We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and ok if you have a balcony”
Review of Paragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paragon Hotel
Ranked #164 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location and ok if you have a balcony”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I had a balcony room on the first floor and paid the full price for the room ($38 iirc). The two steamer type chairs on the balcony were very low (you'd better be flexible if you want to sit on them) and there was no table. Both chairs were also missing slats and one had a nail sticking out on the seat. I did ask for a better chair but for the next couple of days until I left all I got was excuses. Saying that, my bathroom light blew at around 10pm one night and they sent someone up to change the globe as soon as I called them. Mind you, the globe he brought up didn't work so he took one out of the bedroom which made it gloomy but hey ho, at least they tried I suppose.

The room floor needed a mop as my feet got dirty after walking around on it for a bit although they did clean the balcony floor.

The hotel has a lift which is good as the stairs are quite steep and narrow and you wouldn't want to be lugging a bag up and down them.

and it did have a kettle and a fridge in the room which was a bonus - there's also a 24hr supermarket around the corner.

The room itself was underwhelming for the price and the wifi didn't always work but the location is excellent and for the price, the location and the balcony were the only redeeming features.

Room Tip: get a balcony room if you can afford it. even though it gets noisy from 6 am because of the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulSights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    77
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
10
46
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in this place for a couple of nights. Hotel is clean, and very well located. Shower was a disappointment as we payed extra for a glass shower but wasn't worth it. The bed had had his best time and was quite small. Also we were called in the middle (3.30am) of the night to 'send down our girl'... Apparently prosititues are allowed (and maybe even welcome) in this hotel. This hotel will not be or first choice in the future but if other good places are full we would consider sleeping here again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thibaut T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Paragon is right on the riverfront, and if u get a front room you can get a nice view over the rivers and promenade. The hotel is in need of some TLC. It's quite rundown and the management seems pretty slack. They had no record of our online booking through their website, luckily the room was available. Room was missing towels, glasses etc and was generally pretty average. Average hard mattresses + pillows. Terrible water pressure - not enough for a shower, just a trickle down the wall. Included WiFi barely worked on 4th floor at all. This hotel needs to be more proactive in tackling sex tourism, there were various dodgy characters (old white western men) openly talking about the girls they'd taken up to their rooms the previous night. Not cool. Hotel is overpriced, great view from private balcony rooms partly makes up for it. No breakfast included. This hotel could be great but its pretty crappy at the moment. And go to 'Chiang Mai' Thai restaurant a couple doors down, its really good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodysuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our room on 3rd floor was nice and clean and had a balcony with view of the river. There was a small fridge and the room had air con that worked well. Good location right on the River Side Promenade. We paid about $30.00 per room without breakfast. The place has free WiFi that did not work too well in our room but was fine in the reception area. I can recommend this hotel. You can get cheaper I'm sure but for us it was OK.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony and view, use the front rooms, they might get some street noise at times. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

After we found out that the two other hotels where we wanted to stay were fully booked, we asked the tuk-tuk driver to take us somewhere in the neighbourhood and we finished up in the Paragon Hotel.

When we arrived to the hotel we said we dont know how long we wanted to stay and the receptionist only wanted to see one passport, they didnt even want a deposit for the key, nothing. (At the end we stayed for 3 nights).
During the night shift there were always two guys at the reception who were really nice and friendly, but the stuff working during the day was a complete opposite, especially one Chinese-looking guy who was always forcing us to use overpriced tuk-tuk services of his friend etc.

The reception has safety boxes where it was possible to leave valuables for free and one gets a key. We could leave there our passports etc. there even after checking out from the hotel, it was not a problem.
In the reception area there was an ATM too and they are selling cold drinks too.

We paid 23 dollars per a double room on the 3rd floor with a view to backyard, but we were always out until late night, so this didnt really bother us. They had also cheaper rooms available and more expensive ones with the view for the river.

Our room was equipped with a small fridge, AC and a small low-quality TV with very few channels in English (but we didnt come to Cambodia to watch TV, so this also didnt bother us at all).
I think the room was clean, the sheets and towels were fine as well. Actually the bathroom was surprisingly clean, quite big and with hot water. We received the traditional tooth-brushes, soap and hair shampoo.

But it is true that the hotel elevator was out of order and not working (already that time I was wondering if it has EVER been working), but one of the guys from the reception helped out with the luggage. Beware the stairs because not all of them have the same height!! :))

Room Tip: Unless you want to spend lot of time inside the hotel room, this place was bearable and OK to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrena937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPC
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We transferred to this hotel since the previous one we were staying at did not have any available rooms for the rest of our stay. We had heavy luggage so we opted to book at Paragon, since they have an elevator. When we approached the receptionist, he didn’t even smile at us, he just said: “Yes?”

When we asked to see the room, he obliged. When they were asking us to take the stairs, I asked, “Why not take the elevator?” He said that it was just being repaired for the day and that the room that they will show us is just at the 1st floor. So as soon as we saw the room and agreed to book a 2-night stay with them, the receptionist asked for a 10-dollar deposit and in return I was given a reservation slip.

When we arrived with our luggage the next day, again, we were received with a cold stare. But we didn’t focus on that at that time since we were more concerned about the accommodation. Because of the reviews, we requested for a room at the top floor to avoid the street noise. We were given just that – only to find out that the elevator will not be working for our entire stay! But since we already made a deposit, and for the lack of options during that time (as we had a full day ahead of us), we decided to take the room. Good thing someone helped us with our bags.

I find the room’s décor to be tacky – red curtains + orange mattress topper with floral prints. But I guess one wouldn’t be too concerned about that if you’re just there to rest.

The Bathroom / Toilet were in the same area, no curtains to divide the toilet from the shower area. It didn’t look clean at all – though it was just scrubbed by the cleaning lady.

They don’t give rolls of tissue paper, as they have a huge tissue dispenser inside the bathroom.

They have toothbrush / toothpaste + 2 small soap bars + 2 shampoo sachets. Not replenished daily though.

They have a pot for hot water, no complimentary coffee / tea sachets though.

Towels were worn out and did not smell fresh. You know that smell you get when you wash your clothes and you don’t let them dry under the sun / in an airy area? That’s how it smelled like.

It was torture for the first night. We heard our neighbour arrive at 3am. We heard him flush the toilet, open the TV and close his closet door. Apart from the paper thin walls separating the rooms, the noise from the street, even if we were already on the highest floor, woke us in the middle of the night. I don’t like rooms without windows, that’s why we got this room (and this is the only room that was offered to us by the receptionist). But I would definitely go back to a room without a window rather than be awoken by the sound of constant beeping at 5am. Not to mention the effect of the red curtain as soon as the sunlight hits the curtains directly. And the curtain was right above our heads!

So we moved to another room on the same floor the next day. Good thing I wandered around the floor, as it seemed that the receptionist was not willing to transfer us to another room. Had I not pointed out that I saw that another room has been vacated and is currently being made up, I don’t think he’ll be willing to let us transfer. Was able to transfer to room 309 and it was a lot better than the first one. Cheaper by 5 dollars too (river side room was priced at $28, room at the back with window was priced at $23).

When we were already on our way out after the transfer, he did not even say “good morning” or “hello”. He just said, with a stern voice: “Did you transfer to the other room already?”

In both rooms, the aircon and ref worked well. TV had a few English channels. Water bottles are not replenished daily. Good thing that the Wifi connection here works no matter where you are in the building.

It was also a good thing that they helped us book our bus ticket to Siem Reap. Remember: when you make bus reservations in Phnom Penh / Siem Reap via your hotel, you will be asked you to pay upfront. Make sure that you get a receipt before you leave the reception / counter.

If ever I'll be coming back, this will be my last option.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYLAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We made a booking for a balcony room for 3 people by phone 2 days before our arrival. On our arrival we were informed they had no booking for us then tried to sell us two rooms with no windows in the upper floors (no lift). They were clean but dark and dingy (so is the stairwell). Also saw a very young women visiting a middle aged westerner (draw your own conclusion about their cliental). Fortunately i was able to find a much bigger, brighter room down the road at the Indochine for $13 less.

Basically, unreliable and unhelpful despite their poor service and just a bit seedy.

David

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saai02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#102 of 270 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallops Riverside Hotel
Gallops Riverside Hotel
#148 of 270 in Phnom Penh
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#71 of 270 in Phnom Penh
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#129 of 270 in Phnom Penh
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#128 of 270 in Phnom Penh
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden House International
Golden House International
#66 of 270 in Phnom Penh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paragon Hotel

Property: Paragon Hotel
Address: 219B, Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paragon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Paragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing