensational albeit more expensive. The bar (especially the second floor) lives up to it's reputation but has outragously overpriced very basic and moderare quality 'bar' food - they are definiatly trading on their name and location rather than quality. Very mich the feel that it's a great bar with a few rooms tagged on the side - perhaps they should have concentrated on the bar and not played at being a 'hotel'. Coffee bar on the ground floor has much better food but is wildly overpriced - when you are paying more for a coffee in Cambodia than you do in central London you realise that someone is habving a laugh. Suggestion is to have a beer in the bar, but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuailOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    149
    104
    39
    13
See reviews for
49
159
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Land mark bar and restaurant
Only about 9 rooms in total but clean and neat
Bar is up stairs with an excellent happy hour from 5-7
Location is smack bang in the middle of Sisowath Quay

Down side: a bit noisy, but not enough to wake our 6 month old up
No pool

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaspydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Enjoyed our stay at the FCC. Our small group was given 2 rooms, Mebon (at the second floor) and Ta Sohm (entranceat the side street). The check in at the reception was quick. The front desk officer helpful and friendly.

The rooms were generally clean, except that I saw a dead cockroach near the trashcan on the day we checked in.

Ta Sohm is much bigger, has a balcony, and does not have a tub, which is better for me since I rarely use the bathtub. Only concern is security, since the room is accessible from the outside of the hotel, and not passing thru the main stairway. Otherwise, this room is just perfect!

The hotel bar/restaurant is great! Nice and cool atmoshphere! Quite pricey but food is definitely good! Their pizza (ordered spinach with feta cheese) is so yummy!
Breakfast was ample, you will choose from a a selection of hot meals, aside from the criossant, jam, juice and coffee provided.

Hotel location is perfect! Just in front the river, and walking distance to the Royal Palace and the National Museum!

Coffee shop on the first floor called Al Fresco seems good also, with a wide selection of sandwiches and salads. The coffee brand they use is Illy, so it's defintely good.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2009

We booked an airport transfer through the FCC - don't bother! The driver was an hour late and charged us US$11, whereas we could have got an official airport taxi for US$7!

However, the room was lovely and dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

We were only in PP for one night on our way to Siem Riep, so cannot compare to other hotels in the area. At US$60 for the room I would say it was good value for the size and quality of the room, and it is recognised as being something of an institution in PP.

The hot water ran out in the bathroom, and in using the shower we appeared to wake up a friendly lizard that then sang for an hour or so - I think he was hiding above the shower head!

  • Liked — The size and decor of the rooms
  • Disliked — Poorly arranged and overpriced airport transfer
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyDHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

The price was right. Room and bathroom were clean and nice. Restaurant was awesome, breakfast included. The only thing I didn't like was that anyone could walk up the stairs to get in to the FCC and restaurant, so if someone wanted to, they could go to where the rooms are. There usually was someone sitting up there, but still, i would have liked a little more of a hotel feel where no anyone could be walking around.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

Have stayed in some disastorous places in Cambodia, hnom Penh is one of those cities that just gets on with it and you sort of find your feet. I love the city and enjoyed my time there.

The FCC feels like a secret hideaway in a crazy city. You can spend hours looking out over the street having a nice drink. It really does feel like a private members club and perched on the balcony no-one knows you are there. Hard to exlain.

Anyway. top notch place.

  • Liked — Swashbuckling cocktails
  • Disliked — not the nicest street
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dwnfallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

FCC Phnom Penh was a really wonderful hotel. The rooms are based on Angkor Temples. We stayed in the Preah Khan (Jungle Temples). The room was located around the side of the hotel with an outside entrance. Narrow hallway passing the large bathroom and into room with large kingsize bed, cable tv, minibar , free wireless internet on request, small inroom safe, and a large balcony overlooking a side street. However you can easily see the Mekong River from the balcony. Very Nice view.

Postives:

-Spectacular bathroom - not one to really rave about such things, but massive shower head from the ceiling (1.5 ft in diameter) Coming back from touring - made it a worthy experience on taking a shower.

- Free Wifi (Need request a code from staff for how many hrs of use)

- Nice hard King Size bed - slept like a baby on each of my nights stayed there.

-Close proximity to all major tourist sites, and nightlife.

-Hotel staff friendly and willing to go the extra mile for you, arranged guide and boat trip to Siem Reap for us.

Negatives:

-As stated previously tuk tuk drivers outside the hotel lobby - constantly ask to take you places whenever you walk outside. Small consolation for such a nice hotel.

-In room safe was rather small - couldn't fit my 12in notebook in there. Could have been larger, but noticed that was standard safe size for couple hotels I used in Cambodia.

The main reason I picked this hotel - wanted a clean and safe place to stay. I probably could have paid less elsewhere, but two requirements are necessity when I travel. If you stay at this hotel dare say you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Overlooking the Mekong River
  • Disliked — Tuk Tuk lads outside the lobby of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Britmaveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Quay Boutique Hotel
The Quay Boutique Hotel
#73 of 267 in Phnom Penh
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#51 of 267 in Phnom Penh
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
Harmony Phnom Penh Hotel
#26 of 267 in Phnom Penh
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FCC Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FCC Phnom Penh

Property: FCC Phnom Penh
Address: 363 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — FCC Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers sweeping views of the Mekong River and all the comforts demanded of today's modern traveler.Renovated from a French colonial-era villa, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel offers spacious, comfortable rooms overlooking the Mekong River to the east and the National Museum to the west. Each boutique hotel room is meticulously outfitted with high-speed Internet access and the latest modern conveniences.The FCC restaurant and bar are just upstairs, room service is at your door, and the intriguing cityscapes that define Phnom Penh are just outside.stepping outCentrally located, shopping and nightlife venues along the riverfront are plentiful. The Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda and National Museum are all in walking distance from the hotel.In addition to the attractions, the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel also offers easy access to several nearby sister companies, including Cafe Fresco, a coffee shop and deli located downstairs at the FCC Phnom Penh Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your FCC Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fcc Phnom Penh Hotel Phnom Penh
Fcc Hotel Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh Fcc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing