We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest owner ever, excellent ice cream, average bubble tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bubbles Tea and Ice Cream - CLOSED

Bubbles Tea and Ice Cream
Price range: US$0 - US$3
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Seating
Description: Bubbles Tea & Ice Cream is a perfect spot to enjoy artisan Bubble Teas, Coffee, and Homemade Ice Creams after touring Toul Sleng Museum.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendliest owner ever, excellent ice cream, average bubble tea”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The ex-pat who owns this place is one of the nicest guys you'll ever meet. He is great with offering samples of ice cream, almost all of which are heavenly home-made. His Khmer staff folks are affable and always smiling, and I feel good walking in to this place. I forgot the owner's name, but he even greets you when you pull up in your moto.

The different ice cream flavor she has are authentic and delicious. Just the right amount of creaminess to make the ice cream satisfying. I tried the chocolate milk bubble tea, and I asked for full sweetness, but the tea was rather bitter. Mind you, the cocoa flavor was rich, almost Dutch, but either the staff botched it or the milk is not sweetened. This was the only reason I dropped the rating by 1 star. Otherwise, I would go to Bubbles for the ice cream and not so much its namesake.

As far as pricing go, the ice cream is a little on the high end of pricing for a scoop or 2.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    9
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Icecream heaven”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Amazing hospitality. Great wifi. Good location. And most important: I would kill for that salted caramel icecream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixton london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little stop off in the heat!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Read about this bubble tea shop on TA and had to visit. Excellent the mint ice cream and peanut butter is amazing!! The bubble tea is great too. Melvin is full of knownledge knows PP like the back of his hand for good food and resturants! Soo helpful. The skybar he told us about was crazyyyy too!! Melvin get those fruit flavoured boba's in your shop bro they will sell like hot pancakes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent! ”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just visited today with a friend (traveling through SE Asia for a few weeks) and had a wonderful time! I was able to try any ice cream flavors and they were all delicious-- I ended up buying a scoop of the mint chocolate chip ice cream and a traditional flavor bubble tea with boba. The flavors were excellent and Mervin, the owner, talked to us for a while about his experiences in Cambodia and gave us some great restaurant and tourist tips! Definitely a great place to go for a delicious afternoon break-- the decor is cool, too!

Helpful?
Thank Tanvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did someone say ice cream?”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oh man I had the mango and peanut butter ice cream flavours at Bubbles today. The mango was awesomely chunky with the pulp of this season's juiciest delights...and the peanut butter... just as beautifully sweet, salty and crunchy as the real thing but you don't feel guilty for dipping into the jar because ice cream is supposed to be savoured straight off a spoon.

Mervin and his staff are seriously swell guys who are determined to make you a bubble tea, iced tea or other refreshing beverage just to your liking after a long-hot day on the streets. I'm becoming a bit of a Bubbles ice cream groupie, hanging out for crazy new flavours they're making with local ingredients for Cambodian inspired delights.

Its small and welcoming, cool and tasty, fun and flavoursome. Definitely going back for more when I'm around town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubbles Tea and Ice Cream also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing