We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Phnom Penh”
Review of Mito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mito Hotel
Ranked #64 of 278 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in a VIP room, 499. What a beautiful room. There is a sitting area and an elevated area for the bed. The bath includes and extra long bath and a separate shower. Our room look out on a Buddist Pagoda. Hotel staff are friendly and very attentive. This hotel has elevators so there is no concern of lugging your luggage up stairs. There is a breakfast buffet on floor 1 but it is functional at best. One caution, the hotel staff warned us to be careful when standing outside the hotel. I understood what they meant the next day when I say a thief grab a ladies purse and run away. Hang onto your bags when you are outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Sales at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Cpitt,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

We are very thankful for your valuable review of Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spend your value time to describe about our Hotel.

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Mrs.Neou Sitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

This centrally located hotel has a host of really handy facilities. I was on a Gecko / Intrepid style tour just arrived from Laos. The hotel provided a wonderfully comfortable introduction to Cambodia.
Internet is available and best of all, you can book massages. I had one at 11pm which was a fantastic way to unwind. The restaurant serves good food and saves you braving the very dark streets outside. The rooftop bar proved very popular with the group, serving drinks beyond midnight. From here you can see across the street to the roof of nearby Wat Koh.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a view of Wat Koh temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Sales at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Jolyon67,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

We are very thankful for your valuable review of Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spend your value time to descript about our Hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We are very happy that you satisfy with our Hotel.

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Mrs.Neou Sitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I went to Cambodia for my birthday week in February and for the couple of days I stayed in Phnom Penh, I never cease to go straight to Mittapheap Hotel to call it home for my stay. I stayed in the VIP room during my stays in the hotel. I have been to Phnom Penh on multiple occasions and proudly say that I'm a repeat Mittapheap client.

The service is great. I enjoy their breakfast, they deliver my pastries to my room, and I am allowed to not worry about anything and enjoy my holiday in Cambodia. I am a resident from the most expensive city in the United States so I would think my satisfaction counts. I will return Mittapheap Hotel :)

Room Tip: Just be pleasant and leave a good tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malachi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Front Office Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mr.Malachi H,

Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!
Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and thank you so much for supporting Mittapheap Hotel for long time, we really appreciate with your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the nearest future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks
Sitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Good location for market, but road outside with resident stall holders was dirty and poorly lit. Room was OK, but had issues with bathroom, when showering ended up with flooded floor unless careful, this did drain away eventually. View from dirty window you couldnot open over scruffy roof tops. Breakfast functional. Staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Front Office Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Paul T,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh.

First we would like to say thank you so much for staying at Mittapheap Hotel and thank you for spending time to review on trip advisor. Your review is so important to us and we are sorry that it was happened to you while you were staying here. Mittapheap Hotel will start to renovate next month, so I do hope that you will feel comfortable when you come next time.

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I did not care for the location, but if you like shopping it is close to the Old Market and Sorya Mall. The room was nice, staff are friendly, food is good. The fish amok is very good. The breakfast buffet was okay, when I had to leave early they brought out the tea and fried eggs for me. The little cafe has good cakes, and they are 40% off after 4 or 5 PM. The bed and pillows could have been softer, but I slept okay. Next door is the Mittapheap Travel agency, very good English and fast getting me a flight to Siam Reap.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bormanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Front Office Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Bormanator,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh.

We are very thankful for your valuable review of Mittapheap Hotel on Trip Advisor and we are very impressed that you spend your value time to describe all of our service and facility to all people who want to know clearly about our Hotel. This positive review will help boost employee morale and makes Management very appreciated.

We are pleased to thank you again for sharing your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We are very happy that you satisfy with our Hotel.

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

On the face of it, Mittaheap looks like an ok hotel. The room was relatively spacious and tidy. However, immediately on walking in to the bathroom we saw numerous cockroaches. We got rid of them and tried to forget about it. However, as our stay continued, we kept seeing more and more bugs. At one point I saw bugs on the floor, that ran in the crack in the base of the bed. During our stay, we received numerous painful and ugly bites over our body, many times worse than anything else during our trip, including when staying in the jungle. I dread to think what was crawling over us in the night when we slept. I'm not squeamish, I know how to rough it, but do not expect to encounter this situation when staying in a hotel that clearly tries to market itself as high quality. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favourite_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, General Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Favourite_star,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh.

On behalf of the staff and management of Mittapheap Hotel, we absolutely apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay. Regarding the bugs in the rooms and the furnishing and upholstery will be looked at and fumigated at a regular basis and the bedding has been changed new immediately after your report of it. We greatly value your comments and take pride in our customer services and will do our best to prevent the situation again in the future.

Mittapheap Hotel is also going into rebranding and renovation this year, and we hope to develop new and improved facilities and accommodations for all our guests.
We thank you again for your stay.

Thanks
Hun Chanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. We travelled through out Cambodia and this Chinese run hotel was a disgrace to the reputation Khmer people have built in the hospitality industry. Do not waste your time here. We booked a suite with a double bed, walked in and there were two single beds. The window had been left open and mosquitoes were everywhere, the roof had water marks and cracks all through it and the ceiling was collapsing in. The bath had a hole in it and as such the bathroom flooded every time you tried to take a shower.

The next morning we demanded to be upgraded and have our room swapped. The manager came in and said there is nothing wrong, but she would give us another room. As we swapped rooms she stood there on her mobile phone and refused to help us move our stuff or to get someone to help and seemed annoyed at us! The next room had no window and all the same problems.

To top this off the breakfast provided was covered in flie's, the bread had mould on it and pieces of the fruit had maggots in it.

Needless to say after the second night we found accommodation else where. But the manager refused to give us our money back. So a message to all, phenom penh is a beautiful city but do not be fooled by these people!! The photos are nothing like the rooms and the staff are rude and arrogant! If you want the best possible experience stay as far away as possible from this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkerdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, General Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Trekkerdownunder Perth,

Warmest Greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh.

Thank you for your comments. We are extremely surprised at this comment since there were no reports of this complaint on site during the time of your stay or ever documented from any department. Regarding the accommodation, we may have had issue of full occupancy and in times, guests may have been booked into a room that they did not initially requested, however, we make sure that our front office staff always communicate that to the guests, and arrange for a different room. Most often, we must have the “ok” from the guests before we re-allocate their room. The room that has problems to repair, we make sure that we do not sell it at all. The management is still looking into this problem and hope to avoid situations like this in the future.

Furthermore, Mittapheap Hotel is also going into re-branding and renovation this year, and we hope to develop new and improved facilities and accommodations for all our guests.

The comments from the restaurant have been brought to management’s attention and the hotel has implemented a better schedule of food checking during breakfast times.

We wished that you had brought the attention to us immediately and our management will be gladly resolve the problems, instead of commenting long after your stay.

Thanks.
Hun Chanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0 mi away
New York Hotel
New York Hotel
#94 of 278 in Phnom Penh
19 reviews
2.1 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#57 of 278 in Phnom Penh
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Salita Hotel
Salita Hotel
#102 of 278 in Phnom Penh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 278 in Phnom Penh
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mou Hotel
The Mou Hotel
#164 of 278 in Phnom Penh
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#100 of 278 in Phnom Penh
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mito Hotel

Address: No. 11, St.174 Oknha Ket Rd | Sangkat Boeung Rang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia (Formerly Mittapheap Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#36 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £15 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MITO Hotel is a 3 Stars, newly renovated business hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Blessed with premier central location, bustling city center, diverse international clientele of business men, entrepreneurs, adventurers, MITO Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 4 Floors, and 80 rooms, our accommodation type ranges from Superior, Deluxe, Deluxe Star, VIP, and Family Suite. Each type having its own designated style, décor, and amenities simple enough to make guests feel like home. Our Deluxe Star rooms are the new additions to our previous room types, adding more comforts, more personality and elements of art and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing