We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, outstanding service”
Review of The Pavilion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pavilion
Ranked #9 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
SW London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, outstanding service”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent three nights here and the service was excellent, rooms were lovely, setting was perfect, as others have said it is like an oasis. I specially recommend Michelle who sorted out one or two issues for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    615
    112
    40
    19
See reviews for
217
1,370
203
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Located on a quiet side street but just around the corner from the palace and national museum, this place is simply fantastic! The real plus was coming back sweaty and hot after a day out and having a swim and then relax by the pool. It was never crowded and often we had it to ourselves. Breakfasts were delicious (so much food!) and the ambience was great.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Isto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The bes boutique hotel i have been in South East Asia just wonderful place in the center of the capital of Cambodia PhnomPenh! The beautiful colonial house with every detail that just carry you away for the moment of staying in the hotel! But the most beautiful place is by the wonderful swimming pool where you can relax any time of the day! And the kindness of the staff is priceless! I can't wait to come back one day!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the pavilion, so glad we picked this hotel. The rooms had such character with the wide floor boards & french windows that opened onto a balcony.
The pool was such an oasis from the pp heat & city pace that we didn't want to leave.
The staff were attentive & friendy. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TevenGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have to admit that Cambodia, much less Phnom Penh, was not at the top of my list for travel destinations, but I got to go and in many ways that trip changed what I am looking for in all my future vacations with its great mix of hospitality, culture, food and great value.

We arrived in Phnom Penh late and the drive to our hotel, the Pavilion, was not very informative because the city was largely asleep. We found the hotel charming with a distinct French colonial style, but not over done. Our room was clean, nicely appointed, and very comfortable. On our private patio was a small soaking pool that was a wonderful bonus particularly on hot afternoons when returning to the hotel.

Morning revealed lovely grounds, a beautiful full-sized pool and a very hospital staff. Not really knowing what to expect outside the big wooden gate we were delighted to find a vibrant, bustling city. Directly across the street is a Buddhist monastery, with a constant flow of orange clad monks coming and going. Around the corner is Street 240 with a number of boutiques and The Shop, a French influenced coffee shop full of French expats and fantastic coffee.

The hotel is very well located for walking, and $2 USD will get you a tuk tuk ride pretty much anywhere you'd like to go from The Russian Market, where the locals shop, the river front with shops, restaurants and the National Museum to the infamous Khmer Rouge prison, S21.

The Pavilion was a very comfortable base to operate out of and the staff was very helpful. The managers spoke English and good-naturedly tolerated our tendency to butcher Khmer.

Room Tip: Request a room with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A charming, hidden oasis and perfect place to relax at the end of a long trip AND before launching 30+ hours of travel to home. We had a mix-up with the room we reserved, but the hotel team caught it and communicated in advance of our arrival and was generous in compensating for the error. At the end of the day, its really how you approach and solve a problem and they were super. Swimming and pool drinks in a superb setting was an awesome respite from the oppressive heat. It looked particularly pretty at night with the lights on. They could consider some upgrades to the pool chaises but its not a showstopper. There is a nice little boutique next door where we found lovely clothing and gifts. Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant and kitchen is small but turns out lovely dishes and drinks. We actually booked an extra day in the least expensive category room and found it to be as pleasant (just smaller) than our original suite. Thank you Pavillion!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bieneDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I am usually a budget traveller but decided to splurge on the Garden Bungalow whilst in Phnom Penh. The bungalow was absolutely beautiful, I was very happy to be there for two nights! The staff were always polite, the amenities were lovely, and it was nice to escape the chaos of PP behind the hotel's walls every now and then. My free massage was so good I paid for another the next day. My only slight negatives are that I found the food pretty average (still good but not the best I have had in Cambodia and more expensive) and not being able to order an early breakfast before my 7:15am bus pickup was a bit disappointing. Otherwise a great place to stay, would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I really did love the garden bungalow but did not see any of the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NephOzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thepavilion, Owner at The Pavilion, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. Gisela, the Chef of the Tepui at Chinese House restaurant is currently training and supervising the kitchen, so I am sure the performance will improve! As for the breakfast, we indeed start serving at 6:30 but we have a take-away formula that can be prepared in the evening for the very early birds. Cheers, Alexis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
The Plantation Urban Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
iRoHa Garden Hotel & Resort
#1 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Mansion
White Mansion
#6 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Rose Suites
La Rose Suites
#2 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pavilion

Property: The Pavilion
Address: 227, Street 19 | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12200, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#6 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#7 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It all started when we fell in love with a hidden gem of French-Khmer architecture from the 1920s near Wat Botum, one of the most venerable and original pagodas in Phnom Penh. Renovation and remodeling were led with due respect for the character of a building which had been, as we learnt it later on, a private retreat for Queen Consort Sisowath Kossamak, the late King Sihanouk's mother. Opened on August, 18, 2006 with 10 rooms, The Pavilion has slowly expanded over the years, offering now 36 accommodations throughout three more period buildings that have been added to the property: "The New House", former residence of the chief veterinarian at the Royal Palace; "The New Villa", formerly the private residence of a Cambodian senator, and "The Sun-Pool Villa", our latest addition which used to be lodgings for diplomats based in Phnom Penh. Each one has its own style and atmosphere, with distinctive architectural features such as an elaborate wooden stairway, intricate iron wrought railings, etc… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Hotel Phnom Penh
Pavilion Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing