We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel at the Right Price”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel at the Right Price”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

For the price you pay, this hotel is really special. The rooms are lovely, nicely decorated, and clean. The staff are friendly, and all speak English well. They will also book a variety of tours for you (sunset cruise, cooking class, etc.) at no extra cost. The pool is lovely and surrounded with plants. The location is central, but most of the rooms are set back a bit so nice and quiet. We were pleasantly surprised by how perfect this hotel was---a true find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerin30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,686
    630
    117
    41
    19
See reviews for
232
1,416
208
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Was absolutely blown away by the Pavilion. As soon as you step inside the gate you are surrounded by lush garden and a beautiful pool, it just gets better from there..
The staff were so welcoming and friendly, the room was fantastic, breakfast by the pool was superb. Not to mention a complimentary massage.... I never wanted to leave!!! Can't wait to go back to Cambodia and stay at The Pavilion again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleeGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Every time we walk through the front gate at the Pavilion we feel like we're arriving home. It's a peaceful haven after a day out in the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff are amazing - very friendly and helpful, ready to serve or assist in any way. The rooms are delightful; spacious, cool and comfortable. The pool and gardens are so inviting after a busy day shopping or travelling around in a tuk tuk. We highly recommend The Pavilion!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosabella58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

What a find. You feel completely pampered from the time you walk through the gate into this beautiful oasis. The rooms are attractive with flower petals spread on the bedspread and a plate of delicious fruit to welcome you. It's all so romantic. If that isn't enough, the breakfast is quite tasty, the pool is lovely, and you receive a complimentary half hour massage. You can easily walk to the nearby palace which is well worth doing. Check on palace times. They close for an hour or so mid day. If you don't mind a bit more walking, the river area is not that far either. There are plenty of tuk tuks, and the hotel has posted normal prices for a variety of locations, so you don't have to haggle with the drivers. The staff is most helpful and appear to really enjoy their jobs. They can arrange anything. We stayed a night, left our bigger pieces of luggage, took a bus to Siem Reap (6 hours) spent two nights there, and returned to the Pavillion for another night. A desk clerk recommended the bus service that was only about a month old in June 2012, and the bus was very comfortable with great air conditioning.I assure you that you will be quite happy with your Pavillion accomodations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rock37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Book this hotel you will be so please that you did when you get there.

Excelente hotel with beautiful garden and swimming pool when you are inside feels like you are in paradise. The staff are amaizing they take care of everything and they try to please and make your stay one to remember.

The rooms are good with your own computer, aircon and a nice shower. The mattress is hard and firm that is the only down side for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davodiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for this kind review! As for the mattress, we have two levels of softness that are to be chosen from at the time of booking (see the booking form on our website). Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Pavillion was a thoroughly lovely experience. Getting picked up in the Jag was great after a long flight. The double room was terrific and even the flowers and champagne on ice was special.The gardens and pool were inviting and you feel like princesses in the 4 poster "bed" at the end of the pool. Brekkie was great - just ask for more of anything you want - no need to go hungry at the Pavillion. The best part was the staff, all genuinely friendly and extremely helpful. Just ask and you receive. Organised a taxi for us to go to Siem Reap with no fuss. Escorted us out to Tuk Tuks to make sure we hit the right destination and everyone at reception, the resturant and in the gardens were potlite and calm. Spa experience was truly a luxury and just felt "good".Nice touches like the herbal tea at the end in the garden.Treat yourselves.Just a truly lovely place to stay. Shopping, park and heaps of "food" nearby. Don't miss the bakery around the corner and Mekong quilts - good cause and they pack up your buys really small. Good spot and a bit of an oasis in P.P.

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms overlooking the pool. We were in Room 6 with our own balcony and upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel has everything that we wanted: location, elegance, friendly staff, no pretensions, great facilities and maintenance, plus value. Recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,639 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#8 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 270 in Phnom Penh
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 270 in Phnom Penh
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing