We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Hotel Cara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cara
Ranked #131 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Upon arrival nothing was explained correctly, staff had trouble understanding our questions. Rooms were ok but phone did not work and safe was locked and when asked for assistance no one came. Not sure if they were short staffed due to New Year. Upon leaving staff were more helpful. It is away from the main strip, best to just grab a tuktuk from in front of the hotel to fined where to eat, etc.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

The review of 'tripdogg' was completely right. BUT, i liked it. Good bed and shower, stylish, nice bar and restaurant part of it. It was the best of our trip of three weeks in Laos so far. If its on a good price, take it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieVerdriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Cara Hotel is a nice modern budget hotel, located not too far from the city, yet away from the traffic and noise.

There are a few bars around, but double glazed windows keep the noise away.

Rooms are not too big, but nice, small fridge, small tv, good channel selection.

Nice shower, rooms cleaned daily.

Loved the speaking birds, my only complaint is internet and lack of eatable food

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a great experience at the Cara-about my 10th visit to PP and my 5th different hotel, well I found it suited me down to the ground. Big room, comfortable beds, hot water, wonderful staff and an interesting breakfast.
Sincere thanks to Manager Kim who made our stay exceptional, she and her front of house staff are very good at their jobs and most welcoming to my group. The rooms are clean if not spectacular but for the price represent excellent value for money.
Pre ordered breakfast was not a problem sometimes we forgot but nice food was always available, we were given extra coffees, juices and breads without problem from the charming waiting staff always with a bright smile.
I will use again for sure-even if it is just for all the smiles from ALL the staff.

Room Tip: would not go for the rooms without windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Hotel Cara, although not on a scenic road, was my home for 5 days. The staff were everso pleasant and friendly. The attached restaurant Doors provided an excellent breakfast with some beautiful Cambodian smiles.
Rooms were basic but acceptable and I would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I don't know how much this hotel charges as I was on a small group tour and the cost of hotels was included, so I can't say anything about value for money.

It was a good place to stay while in Phnom Penh. Clean, good shower, balcony and a lift. Tuk-tucks / cyclos outside will take you anywhere in the city for just a few dollars.

I don't understand why other reviewers are making such a fuss about having to fill a form saying what they want for breakfast the following morning. If that's the system, that's the system! And when I asked for a second cup of coffee, it was no problem at all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the staff friendly and helpful, our room had a balcony and was quite spacious, though very plainly decorated. The system here of having to fill in a form the previous night for breakfast was slightly irritating and, while the breakfast was very high quality it was what it was - no coffee top-ups or flexibility on the day. I guess this ties in with the restaurant obviously trying to position itself as a European standard tapas place - we went out for dinner as it was almost Australian prices!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Di W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#103 of 276 in Phnom Penh
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Salita Hotel
Salita Hotel
#102 of 276 in Phnom Penh
264 reviews
1 mi away
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
Pacific Hotel Phnom Penh
#112 of 276 in Phnom Penh
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Teav Boutique Hotel & Spa (Bassac)
2 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 276 in Phnom Penh
373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Star King Hotel & Apartment
Star King Hotel & Apartment
#151 of 276 in Phnom Penh
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cara

Address: No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 276 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £18 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cara features 48 newly refurbished of uniquely designed rooms with meticulously crafted furniture made from local Ratanakkiri wood and pine wood offering private balconies overlooking the bustling urban metropolis, family suite and modern amenities to fit all your needs. Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of Phnom Penh, just a few minutes from the riverside nightlife and eclectic cuisine of Sisowath Quay, the historic Central Market, modern shopping centers, and the elegant Royal Palace. Hotel Cara is the perfect accommodation, whether you are exploring Cambodia’s rich culture or seeking a safe haven for business.Friendliness is not just in our name, it’s our philosophy. Welcome to Hotel Cara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Phnom Penh
Cara Motel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing