We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In one word, horrible.”
Review of Mito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mito Hotel
Ranked #61 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In one word, horrible.”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We travelled through out Cambodia and this Chinese run hotel was a disgrace to the reputation Khmer people have built in the hospitality industry. Do not waste your time here. We booked a suite with a double bed, walked in and there were two single beds. The window had been left open and mosquitoes were everywhere, the roof had water marks and cracks all through it and the ceiling was collapsing in. The bath had a hole in it and as such the bathroom flooded every time you tried to take a shower.

The next morning we demanded to be upgraded and have our room swapped. The manager came in and said there is nothing wrong, but she would give us another room. As we swapped rooms she stood there on her mobile phone and refused to help us move our stuff or to get someone to help and seemed annoyed at us! The next room had no window and all the same problems.

To top this off the breakfast provided was covered in flie's, the bread had mould on it and pieces of the fruit had maggots in it.

Needless to say after the second night we found accommodation else where. But the manager refused to give us our money back. So a message to all, phenom penh is a beautiful city but do not be fooled by these people!! The photos are nothing like the rooms and the staff are rude and arrogant! If you want the best possible experience stay as far away as possible from this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekkerdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, General Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Trekkerdownunder Perth,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh.

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely surprised at this comment since there were no reports of this complaint on site during the time of your stay or ever documented from any department. Regarding the accommodation, we may have had issue of full occupancy and in times, guests may have been booked into a room that they did not initially requested, however, we make sure that our front office staff always communicate that to the guests, and arrange for a different room. Most often, we must have the “ok” from the guests before we re-allocate their room. The room that has problems to repair, we make sure that we do not sell it at all. The management is still looking into this problem and hope to avoid situations like this in the future.

Furthermore, Mittapheap Hotel is also going into re-branding and renovation this year, and we hope to develop new and improved facilities and accommodations for all our guests.

The comments from the restaurant have been brought to management’s attention and the hotel has implemented a better schedule of food checking during breakfast times.

We wished that you had brought the attention to us immediately and our management will be gladly resolve the problems, instead of commenting long after your stay.

Thanks.
Hun Chanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    53
    38
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
37
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed hear for 2 nights in mid November. Our room was ample and clean. The views from the window which were wedged shut looked out onto the bins, and the room could do with a refurbishment and looked tired and dated.

The bathroom was large and modern in design and the room itself was large in size. Tuk Tuk drivers outside were friendly when pointing to the lonely planet guidebook could take you anywhere. Breakfast was nice with a variety of fruits and cambodian and wastern dishes. If your looking for value and cleanliness this hotel is a good place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woxx823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Front Office Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Woxx823,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

We are very thankful for your valuable review of Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor. Your positive review will help boost employee morale and makes Management very appreciated.

Mittapheap Hotel is a 3 star Hotel and it is in the heart of City which surrounded by many interesting places such as Central Market, Soya Shopping Center, Restaurant, Bar, Club and it is 15 minutes only walk to Riverside, Royal Palace & National Museum.
We try our best to keep up our good services for our valued guests and still continue to serve our guests, in order to meet their needs and make them feel like home.

Moreover, we are pleased to thank you again for sharing your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We are very happy that you satisfy with our Hotel.

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

It was my first visit to Cambodia and I was pleasantly pleased with my stay at Mittapheap! I stayed in the VIP room and it was cozy. Loved the decor and was perfect for me the unwind. The staff was very nice and professional and it was a welcoming feeling for my vacation. You can even get a driving service to drive you around PP.

Great hotel, great service, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malachi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear muthu1092000,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!
We are very thankful for your valuable review of our Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spent your value time to describe your experiences and your view of the hotel and all of our services and facilities to all people who want to know clearly about our Hotel. This positive review will help boost our ratings and also the employee morale and makes Management very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regards

Ms. Hun Chanda
Operations Manager

Dear Malachi H,
Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!
Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.
We really appreciate your posting for Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming yourgoodself, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regards

Ms. Hun Chanda
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is one of the 3 star hotels in Cambodia with lower rate of rental. There are a lot of shops & other small hotels nearby this hotel. Most of the basic facilities are available in this hotel but there are no swimming pool here. Guest can browse the internet for free for 15 minutes which is located nearby the reception at the lobby. There are also spa at the lobby.

The restaurant is located at the first floor. Estimated 60 -80 guests can have their breakfast here at the same time. The rooms are clean & the staffs are good. There will be a lot of Tut-Tut (local transport) available outside this hotel.

There is a place where locals will get together for morning exercise. This place is about 10 - 15 minutes walk from this hotel. If you took a tut-tut, they may charge you about US$2.

it is worth to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muthu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear muthu1092000,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

We are very thankful for your valuable review of our Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spent your value time to describe your experiences and your view of the hotel and all of our services and facilities to all people who want to know clearly about our Hotel. This positive review will help boost our ratings and also the employee morale and makes Management very appreciated.We look forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regards

Ms. Hun Chanda
Operations Manager

Dear Malachi H,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

We really appreciate your posting for Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regards

Ms. Hun Chanda
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed in the VIP room with my wife for 2 nights while in PP meeting friends. Hotel is really affordable for the huge size of the room, which had a king-sized bed and a separate area with sofa for watching TV and meetings. The included breakfast had a nice spread and tasty enough to get you going for the day. Location was really excellent, within walking distance to Central Market and food. Only downside was that the TV was too far from the bed, so no watching TV to sleep; and the wi-fi was a little choppy and unstable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLEESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Sales Executive at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

We are very thankful for your valuable review of Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spend your value time to descript all of our service and facility to all people who want to know clearly about our Hotel. This positive review will help boost employee morale and makes Management very appreciated.

Mittapheap Hotel is a 3 star Hotel and it is in the heart of City which surrounded by many interesting places such as Central Market, Soya Shopping Center, Restaurant, Bar, Club and it is 15 minutes only walk to Riverside, Royal Palace & National Museum.
VIP room is a big room and we separate area with sofa and the bed and the TV we put in front of the sofa, so it is a bit far from the bed.

We, the Management of the Hotel, always try our best to update the service in order to make our guests satisfy and now the internet was completed working well.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Is quite tired overall presentation wise. Staff are lovely. Just a touch too far to walk anywhere. A USD$1 tuk or cyclo ride away though. Breakfast was ok - if you are only use to Western standard breakfasts' you may want to ready yourselves!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMSimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Sales Executive at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

We are really appreciated for your posting our Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is within walking distance of the central market, national museum and royal palace. The food, particularly breakfast was not so good, don't expect much in the way of " western" type foods and what there is was poor quality.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Sales Executive at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sir,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

For the breakfast, we are very sorry that we could not meet your need because Mittapheap Hotel is a 3 star Hotel and some valued guests from European and some valued guests from Asia, so we always do the breakfast accordingly to our guests staying.

However, thank you so much for your comment and we try our best to update the breakfast quality and we do hope that it will be great for your next stay.
We look forward to greetings you again in the nearest future.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.1 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#47 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
1.1 mi away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#99 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#50 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
Orussey One Hotel & Apartment
#74 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mito Hotel

Property: Mito Hotel
Address: No. 11, St.174 Oknha Ket Rd (Corner of Monivong Blvd) | Sangkat Boeung Rang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia (Formerly Mittapheap Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#32 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MITO Hotel is a 3 Stars, newly renovated business hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Blessed with premier central location, bustling city center, diverse international clientele of business men, entrepreneurs, adventurers, MITO Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 4 Floors, and 80 rooms, our accommodation type ranges from Superior, Deluxe, Deluxe Star, VIP, and Family Suite. Each type having its own designated style, décor, and amenities simple enough to make guests feel like home. Our Deluxe Star rooms are the new additions to our previous room types, adding more comforts, more personality and elements of art and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing