We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unreliable”
Review of Paragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paragon Hotel
Ranked #153 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
“unreliable”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We made a booking for a balcony room for 3 people by phone 2 days before our arrival. On our arrival we were informed they had no booking for us then tried to sell us two rooms with no windows in the upper floors (no lift). They were clean but dark and dingy (so is the stairwell). Also saw a very young women visiting a middle aged westerner (draw your own conclusion about their cliental). Fortunately i was able to find a much bigger, brighter room down the road at the Indochine for $13 less.

Basically, unreliable and unhelpful despite their poor service and just a bit seedy.

David

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saai02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    77
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
10
46
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago and were very disappointed in it. The room wasn't clean, we had cockroaches in our bed, the door had big gaps in it letting in mosquitoes at night. Also there were some unsavory looking people hanging around the hotel. We found a very nice hotel around the corner for less money that included a good breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel, as there are so many better values in PP.

Room Tip: Try the Indocine 2 in PP, We have stayed there twice and its a great hotel. The staff is very frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makinmemories1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The room were clean and fine. The service was OK. They helped me on several aspects. They gave me indications and they were highly flexible on many things. I spent a good time with them. I would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita_en_Mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheorwon-gun, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have stayed at The Paragon several times in the last six years. It is situated in the best place on PP's waterfont, the waterfront in front of the hotel has been completely remodelled, it is now a showplace. I always ask for a riverfront room, . I like the two person bathtub! and especially like the ones with private balcony. Staff are friendly, the place is safe and clean, you can't beat it!
-Professor Paul Nugent

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront, costs more bu the view is vry interesting, still a steal for mid 30's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PAULNUGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Two young females travelling alone we were looking for safe, affordable, comfortable accommodation. The paragon hotel offered this and more. The staff were very friendly and always happy to answer your questions as best as possible. We stayed in room 104 which had 2 double beds, tv, aircon, fridge, bathroom with bath/shower and balcony overlooking the busy street of Sisowath Quay. The rooms were cleaned everyday. We Organised a tuk tuk rider through the manager and found his friendly character wonderful which made our tour around Phnom Penh easy. We also booked a bus to Siem Reap through the hotel. Would defiantly stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ez2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I went to Sisowath quay and looked for a room from one hotel to another on the riverfront area when Phnom Penh hotels were fully booked for a regional summit and I found that this was the right choice. I looked for a room with the perfect river view, no trees, no buildings or no billboards blocking the view from the private balcony of the room and I had just that in this hotel. Value for money, staff is polite and helpful. the room is ok but the bathroom is clean, the one we had looks newly renovated, and I would suggest the hotel management to change the color of the curtain and the lighting in the room to give it a more polished look. It shows serious efforts to provide improved service and facility. It is a simple, clean and affordable place to rest your head after a long walk around the city. We bought ice cream in a nearby gelateria and thought of going upstairs to relax but then we remembered that we had our own balcony to relax so we just returned to the hotel and enjoyed our ice cream while people-and-river-watching from the privacy of our balcony.

Room Tip: Get room 304 for a private balcony and good view to the quay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraLeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have stayed at the Paragon Hotel the past four times I've been in Phnom Penh. It's a great location right on the river just a short walk from the palace. There are many restaurants and shops in the area and the river walk is a great place for an early morning run. It's a simple, clean, well-run hotel and the staff is very helpful and accommodating. Right next door, on the corner, is a nice little restaurant where I love to sit and have breakfast and watch the city wake up. Rooms have air conditioning and there is a lift. The rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: They have many inexpensive 'inside' rooms without windows but I find them too dark for my ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#141 of 267 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#72 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#132 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#66 of 267 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lance Court Hotel
Lance Court Hotel
#215 of 267 in Phnom Penh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Property: Paragon Hotel
Address: 219B, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing