We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience in excess” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #10 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambience in excess”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Pavillion is a lovely hotel that exudes warmth and ambience. We stayed there twice on our recent trip to Cambodia. The first between April 6-11, 2014, we had a beautiful room (7) which was in the old colonial building and overlooked the pool. We extended our stay and had to move to a standard room (23), in the new wing, which was cheaper and darker but was modern and still comfortable.
We went to Siem Reap for a week and returned to the Pavillion for our last two nights and had booked a pool room as a bit of indulgence. At $100 it was one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel. However, it was a disappointment. The room was small, in a poor state of repair (bathroom window latch was broken, gaps round the windows and doors) and the finishing was tired and needed renovating. The pool didn't look clean and we didn't use it, prefering to use the main pool.
As the hotel was fully booked, we were not able to change rooms that night, and the only other room available the next night was a twin. However, Michelle, on the front desk, showed exemplary service and found a sister hotel nearby. We were given a complimentary tuk-tuk ride to view the room. We decided to stay at the Pavillion, however, as the hotel is quality and the staff fantastic. Michelle offered us the pool room at the standard room rate ($60) and complimentary one hour massages. She acknowledged and noted our concerns with the room.
The Pavillion is a gem with genuine staff. The couple of things to get it up to Excellent would be to offer the pool rooms at a lower rate until they could be renovated to the standard of the rest of the hotel. At the restaurant, while breakfast was excellent, the llunch/dinner menu choice was limited and the quality was mediocre at times. We would definitely return though.

Room Tip: Don't choose a pool room! Tired, small and not good value for money. Room 7 (deluxe pool view) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardikleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest, I am very sorry you did not like the private pool rooms, which are our best rooms. We are indeed in the process of maintaining them and correcting some of the details. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,574
    597
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
207
1,330
195
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic as it is walking distance to most of the shopping and Royal Palace and Museum.

The rooms are clean, well maintained, spacious and have everything you would need.

The staff speak really good English and taking care of any request from the guests is never a problem for them.

The breakfast is decent and they have a menu that you can chose from. Really enjoyed the food.

Pool is very relaxing with drinks available at the bar. Just perfect after a few hours of walking around in the hot and humid climate.

The staff at the reception were very helpful in organizing our transportation to the next cities that we were going to.

To sum up, our stay was fantastic. Thank you to all the lovely staff and hotel management. Will surely come back and will recommend it all our friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rush911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
279 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We flew a domestic flight into Phnom Penh. We used the hotel car service to pick us up at the airport. The person was there holding a sign with our names when we arrived. The hotel is in a the heart of the city, but when you first walk on to the hotel grounds you feel like you are at a resort no where near a city. The grounds are very tropical with a pool in the middle of it. We got a room with a private pool. The room was clean, spacious and to have the outdoors with a pool and lounge chairs made it special. It was very private and romantic. The staff was friendly and helpful. They served a delicious breakfast. We had drinks and a dinner at their restaurant, which was also good. The day we checked out of the hotel we had a midnight flight, so the hotel stored our luggage for 9 hours while we went to the Killings Fields. The hotel is centrally located to the palace, the river, restaurants and shops. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Coming through the gate into the garden is definitely a step out of the grime, noise and chaos of the city.
The main building is a throw back to the colonial days and our room had a balcony overlooking the pool area.
Room was great in that it had an anti room where we could leave all our kit and use as a dressing room. Colonial style huge fans on balcony and in both rooms kept us cool. Nice bed and good linen.
Pool was great although being under trees suff.ered a little from debris dropping in to it. The seating areas (except the one at the far end of the pool) suffered a little from the trees around and were a bit dark and over shaded. Pool bar and food server very nice for relaxing after the days excursions.
Breakfast was excellent, good choices and more than enough to eat. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Massage was "torture" but very beneficial. Don't go there if you think it is a soft hands oiled smooth over - very physical Khymer style!!
Overall a lovely place to be in the middle of the city - would come here again

Room Tip: Lovely to have a balcony overlooking the pool and the extra space from the anti room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely establishment in PP. Stayed in a jacuzzi bungalow and it's worth every cent. Wished i had booked earlier to secure a pool bungalow. Book early to avoid disappointment.

Michelle and her team at the front desk are a gem. Michelle epitomizes excellent customer service - from helping us navigate around the city to making sure we had our bucket of ice delivered to our room promptly. The rest of the staff at the front desk were very helpful in helping us check restaurant reservations and booking of the sunset cruise. 6* customer service. Great job!

Breakfast was great though the selection was small. The service staff in the breakfast place by the pool were attentive.

My only grouse is I had to catch an early flight and couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portstewart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Everyone says The Pavilion is a quiet oasis and that it most definitely is. Quaint is how my husband described it, i found it really calming. The emailing confirmations were dealt with professionally and check in (and out) were incredibly smooth. The pool area was gorgeous and there was an abundance of towels. The complimentary massage was amazing - a dry massage, which for me (who normally hates massages) was fantastic. Highly recommend! My only gripe (and it is small) was our room was in full view of anyone walking to their room, meaning we had to keep the blinds down for any privacy, also i had to practically lie on my husband to see the TV as the bed post blocked the view. Minor issues. Breakfast was great and plentiful, you really didn't need to order the numerous egg etc. choices but they were a nice size so you didn't feel uncomfortable if you did. Lunch too was good and reasonably priced. Bamboo bike to borrow was a nice touch too. And a great location. All in all would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nuzzonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Nice, charming hotel, an oasis of calm in the middle of the hectic city. Nice breakfast, friendly staff & charming colonial villa & centrally located & yet quiet. The floor is abit old but overall the experience is . However the minus point is they don't accept family with small children.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#2 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#1 of 274 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#8 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing