We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Veranda to Die For” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #25 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Veranda to Die For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

So, I'm a person that loves meeting local people and enjoying the local life. The Anise Hotel is the perfect space for that. The staff is amazing and it feels like home. The hotel is surrounded on the main floor by a veranda that serves as restaurant, happy hour spot, and much more. I've met good friends here and I've gotten to know Phnom Penh even better because of the incredible helpful staff. A wonderful place to feel like a local but have the comforts of home. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so that can be a problem for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    159
    34
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
141
79
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have enjoyed my stay at the Anise (May 2014), good hotel, nice staff and good restaurant. The suite was nice, spatious and functional, although the bathroom was somewhat dated and the balcony door did not shut properly (room 203). The restaurant was quite good but dessert was a little dry. Location of the hotel is a little far from main attractions in Phnom Penh. Laundry was included in bed and breakfast package. No elevators to the floors. À-la-carte breakfast menu was nice, with great home-made juices. Tough beds and pillows. Overall, good value for a quick stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: My balcony opened to the backyard alley which was not very inviting. You may wish to verify your vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear V C,

On behalf of the Anise Hotel management and staff, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. While regular maintenance check is performed on a daily basis, there is unfortunately sometimes something that goes unnoticed by our staff until our guests bring it to our attention. So your comments are very valuable. The door to the balcony that was a bit difficult to close has now been fixed. Recipes for the desserts have also been reviewed with our chief to ensure that the quality of our food remains consistent.

Some visitors consider the area on and around the riverside to be the main attraction in Phnom Penh. But they also have to contend with constant noise, touts and many seedy hostess bars on the side streets leading to the riverfront. If that is what guests wish to experience, that would be the place to be, indeed. The Anise Hotel is located near the Independence Monument, which after the riverfront, would be considered one of the central locations in Phnom Penh. Around and within a walking distance from the hotel, guests will find a plethora of restaurants, bars, spas, boutique hotels, stores, shopping centers, a living area for expatriates and locals that is a better and more authentic reflection of the city itself.

Likewise, coming from North America, our streets might look like alleys to you, but they are streets (street 278 and 57) brimming with real city life, which is what all of the guests staying at the Anise Hotel enjoy--the experience of a real Asian city life, but without the unwanted touts and seediness that come along with some aspects of tourism in Asia.

Once again, we thank you for your candid review of our hotel and we hope to be able to host you again upon your next trip to Phnom Penh.

All the best,
The Anise Hotel management and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

we only stayed 1 night before heading off to the Mekong, but enjoyed sipping drinks and also having a relaxed breakfast on the terrace while watching the world go by. The staff were very helpful with our ongoing travel arrangements. The room was smaller and older than other hotels we stayed in but also cheaper, clean, quiet and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've just returned home to the Anise Hotel, following a five day break away from Phnom Penh. For me, the best part of leaving Phnom Penh is always coming home - home to the Anise family. The caring and warmth of the highly professional hotel and restaurant staff (still led by the wonderful Sokheng) continues to impress me, every day.

The Anise Hotel gives its long stay guests not only a wonderful 'home away from home', but a beautiful home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Staff went beyond the norm, very accommodating and helpful. The room was clean and cool with WiFi. The Terrace is lovely and makes you feel like an expatriate in the 60's while you sip your whiskey sour.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank camille223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything was great. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food is good and the rooms are big and comfortable. They helped us book multiple excursions and they all went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgmartin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

i stayed at the Anise hotel for 4 nights in april 2014. the staff are friendly and the room was fairly large with a balcony. It is in a good location and you won't have to pay to much for a tuk tuk to get around phnom pehn.
There is no elevator in hotel so if you can't do stairs this place is not for you.I had a good stay and i felt comfortable and would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adzy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#20 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#44 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#21 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 275 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12302, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#12 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#16 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing