We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #9 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Pavilion for 2 nights and the experience was fabulous. Booked the garden bungalow which was perfect for two. The rooms are very well planned and includes all the required amenities including a desktop and wifi. Pavilion has a great locational advantage. It is right in the middle of the city. You can walk to the Royal Palace, Mekong river, Independence monument. You can hire a tuk tuk from outside the hotel as well.

Within the hotel, there are beautiful lounge seats around the pool shaded by palms. In spite of being in the city centre, the noise does not reach the hotel. Pavilion has a spa attached and the massages are a delight. We took two consecutive long haul flights to get to Phnom Penh and the jet lag revival massage was just great.

Grace, the manager is extremely helpful. She booked our tickets to Siem Reap and ensured our stay was very comfortable.

The food at the poolside bar is excellent. We are both vegetarians and did not have any problems at all. There are many restaurants within a 2 km radius around the hotel as well.

From the airport, you can hire a tuk tuk to Pavilion for $8. Everybody knows this place. The Pavilion's website also has directions to the hotel in Khmer - keep a print of this just in case. They hotel has a list of all places to visit and how much to pay for the tuk tuk. This is very helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhinaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    587
    103
    39
    17
See reviews for
206
1,313
193
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed two nights at the Pavillon and had the most beautiful time. For me it was a dream place. Staff was extemely friendly and professional. The hotel facilities and the rooms ally modernity, simplicty and comfort at the same time. The perfect match! The location of the Pavillon is in one of the nicest neighbourhood of Phnom Penh : in town and at a walkable distance to everything yet in a quiet street. Breafkast was also perfect : fruit, yogurt, bread and croissant, eggs and other upon request. What else would you expect? Of my 10 days in Cambodia this was no doubt one of the most exquisite experiences. Not to be missed by anyone! Trust me.

Room Tip: Ask for the the rooms in the main buildings rather than in the small pavillons spread out through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coutsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked the Pavilion for a two night stay in June after reading trip advisor reviews and were not disapointed. We had a lovely room on the ground floor of the old historic building which was very comfortable and quiet.The pool and gardens are beautiful and and a welcome retreat from the heat and the busy city. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant and made our stay even more enjoyable. I would definately recommend the Pavilion and would love to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Pavilion Hotel for a few nights in June and cannot say enough about this hotel.. As you walk in from a long bus ride from Siem Reap you are greeted by a virtual oasis situated in the heart of the city. Beautiful pool, bar area with day beds conveniently placed around the pool shaded by the palms.. The staff are wonderful, always smiling and happy to help with good advice.. I have and will continue to recommend the Pavilion to any and all planning on staying in Phnom Penh.. Can't wait to get back.....

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We had rooms 8 and10 in the historic building at the Pavilion. Room 8 had two twins for our two teenaged kids. Very spacious and nice. My husband and I stayed in room 10 overlooking the central courtyard and pool. The room was on the small side with a comfortable queen bed. I actually like the firm beds in Cambodia. Our room had a shared balcony overlooking the pool. Lovely fruit plates greater us upon arrival. The staff are very kind and helpful. The high level of service everywhere in Cambodia is much appreciated.

The only negative is that this hotel is some distance from restaurants. You can't just stroll over to a nice restaurant area. We found the room service food at the hotel a little underwhelming. Breakfast was pretty good though.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank liumobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Many thanks for this kind review. As for the location, we are 80m from Street 240, considered as one of the main shopping and dining streets of Phnom Penh. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This place was worth the stay.

The pool, the rooms, the restaurant were all pleasantly arranged.

The staff were also extremely pleasant.

Well done

We loved our stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmist67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private pool room. It was the first place we stayed in Phnom Penh and seemed really good value with 3 nights, a massage, a meal, all breakfasts and some mini bar items costing about 350 US.

Really enjoyed the private pool after a day walking the sometimes chaotic streets of Cambodia. Also enjoyed the character of the old French styled building. Unfortunately the bar was under construction which made it a tad noisy in the public pool, but wasn't too much of an inconvenience.

This could easily be rated excellent with a few small changes. The pillows and bed are both very hard...bed doesn't worry me but the pillow was uncomfortable. The staff weren't overly helpful with information about phnom penh and things to do. They have a tuk tuk price guide out the front with inflated prices eg. 15 US to the killing fields, when it should be closer to 10. Just walk down to 240 and get one there.

Otherwise, the breakfast was OK, the rooms and pools very clean and the location a 5 min walk from bars and restaurants on street 240 and 10 min from the palace. We walked as far as the FCC without any problem. Good value for money.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DestinationLangkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 275 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 275 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#20 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing