We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....a bearable place to stay!”
Review of Paragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paragon Hotel
Ranked #153 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Antwerp
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“....a bearable place to stay!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After we found out that the two other hotels where we wanted to stay were fully booked, we asked the tuk-tuk driver to take us somewhere in the neighbourhood and we finished up in the Paragon Hotel.

When we arrived to the hotel we said we dont know how long we wanted to stay and the receptionist only wanted to see one passport, they didnt even want a deposit for the key, nothing. (At the end we stayed for 3 nights).
During the night shift there were always two guys at the reception who were really nice and friendly, but the stuff working during the day was a complete opposite, especially one Chinese-looking guy who was always forcing us to use overpriced tuk-tuk services of his friend etc.

The reception has safety boxes where it was possible to leave valuables for free and one gets a key. We could leave there our passports etc. there even after checking out from the hotel, it was not a problem.
In the reception area there was an ATM too and they are selling cold drinks too.

We paid 23 dollars per a double room on the 3rd floor with a view to backyard, but we were always out until late night, so this didnt really bother us. They had also cheaper rooms available and more expensive ones with the view for the river.

Our room was equipped with a small fridge, AC and a small low-quality TV with very few channels in English (but we didnt come to Cambodia to watch TV, so this also didnt bother us at all).
I think the room was clean, the sheets and towels were fine as well. Actually the bathroom was surprisingly clean, quite big and with hot water. We received the traditional tooth-brushes, soap and hair shampoo.

But it is true that the hotel elevator was out of order and not working (already that time I was wondering if it has EVER been working), but one of the guys from the reception helped out with the luggage. Beware the stairs because not all of them have the same height!! :))

Room Tip: Unless you want to spend lot of time inside the hotel room, this place was bearable and OK to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrena937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    77
    44
    16
    11
See reviews for
10
46
44
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LPC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We transferred to this hotel since the previous one we were staying at did not have any available rooms for the rest of our stay. We had heavy luggage so we opted to book at Paragon, since they have an elevator. When we approached the receptionist, he didn’t even smile at us, he just said: “Yes?”

When we asked to see the room, he obliged. When they were asking us to take the stairs, I asked, “Why not take the elevator?” He said that it was just being repaired for the day and that the room that they will show us is just at the 1st floor. So as soon as we saw the room and agreed to book a 2-night stay with them, the receptionist asked for a 10-dollar deposit and in return I was given a reservation slip.

When we arrived with our luggage the next day, again, we were received with a cold stare. But we didn’t focus on that at that time since we were more concerned about the accommodation. Because of the reviews, we requested for a room at the top floor to avoid the street noise. We were given just that – only to find out that the elevator will not be working for our entire stay! But since we already made a deposit, and for the lack of options during that time (as we had a full day ahead of us), we decided to take the room. Good thing someone helped us with our bags.

I find the room’s décor to be tacky – red curtains + orange mattress topper with floral prints. But I guess one wouldn’t be too concerned about that if you’re just there to rest.

The Bathroom / Toilet were in the same area, no curtains to divide the toilet from the shower area. It didn’t look clean at all – though it was just scrubbed by the cleaning lady.

They don’t give rolls of tissue paper, as they have a huge tissue dispenser inside the bathroom.

They have toothbrush / toothpaste + 2 small soap bars + 2 shampoo sachets. Not replenished daily though.

They have a pot for hot water, no complimentary coffee / tea sachets though.

Towels were worn out and did not smell fresh. You know that smell you get when you wash your clothes and you don’t let them dry under the sun / in an airy area? That’s how it smelled like.

It was torture for the first night. We heard our neighbour arrive at 3am. We heard him flush the toilet, open the TV and close his closet door. Apart from the paper thin walls separating the rooms, the noise from the street, even if we were already on the highest floor, woke us in the middle of the night. I don’t like rooms without windows, that’s why we got this room (and this is the only room that was offered to us by the receptionist). But I would definitely go back to a room without a window rather than be awoken by the sound of constant beeping at 5am. Not to mention the effect of the red curtain as soon as the sunlight hits the curtains directly. And the curtain was right above our heads!

So we moved to another room on the same floor the next day. Good thing I wandered around the floor, as it seemed that the receptionist was not willing to transfer us to another room. Had I not pointed out that I saw that another room has been vacated and is currently being made up, I don’t think he’ll be willing to let us transfer. Was able to transfer to room 309 and it was a lot better than the first one. Cheaper by 5 dollars too (river side room was priced at $28, room at the back with window was priced at $23).

When we were already on our way out after the transfer, he did not even say “good morning” or “hello”. He just said, with a stern voice: “Did you transfer to the other room already?”

In both rooms, the aircon and ref worked well. TV had a few English channels. Water bottles are not replenished daily. Good thing that the Wifi connection here works no matter where you are in the building.

It was also a good thing that they helped us book our bus ticket to Siem Reap. Remember: when you make bus reservations in Phnom Penh / Siem Reap via your hotel, you will be asked you to pay upfront. Make sure that you get a receipt before you leave the reception / counter.

If ever I'll be coming back, this will be my last option.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYLAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We made a booking for a balcony room for 3 people by phone 2 days before our arrival. On our arrival we were informed they had no booking for us then tried to sell us two rooms with no windows in the upper floors (no lift). They were clean but dark and dingy (so is the stairwell). Also saw a very young women visiting a middle aged westerner (draw your own conclusion about their cliental). Fortunately i was able to find a much bigger, brighter room down the road at the Indochine for $13 less.

Basically, unreliable and unhelpful despite their poor service and just a bit seedy.

David

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saai02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago and were very disappointed in it. The room wasn't clean, we had cockroaches in our bed, the door had big gaps in it letting in mosquitoes at night. Also there were some unsavory looking people hanging around the hotel. We found a very nice hotel around the corner for less money that included a good breakfast. I would not recommend this hotel, as there are so many better values in PP.

Room Tip: Try the Indocine 2 in PP, We have stayed there twice and its a great hotel. The staff is very frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makinmemories1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The room were clean and fine. The service was OK. They helped me on several aspects. They gave me indications and they were highly flexible on many things. I spent a good time with them. I would go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita_en_Mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheorwon-gun, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have stayed at The Paragon several times in the last six years. It is situated in the best place on PP's waterfont, the waterfront in front of the hotel has been completely remodelled, it is now a showplace. I always ask for a riverfront room, . I like the two person bathtub! and especially like the ones with private balcony. Staff are friendly, the place is safe and clean, you can't beat it!
-Professor Paul Nugent

Room Tip: Ask for riverfront, costs more bu the view is vry interesting, still a steal for mid 30's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PAULNUGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Two young females travelling alone we were looking for safe, affordable, comfortable accommodation. The paragon hotel offered this and more. The staff were very friendly and always happy to answer your questions as best as possible. We stayed in room 104 which had 2 double beds, tv, aircon, fridge, bathroom with bath/shower and balcony overlooking the busy street of Sisowath Quay. The rooms were cleaned everyday. We Organised a tuk tuk rider through the manager and found his friendly character wonderful which made our tour around Phnom Penh easy. We also booked a bus to Siem Reap through the hotel. Would defiantly stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ez2188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#130 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#73 of 267 in Phnom Penh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#140 of 267 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#65 of 267 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#66 of 267 in Phnom Penh
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Property: Paragon Hotel
Address: 219B, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing