We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Phnom Penh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phnom Penh Hotel
Ranked #85 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent 3 nights here in January as part of a 18 day holiday to Cambodia and Vietnam, this hotel was a disappointment compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our holiday.
The rooms were large and clean, the swimming pool bar is a waste of time having. Drinks don't come from here when you order, you have to wait for the staff to go into the main bar.
The swimming pool is surrounded by the hotel so unless your there in the middle of the day your in the shade.
Agree with other reviews, hotel needs some freshing up.
My impression overall of this hotel is they are only interested in the business clientele.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Negal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    156
    108
    38
    32
See reviews for
33
103
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Came here for a short business trip. Like mentioned in other reviews, corridors are kind of smelly, rooms need a refresh and beds are too hard for my taste. Still after a long flight I was positive that I will get at least a great relaxing massage in the luxurious hotel spa. And knowing that massages are very often offered with "extra services" all over Phnom Penh, I was glad to find a nice and serious looking health club on the ground floor, so to know that I will "just" get a professional massage. However, the therapist ask me in the middle of the session if I wanted to have an "extra service", which kinda surprised me. Maybe it's just me being naive, but I would have thought that in such a place they would refrain from such offers?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mathiasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Phnom Penh Hotel in Phnom Penh, Cambodia….November 16 to November 20, 2013

we decided NOT to fly to Phnom Penh the Capital of Cambodia from Siem Reap ( Angkor Wat ), we wanted to see the country side, therefore we hired a car with a driver & english speaking guide. This is a 6 hour trip from Siem Reap. Our Guide " Mr. Sok Ratha , Phone: 855 89 80 60 49, eNail : soktha71@yahoo.com, website: www.angkorwat-reiseleiter.com…. this gentleman speaks German and English and you will be in "good hands" when you hire him. We left Siem Reap at 8:00 AM and arrived at the Phnom Penh Hotel by 2:30 PM… along the way we stopped in several Villages to see how the Locals live their daily lives. We saw many rice fields , beautiful fresh green plants, Lotus & Water Lilly Farms, most people live in very simple , plain houses , many build on stilts. We traveled through the " Kampong Thon Province. The Phnom Penh Hotel is a very nice Hotel, with a swimming pool, shopping arcade, a Spa and several dining rooms. ( a Japanese Restaurant, Le Palace Hot Pot, Gourmet Restaurant ) We were accommodated in Room 2030 ( see picture ) looking out to the swimming pool, the windows of the room are really very sound proof, you don't hear any noise, the room is well appointed and clean, the TV is still the old fashion one, There is music played in the Lobby beginning at 6:15 PM by Ms. Chamnann who plays music on an instrument called " TAKHE ". There is also music as of 7:30 PM in the Palm View Cafè and later on in the Z- Lounge. For Breakfast you have a big selection of Asian / Western food, and for Dinner you have the choice of a buffet ( US $ 19.00 ) or à la carte menu. In the Lobby you also find the " Coffee Corner " they have a daily special there coffee and cake US $ 3.50, the cakes are really good… or buy a piece of cake for US $1.80 .The food is well prepared and has taste… you can have a first class haircut in the hotel for US $ 6.00…for those Tourists who want to get up early and experience something very unusual ( I read this suggestion on TripAdvisor ) , get up by 5:00 AM, hire a Tuk- Tuk ( US $ 2.00 one way) in front of the Hotel and go to the " Wat Ounalom Temple. By 6:00 AM several MONKS sitting on the floor of the Temple start chanting, than several hundred women dressed in a white blouse and dark skirt repeat the chant, by 6:30 AM the chanting stops, and they all come forward and give their offerings to the MONKS, such as food, beverages, money, flowers etc. I found this experience very worthwhile and enjoyed it… I was the only tourist there….. after having breakfast at the Hotel we headed via Tuk-Tuk to the "Royal Palace", ( see picture ) after you pay the entrance fee, you can tour the well manicured Gardens and other sights. Presently King Norodom Sihamoni is in residence there. Within the Compound there is the Royal Residence, the Throne Hall, several other historic buildings, and the Silver Pagoda. ( Wat Preah Keo Morokat ) . The buildings are in tip top shape and in Thai architecture… there are also several Stupa's on the grounds… from here take the Tuk-Tuk to "Wat Phnom" a 14th century Buddha Temple sitting on a hill. Visit the Temple. On the left hand side of the Temple, go down the path / staircase to visit the statue of former King *Sisowath" it is certainly worthwhile ( see picture ). Go and have a drink at the "Raffles Hotel LEROYAL, Elephant Bar" . here former First Lady" Jacqueline Kennedy " in 1967 had Champagne with Prince Norodom Sihanouk - he later became King - , Charlie Chaplin visited the Bar in the 1940th , most recently President Obama and Sect. of State Hillary Clinton showed up too. The Raffel's is a blend of colonial , Khmer and Art Deco architecture.. be sure to dress up in order to blend in….. back at our Hotel we had a Thai Massage , 60 minutes for US $ 12.00 what a deal…. ask for masseuse No.35 * RATHANA* , she has good hands. We went via Tuk-Tuk to the " Killing Fields " ( Choeung Ek ) via Boulevard Mao Tse Toung & Nehru Blvd. Once out of town the dirt road can be sometimes bumpy, visiting this site takes strong nerves, because this death Camp of the Cambodian people is a sad reminder that the Khmer Rouge regime killed 3 Million people. There are over 300 Killing Field in Cambodia… once you see it and walk the grounds it will touch you. On the way back ask your driver to stop at the " Russian Market " It's a wild place , with many stalls, where you can buy handcrafts, antiques,silver, watches bootleg DVD's books furniture, in other words everything. At night you can take the Tuk -Tuk to the Riverfront, this is practically the outdoor living room of the people living in Phnom Penh, it's a wild place. Overall I certainly recommend visiting the Capital of Cambodia and staying at the Phnom Penh Hotel ,( there are plenty of Security guards around ) we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INDIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I should have listened to Trip Advisor reviews and booked elsewhere.
However, I was completely disappointed when I entered the hotel premises.
There is a strange kind of smell in hotel corrdiors which was totally 3rd class.
I had booked Club Excellence room and one of benefit was " Complimentary pressing of Business Suit upon arrival" When i asked the housekeeping to do it, hotel manager at Club Excellence desk informed that pressing is complimentary upon arrival but I need to pay upon check out.
Now, i didnt know whether to laugh or punch the guy!

Bed was awful and moment, you rest your back on bed in sitting position, entire mattress will slide away to floor. Breakfast was terrible.. I just closed my eyes, made countdown and checked myself out after terrible 48 hrs stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was the most disappointing of all the hotels we stayed at during our 19 days in Cambodia and Vietnam. It looked good from the outside but the room, whilst ok, had some very irritating features. The 'techno' shower was too clever for it's own good and the bed had a tendency to move away from the headboard leaving plenty of room for your pillow to disappear down the gap. The lighting in the room was insufficient to read by and the central control panel was a nightmare. The food at dinner was average at best and at breakfast (8am) there was no bread or pastries (there hadn't been for over an hour apparently). Service was poor and the staff did not look a particularly happy bunch. We suggested to Great Rail Journeys that they look for an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location , the staff are very welcoming, great service , there are many restaurants and nightlife nearby . The room was large and clean , breakfast move with a good selection. We were very impressed with the staff , so cute and polite . Easy to get tuk- tuks from the front .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scroz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
285 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Is a big hotel with many rooms , thus you can not wait for a personal service.The rooms are clean and the breakfast is acceptable, Really noting is near to the hotel and in its walking distance, but there is remok(yuk yuk) available in the front of hotel every time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BijanTehran_Iran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#36 of 267 in Phnom Penh
884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
Sokha Phnom Penh Hotel
#60 of 267 in Phnom Penh
194 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dara Airport Hotel
Dara Airport Hotel
#61 of 267 in Phnom Penh
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#9 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cambodiana
Hotel Cambodiana
#97 of 267 in Phnom Penh
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison d'Ambre
La Maison d'Ambre
#30 of 267 in Phnom Penh
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phnom Penh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phnom Penh Hotel

Property: Phnom Penh Hotel
Address: 53 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Srah Chok, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phnom Penh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Phnom Penh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing