We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Artist Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 334 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent one night in a deluxe room (standard accommodations were booked) at the Artist and were very pleased with the room and services. The location, on "Art Street," is excellent and very near the riverfront and many restaurants. Check-in was easy and the room was spacious with a lovely balcony and clean sheets and towels. The bathroom and shower are in different cubicles, and while small all the facilities functioned well. Internet was also quick. We ate breakfast at the diner downstairs and found the food to be wonderful. The smoked salmon and bagels were a welcome taste of home, and the breakfast burger was excellent. Additionally, a brownie ordered was the best we've had in our nine weeks of travel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HGM915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Personally, I didn't find Phnom Penh as great a city as I imagined, but this little guest house is simply amazing, a perfect place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Phnom Penh whilst still being central.

The food is lovely and well worth the price, and the rooms are spotlessly clean, with very nice comfy beds and fresh bedding.

The French decor is lovely but it's so tranquil in the rooms it just relaxes you.


Little things help, like the safe is actually bolted to the floor for the first time in all the places we've stayed whilst travelling , there's soap and shampoo provided and the towels were nice and fluffy!! The hot water works perfectly.

It's just a lovely place to stay. The staff are great, especially the young woman - very friendly and helpful. Hope this guesthouse gets the business and acclaim it deserves. Probably the best guesthouse we've stayed at in 7 weeks of travelling.


Merci beaucoup The Artist!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank WJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Artist Guesthouse feels like a real hotel. The rooms are not only spacious and clean, but also pretty modern. If you want to escape the dirty little backpacker room, relax here!
We enjoyed our stay and would come back any time.
The owner is more than friendly and helps out where he can.

Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremie75, Owner at The Artist Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello,

I would like to thank you for your review on The Artist. I'm glad you enjoy your stay with us and than you find the room comfortable.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Cambodia.

See you soon

Jeremie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at Artist Guesthouse for 2 days and the experience was great.
1. Location - awesome! just next to national museum, royal palace, riverfront and best restaurants.
2. Rooms - Standard double. Good size, very clean and well maintained.
3. Staff - friendly and ready to help with whatever they can.
4. Food - We had breakfast. overall satisfied but one can explore other options too around the area.

Overall, a nice experience and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank csaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremie75, Owner at The Artist Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for staying with us at The Artist. We are happy than you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to meet you again on your next visit to Phnom Penh.

Regards

Jeremie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I have been traveling for 3 years and for our wedding anniversary, he surprised me with a beautiful room on the top floor of this guesthouse. The guesthouse is decorated with beautiful art, so apt as it's across the street from the art school. :) the food is DELICIOUS! Try their mushroom burger...it's superb! Jeremy, the owner, helped us with everything from making dinner reservations, to getting us set up with our bus to Siem Reap (even though we canceled then changed our minds again several times- he was quite patient and so willing to help nevertheless). I can't say enough about this place. Everyone is friendly, the food is good, the place is clean and beautiful. I would recommend anyone stopping in Phnom Pen to at least stay one night here. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Elee7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremie75, Owner at The Artist Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Elee,

Thank you so much for your review. It was a real pleasure to have you with us on your anniversary. I hope than you enjoyed Siem Reap. You must be now in Laos.

See you soon and don't stop travelling.

Jeremie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

love the location,friendly staff, clean and comfortable environment
no need tuk tuk to reach national museum , royal palace or central market, only 5-10 mins walk
if u want to try some local food, you can easily get it around the guesthouse. Seeing Hands Massage is at Street 13, turn left from Artist guesthouse and turn left again when u reach the junction,cheap and good massage
water pressure for the shower is strong, fan and airconditioning is functioning well,bathroom is clean...
the bathroom curtain is the only thing I am not really like because the room i get the bathroom is just beside the door, if someone using the toilet have to make sure no one go out or get in

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessie5A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent two nights here. The rooms were clean, and the beds comfortable. The air conditioning functioned well. The food in the restaurant was very good and inexpensive.

It would have been nice if the room had a few more things in it - some local guides or recommendations, hand towels, tissues...

The young woman working downstairs was very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 274 in Phnom Penh
851 reviews
0.6 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#32 of 274 in Phnom Penh
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#3 of 274 in Phnom Penh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Artist Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artist Guesthouse

Address: 69 Street 178, Sangka Chey Chum Nas | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 334 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £14 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the street from the” have to visit” National Museum, The Artist Guesthouse is your place to stay. On a street full of original art shops and magnificent old trees you are within 5 minutes walk to all the major sites of Phnom Penh. Our 11 bedroom guesthouse can accommodate from 1 to 4 people in the same room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Artist Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing