We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Phnom Penh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phnom Penh Hotel
Ranked #91 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have not stayed in any other hotels in Phnom Penh, so my experience is limited. I have stayed in this hotel twice. The rate included the breakfast buffet which is excellent. May choices. My favorite was the freshly prepared soup right next to where they make the eggs. The hotel lobby is very clean and nice. The exercise room is very good and includes a Smith Machine. Pool is good. Rooms are good size. My only complaint is that the beds are very, very hard! Otherwise, very good property.

Room Tip: Stayed in a regular room and the executive floor. Rooms were all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The room is well appointed with good fluffy pillows. The hassle is in getting wifi passwords on a daily basis. I wish the breakfast has a bigger spread, especially for the vegetarian. The table setting (for breakfast) is not consistent, with missing cutleries and table napkins for some. It would be great if the staff are more approachable..i.e serve with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not too far from the elevators. Mine needs a five minute brisk walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamariah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Seven of us from the same organisation stayed in this hotel for four nights to attend a two day conference in the same hotel and visiting some places around Phnom Penh. From my own experience, overall it was a satisfying stay but I think in some departments the hotel management should be making suitable improvements.

For the first night, I stayed in one of the hotel's suite but have to move to a smaller deluxe room the next day because of the noisy aircon system. Just can't get a good sleep. The suite was too big for me and the decor was a bit old fashioned. The deluxe room was certainly better; cosy & comfortable for me. The bathroom was nice especially the shower room although the water pressure was slow especially during the morning.

For breakfast at the Park View Cafe the spread was good with plenty of choices, though the presentation can be improved and daily varieties can be alternated. The local cuisines including rice porridge and noodle soups were excellent. A few of the staff are friendly and well trained to cater for the guests although I notice that some may need further training for this purpose. Perhaps improving their English communication skills is a good start.

During breakfast I would like to suggest that the management put up a notice so that the guests are properly dressed as on two occasions I noticed the same hotel guest was just wearing a singlet (with tatoos on both arms) and a pair of shorts. Not a nice sight.

I really like the gym facilities. Very well equiped and well located near the swimming pool and opened from 6 am.

One other thing which requires urgent attention from the management is to ensure that all the facilities are in working order. During the whole of my stay, one of the two lifts in the main did'nt function at all and it was not repaired.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the scene is not that fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuwarBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First step from the Phnom Penh city heat to the grand lobby that has 80's style. Check in was good with friendly and helpful staff (should ask for the WIFI password here, free of charge). Rooms are in big enough, again seen better days but clean and all working properly. Air con good which is blessing for summer. There were damp smell around the corridor (long one in some cases, this hotel is huge by local standard) but the room, pillow and blanket were fine), towels need to be replaced by the way. Breakfast buffet was average though good varieties. At the rate paid during the time of stay, can't complain as they are very reasonable. Average quality and obviously cannot set the high expectation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bom2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Lobby and reception very lavish for Cambodia. Room well appointed. Quiet inside but the street out front is very busy. The hotel sits back from the road so you don't hear the street noise or traffic BUT don't expect to be able to cross the street!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcbctc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. The arrival experience was impressive with the huge lobby. The corridor leading to the rooms had a damp smell. The bedroom was spacious, but the writing desk and other furniture were old, and in need of replacement. The bathroom too was in need of an upgrade. The showers had low water pressure and the toilet had a bad smell. Most of my meals were taken at the lobby Cafe called the Palm View and the spread was good but service was very poor. I ordered an egg omelet during breakfast, but the omelet took more than 20 mins to arrive even though the restaurant was not crowded. The restaurant did not have warm milk to go with the coffee or tea. The Wifi service was intermittent too in the bedroom and the best reception was in the lobby. Whilst the location of the hotel was good, I think that besides its location, there was no other strong attractive points. The Front Desk reception staff was very friendly and commendable

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Overall a good all round hotel, although there was always the smell of fried food around the restaurant and lobby area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was adequate but the best bit were the baguettes, coffee and cakes in the lobby coffee shop. The swimming pool and sunbeds were great and the bar staff exceptionally friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and the smoothies were to die for :-) Would recommend for a short stay and is ideally located for visiting attractions. However a tuc tuc or taxi is needed to get to the local bars and restaurants. These are readily available outside the hotel and are excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
8.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#74 of 281 in Phnom Penh
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dara Airport Hotel
Dara Airport Hotel
#101 of 281 in Phnom Penh
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cambodiana
Hotel Cambodiana
#89 of 281 in Phnom Penh
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
Sunway Hotel Phnom Penh
#35 of 281 in Phnom Penh
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
#18 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,097 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palace Gate Hotel & Resort
Palace Gate Hotel & Resort
#30 of 281 in Phnom Penh
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phnom Penh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phnom Penh Hotel

Address: 53 Monivong Boulevard, Sangkat Srah Chok, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phnom Penh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 407
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phnom Penh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing