We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice staff”
Review of Khmeroyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Khmeroyal Hotel
Ranked #147 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location and nice staff”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A hotel in a great location on the riverfront but is a bit tired and needing some renovation, particularly the bathrooms.if you get a riverview room it is a great view but a bit noisier, but the rooms on the third floor are better and quieter. The staff are great and work such long hours and really multi-task, but we noted when the owner was there, they looked quite stressed and seemed to manage better when he wasn't there. Breakfast was ok and the restaurant food average but seemed more expensive than restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: River view rooms have a great view but do have traffic noise. The third floor is a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
10
37
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tonopah, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I've stayed here several times. The staff are all wonderful. Now, they remember me and act glad to see me. Some of the rooms are very new and some are a tiny bit shabby, but they're all clean and comfortable. I always sleep great there. They also have a free breakfast with good coffee, a variety of fruit, a row of Khmer breakfast dishes, waffles, kimchee (!) and eggs to order. It's really a very nice breakfast. Their restaurant is good too.

Room Tip: You can ask to see different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in a standard room. The window lead to the construction of a new hotel at about 15 cm of distance! So no views. It was very quite, though, which is rather exceptional in the area! (let's be positive). The room looked nice, old fashioned but nice. The mattresses were not so comfy, but just because they were too hard. Breakfast buffet is very good. We ate as if there was no tomorrow :). The toilet got stuck on the first night and it was never fixed before we left. It is ok if you don't want to spend too much money but stay in a central location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferran_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel with wonderful friendly staff. Very centrally located right on river and next to the Palace. This is the second time I've stayed here and I will do so again. Srey Pich the manager is highly efficient and always ready to help. Beer is reasonably priced but the spirits are overtly expensive. The food is edible but not up to my five-star tastes , so I rarely eat there.
The owner is a very warm and generous light-hearted man with a wonderful sense of humour.....

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Into the maintenance of the hotel. The place needs a clean up. The carpets haven't been changed since? We got a room with a view of the stairway, I thought well it will be quiet, wrong. People talking and working close to the stairs, machines working at hours like right now 4.30am. Yes the location is excellent, you do have to walk a bit to find a good restaurant that produces real Cambodian food. Luckily my Cambodian friends know the places. The staff are excellent!

Room Tip: I was tempted by a room with a view which is nice, but maybe noisy but chose to stay put in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This was the first hotel I have stayed at in a while where the experience failed to meet (or exceed) my expectations.

On the plus side, the hotel has a fabulous location opposite the river and adjacent to the Grand Palace, the staff were friendly and helpful.

On the negative, the hotel is old and in need of a significant renovation, the rooms were very noisy (fridge and AC) and poorly lit. It didn't help that both rooms we were shown either looked in to the central walkway or the rear stairwell so for privacy, the curtains needed to be closed at all times preventing any natural light. Some things in the room were broken.

I would place the rating for this hotel at 2 star (at best) but it is inexpensive and if someone is looking for a cheap hotel room in a great location then this could be for you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GuruB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review or our hotel, Our hotel is a original Khmer hotel with the real look and feel of a traditional Khmer hotel but with modern amenities. during your stay we was currently renovating all the rooms and had 95% finished starting with the larger rooms with new Ac and new fridges. By the time this is posted all rooms should be finished.
You asked to see the lowest cost rooms we had available and yes the view is not as is in our larger rooms with the better views for only a few dollars more.
As for the lighting we will look into this and make any corrections needed. If you did require more light we would have been more then happy to provide you a additional floor or table light.
As for your statement. "Some things in the room were broken" Can you please E mail us and explain what was broken as we have not been able to find what you was referring to so we may make any necessary repairs needed.
Thank you for your stay with us and you next stay we will offer you a free upgrade to our deluxe rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is located on the river near the Palace and the Museum. Great places to eat all within walking distance. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the beer is cold. The hotel is in need of an upgrade but overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: If you dont like your room ask the staff to show you another and they are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#111 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#130 of 267 in Phnom Penh
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#131 of 267 in Phnom Penh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#199 of 267 in Phnom Penh
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#98 of 267 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
AMANJAYA Pancam Suites Hotel
#48 of 267 in Phnom Penh
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmeroyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmeroyal Hotel

Property: Khmeroyal Hotel
Address: 383 Sisowath Quay, Sangkat Chey Chumnah, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Khmeroyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmeroyal Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar Open-aired lunch and dining on the Basac & Mekong riverKhmeroyal VIP. upstair with AC. the best views on riverside, just step out a few minutes to King Palace, national museim & silver pagoda.The Khmeroyal menu introduces generous flourishes of traditional real Khmer flavors. While the menu is still built on Khmeroyal main-stays such as Angkor & Cambodia national draft beer with free salt-chili roasted peanut, deli-fresh sandwhiches, buger and khmer-made pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.Open Bar on river serves all kinds of can cold drinks and beer, Kifo drinks menu and beers & wines in 24 hours, with comfortable chairs to sit and relax, look to Basac & Mekong river and a lot of tourists walking on riverside.Open Daily 6a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Khmeroyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing