We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, hot and poorly located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh
Ranked #164 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,765 helpful votes
“Dirty, hot and poorly located”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

In my 3 day stay I never got the room cooler than 34 degrees even with the air con - had to change rooms twice due to problems with the bathrooms, with dirt, dead cockroach wedged in the plug hole to name just two. Not the best location, everyehere needs a tuk tuk, but there are usually 3 outside the hotel. There is an international coffee house opposite - but the road is busy to cross. Breakfast is very basic and took a long while to get coffee.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    19
    25
    14
    7
See reviews for
4
13
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here as part of group tour with Explore! and it stood out as the only bad hotel in our 3 week journey. I cannot comment on value for money and it may be that it is so cheap one shouldn't complain too much. But, my bathroom was dirty, particularly the toilet, the air conditioning came on (very nosily) when the door key was inserted but was totally ineffective for the size of my room and the temperature never dropped to a reasonable level, and breakfast was only just acceptable at best. The air-conditioning in other rooms was too aggressive apparently. The bed though was comfortable and there was no street noise. The staff were very friendly and seemed to want to please but didn't respond to my requests for toilet cleaning. Across the street there was a Bank with ATM which did not take a service charge and attached to this was a nice coffee shop (though not Cambodian in style). As mentioned by others it is a distance to the waterfront but tuk-tuks are everywhere and very cheap.

Room Tip: I think I was in room 601 - avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Room was clean and basic. Beds were clean - happy to report no bedbugs, and the mattress was decent. pillows a little on the soft side for me.

Awesome in-house masseuse who will come to your room and give you a massage. My favourite bit.

Breakfast was so-so, very asian but not the healthiest kind. I just had fried rice every morning.

Least favourite aspect: showers. SUPER WEAK. could barely take a shower.

But for the price, this place rocked. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAlam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. The hotel is in a good location, with good rooms and breakfasts. However, be careful when you check out as they may try to charge for mimi bar items you have not had. This happened to me - our tour leader paid up as I wouldn't!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatherfigure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I get irritated that people expect to get a 5 star hotel for $20 then rant about it. For the price this is a good hotel. The food isn't the best but not the worst. But it is close to the best Italian Restaurant maybe in Asia. The store across the street sells wine and liquor at bargain prices. 1 liter decent imported scotch for $9. French wines starting at $5. It's charm to me is that it isn't on the waterfront with all the thousands of tourists, hawkers and bar culture. But if you want elegance look elsewhere. If you want to sleep cheap, with air con and clean sheets in a decent enough room and get a free breakfast then this is my top choice in Phnom Penh and I have stayed at a lot of places in the under $30 price range.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelBade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Not the best place to stay in PP but needs updating. Rooms shabby and poor restaurant. No bananas for breakfast!! Quite a hop from the river and restaurants etc.
Part of the Explore itinerary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poncinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed as part of an Explore trip.A bit away froom the waterfront but a short TukTuk ride to get there. Good size beds, friendly staff, clean rooms, no noise. Breakfast adequate. Acceptable but not the best we stayed in on our tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Active_Traveller014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kravan Hotel
Kravan Hotel
#121 of 267 in Phnom Penh
12 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shaly Boutique Hotel
Shaly Boutique Hotel
#83 of 267 in Phnom Penh
23 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
Mowin Boutique Hotel & Residence
#92 of 267 in Phnom Penh
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rain Rock Hotel
Rain Rock Hotel
#125 of 267 in Phnom Penh
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#93 of 267 in Phnom Penh
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#166 of 267 in Phnom Penh
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh

Property: Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh
Address: Street 228 | No. 302, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia (Formerly Princess Hotel Phnom Penh)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Hotel has 71 Rooms, tastefully furnished with Khmer style design and parquet flooring in all rooms and windows with a choice of city view. We offer two kinds of rooms adapted to your needs and budget. ROOM FEATURES Mini-bar & Refrigerator Cable TV with 65 channels Air-conditioning Bathroom with luxury Bathtub Telephone Extension in the Room Personal Electronic Safe Electricity AC 220 volts ROOM SIZE Supperior size is 31 square meters Deluxe size is 31 square meters Premier size is 48 square meters ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Azumaya Hotel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing