We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stars for Anise Hotel”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #28 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a short stint from May 27-29, 2014.

This was my first time in Cambodia, so my family and I were ecstatic that the hotel was wonderful. I had initially booked 2 standard rooms, one with an extra bed. The hotel was nice enough to upgrade one of the rooms for me. The rooms were comfortable with everything we needed: working a/c, running water for showering in our own bathroom. No elevators in the hotel so if you have a bad relationship with stairs, I'd request a room on the lower floors.

We loved the attached restaurant. The breakfasts were great and the 1 time we had dinner there was wonderful. We would sit outside for drinks and it was so serene, even though the patio is next to the street. There's a buffer of foliage and plants that make all the difference. The decor throughout the hotel was beautiful.

A huge perk was the complimentary laundry. When you're exploring in the heat and humidity, I find your clothes start to smell ripe real quick. It was a quick turn around for clothes as well: if you have your laundry out and picked up before 8am, it will come back same day. Loved the tropical scent it came back with. That lovely fragrance stood the test of time (and humidity) for a week if you didn't wear the clothes.

The staff was very helpful and attentive. They were very quick at replying to my emails for any questions and requests that I had. They were able to organize some drivers for me on short notice. The drivers they chose were wonderful and we used them for the rest of our short stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The location was great – not too busy and lots of stuff a short walk away. Lots of restaurants and shops speckled in every direction.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Anise Hotel is beautiful. Sitting out on the terrace for breakfast every morning or for a drink in the evening is a pleasure. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful - they make the hotel! Great location, free laundry, good food and clean, comfy rooms. Win!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I had a great time staying at Anise - the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely on the verandah. The location was convenient with plenty of restaurants nearby and an ATM on the same street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

So, I'm a person that loves meeting local people and enjoying the local life. The Anise Hotel is the perfect space for that. The staff is amazing and it feels like home. The hotel is surrounded on the main floor by a veranda that serves as restaurant, happy hour spot, and much more. I've met good friends here and I've gotten to know Phnom Penh even better because of the incredible helpful staff. A wonderful place to feel like a local but have the comforts of home. I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so that can be a problem for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have enjoyed my stay at the Anise (May 2014), good hotel, nice staff and good restaurant. The suite was nice, spatious and functional, although the bathroom was somewhat dated and the balcony door did not shut properly (room 203). The restaurant was quite good but dessert was a little dry. Location of the hotel is a little far from main attractions in Phnom Penh. Laundry was included in bed and breakfast package. No elevators to the floors. À-la-carte breakfast menu was nice, with great home-made juices. Tough beds and pillows. Overall, good value for a quick stay in Phnom Penh.

Room Tip: My balcony opened to the backyard alley which was not very inviting. You may wish to verify your vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AniseHotel, Owner at Anise Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear V C,

On behalf of the Anise Hotel management and staff, we wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. While regular maintenance check is performed on a daily basis, there is unfortunately sometimes something that goes unnoticed by our staff until our guests bring it to our attention. So your comments are very valuable. The door to the balcony that was a bit difficult to close has now been fixed. Recipes for the desserts have also been reviewed with our chief to ensure that the quality of our food remains consistent.

Some visitors consider the area on and around the riverside to be the main attraction in Phnom Penh. But they also have to contend with constant noise, touts and many seedy hostess bars on the side streets leading to the riverfront. If that is what guests wish to experience, that would be the place to be, indeed. The Anise Hotel is located near the Independence Monument, which after the riverfront, would be considered one of the central locations in Phnom Penh. Around and within a walking distance from the hotel, guests will find a plethora of restaurants, bars, spas, boutique hotels, stores, shopping centers, a living area for expatriates and locals that is a better and more authentic reflection of the city itself.

Likewise, coming from North America, our streets might look like alleys to you, but they are streets (street 278 and 57) brimming with real city life, which is what all of the guests staying at the Anise Hotel enjoy--the experience of a real Asian city life, but without the unwanted touts and seediness that come along with some aspects of tourism in Asia.

Once again, we thank you for your candid review of our hotel and we hope to be able to host you again upon your next trip to Phnom Penh.

All the best,
The Anise Hotel management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we only stayed 1 night before heading off to the Mekong, but enjoyed sipping drinks and also having a relaxed breakfast on the terrace while watching the world go by. The staff were very helpful with our ongoing travel arrangements. The room was smaller and older than other hotels we stayed in but also cheaper, clean, quiet and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've just returned home to the Anise Hotel, following a five day break away from Phnom Penh. For me, the best part of leaving Phnom Penh is always coming home - home to the Anise family. The caring and warmth of the highly professional hotel and restaurant staff (still led by the wonderful Sokheng) continues to impress me, every day.

The Anise Hotel gives its long stay guests not only a wonderful 'home away from home', but a beautiful home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.2 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#21 of 274 in Phnom Penh
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandan Boutique Hotel
Pandan Boutique Hotel
#48 of 274 in Phnom Penh
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#24 of 274 in Phnom Penh
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Address: 57 2c Street 278 off | Beoung Keng Kang I, Chamkamorn, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#14 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#19 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £26 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very popular boutique hotel centrally located steps away from the Independence Monument, restaurants, bars, and major shopping strips. Anise Hotel has become a hub for independent travelers, NGO consultants and business visitors who affectionately call it “their home in Phnom Penh.” High standard of comfort and cleanliness with a caring and efficient staff. Lovely terrace restaurant on site. Breakfast, laundry and hi-speed internet included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing