We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Phnom Penh”
Review of Hotel Cara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cara
Ranked #126 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Phnom Penh”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed at Hotel Cara for 2 nights in December and enjoyed our stay.

Our only complaint was that we asked for the hotel to organise us to be picked up from the airport, we received confirmation the day before however no one showed up to get us. This ended up being fine and we got a taxi driver that charged us $9US which was $1US cheaper than what the hotel were going to charge. As we had just arrived in Cambodia we were reluctant to get a tuk tuk at first but I would recommend doing so to anyone, they charge between $5 and $7 and it's a great experience to see the city. If you have a lot of bags a taxi may be safer though.

Hotel Cara rooms are small but clean and well presented, we paid just under $40US a night including a buffet breakfast which was quite good.

We utilised the Amara Spa services for a couples massage which was fabulous as well!

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, they assisted us in organising a tour and a bus to Siem Reap.

Just watch out for tuk tuk drivers outside the hotel that will try to charge you $3 for a short trip, cost should only be $1 or $2 depending on how far you are going.

Hotel is in a good location for walking around.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    216
    105
    30
    9
See reviews for
11
66
106
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed two nights at Hotel Cara. The hotel is good and the Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The room was equipped with a safe, fridge, aircon, sat-tv and hot water shower. The design of the rooms is nice.

The balcony would be nice if it had a chair and a table but an empty balcony is just useless. The biggest downside of this hotel is the night club just in front of it and even though they have double windows the sound is hearable and doesn't stop until 2am or so.

Location is so-so as walking to the restaurant area at the riverfront takes quite some time.

The breakfast is very good and there is enough choice. The Sushi restaurant is good an prices are fair.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

when you arrive at this hotel be prepared to find your room and carry your bags their, noone bothers to help you! my room was one without a window and was very dark! there was a very strong smell of cigarette smoke in my room so i asked to move rooms, i was told no i couldnt but an incense candle would be put in my room instead. it masked the smell a bit, altough when the candle when out i was left with a musky combination of smoke and lemon...nice! i didnt find the staff here helpful at all in general. the breakfast was okay, nothing special. i wouldnt recommend using the hotels tuk tuk drivers, they were expensive and didnt take me to the places that i asked so ended up walking half the way. out of the 12 hotels ive stayed at in the last 5weeks this has been the most expensive and the most disappointing. i would not say that it is worth the money that i paid for, its just an average hotel really! the one good thing about it is that it does have several computers and a printer!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani_88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel last year and was very impressed. Great location, impressive
lobby, beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Was surprised when we returned a year later to find the rooms were tattered and in need of minor upkeep and repairs. Will definitely
stay here again on my next trip to Cambodia but hope that the hotel management will take note of the conditions of their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachzlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nahe Wien
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

This Hotel is located near riverside and offers a relatively good deal. Not really cheap, but worth the money. They have free Internet access (WIFI) all over and a good sushi-restaurant.
The noise from the street is hearable but due to double doors to the balcony it is ok.
If you are not on an absolute budget, it offers good quality. Would come again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandenburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Booked online for about £24. On first impressions, really nice hotel with some 'Design' touches - probably jumped on the bandwagon of pricier Phnom Penh properties. Very friendly. The area is a bit out of the way, yet it is possible to walk to the centre in 45min and it offers a good view of Phnom Penh out of the tourist areas. Close to Calmette and other hospitals.
Nice calm spotless room, clean bathroom, very lovely. Bit noisy at night but no bother with earplugs (there is a disco next door). Breakfast was a bit tasteless, and what made it even less palatable was what appeared to be a large number of Western tourists and their young nubile Cambodian women - perhaps girlfriends, but there were just too many of them not to suspect something else was going on. If you're a pretty straightlaced conservative person or have kids in tow, then maybe this place is not for you. Also, day later i got some terrible gsatroenteritis - I suspect either the Hotel breakfast or the fish dinner at Calmete Botum Sakmoth Hotel/Restaurant. There is, however, a lovely restaurant also called Calmette which is on Monivong Boulevard on the Hopital side (it has some kind of straw roofed round pavillion and neon lights spelling out its name which is one of the best restaurants I've bene to in Phnom Penh. So, beware tender stomachs.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja-Superlekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

If you just need a place to stay for one or two nights, this is the recommended hotel. Friendly staff and they always make sure to help you if you needed. I have to check out the hotel in the early hour to catch my plane, they packed my breakfast for me to take away. It was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.8 mi away
City Centre Hotel
City Centre Hotel
#101 of 270 in Phnom Penh
307 reviews
3.2 mi away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#51 of 270 in Phnom Penh
157 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Waterfront Hotel
Grand Waterfront Hotel
#129 of 270 in Phnom Penh
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#102 of 270 in Phnom Penh
156 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#100 of 270 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#103 of 270 in Phnom Penh
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cara

Property: Hotel Cara
Address: No. 18, Street 47 & 84 | Sangkat Srass Chork, Khanh Doun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 270 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cara features 48 newly refurbished of uniquely designed rooms with meticulously crafted furniture made from local Ratanakkiri wood and pine wood offering private balconies overlooking the bustling urban metropolis, family suite and modern amenities to fit all your needs. Our hotel is strategically located in the heart of Phnom Penh, just a few minutes from the riverside nightlife and eclectic cuisine of Sisowath Quay, the historic Central Market, modern shopping centers, and the elegant Royal Palace. Hotel Cara is the perfect accommodation, whether you are exploring Cambodia’s rich culture or seeking a safe haven for business.Friendliness is not just in our name, it’s our philosophy. Welcome to Hotel Cara! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cara Hotel Phnom Penh
Cara Motel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing