We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return stays haven’t disappointed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #188 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return stays haven’t disappointed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I first stayed at the Royal Guesthouse over 3 years ago. As with most people who arrive in a new city, I wanted somewhere safe, clean and relatively cheap. This place provided it and more as well – the family were / are very friendly and helpful, it has great wifi, the food is more than acceptable and the coffee is excellent. They will accept late bookings by email and if you know the place a request a certain room or floor, then they will try, and usually do, manage to accommodate.
I have been living and working in S E Asia for over 10 years now and nowhere is perfect, if you are looking for western standards for eastern prices then you will be disappointed. But that would be true of any hotel in Asia outside of the mega tourist destinations. This is a small guesthouse run by a family who, in my experience, are as honest as you will find. They will be courteous and civil with anyone who is the same to them, sadly there are some who are not.
I have stayed 4 times in total now, but the last time was over a year ago and so was pleasantly surprised at the redecoration that has taken place and the newly designed ground floor reception and restaurant /café area. It was good to see the family again and I will be going back the next time my journeys take me to Phnom Penh. I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: My preference are the first floor rooms on the front, but it can get a little noisy as they overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil-around-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    34
    34
    28
    44
See reviews for
9
52
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Located a long trek from the centre of Phnom Penh, tuk-tuks couldn't find it with risk of overcharging, owner quite unfriendly, failed to deliver on promises to get washing done in a timescale and lost an item of our clothing in the process, pushy about their travel deals, room basic and opened onto an outside landing where, despite us wanting a quiet double, we heard vocal arguing going on outside, day and night. Worst of all when we came back late at night the main hotel entrance was shut, you had to get in by opening a grille in the wall and there were homeless people asleep outside who you had to walk between to get access. We don't want to think the worst of people but this did not feel safe. No real redeeming features other than it was pretty cheap, I would avoid it if I went back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IJ780816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

we had been here many times already. budget place and central heart of the city. the place just renovated the front guest house and cafe bar. somehow, no elavator, but didnt bother us. The young lady at the front desk was really helpful spoke very good english.

Room Tip: "high floor rooms with nice view and balcony"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. It was a nice guesthouse. Good information in the lobby, they are willing to help you with everything. The linnen were clean as well as the room. The restaurant was ok, not special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nynkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here July 2012 and I will never return. The room was dark, musty and had no ventilation, however was very cheap. When we woke up in the morning their were bugs crawling over the bed and their was so much blood smears all over the sheets it looked like a crime scene. Even though we slept in sleeping sacks, our faces and necks were covered in big nasty bites for days. We captured some of the bugs in a little jar and showed the lady in charge who didn't seem very concerned. This was my first experience with bed bugs and they were huge! We asked for a refund as we were going to find another hotel, however she insisted on showing us a better room on the top floor, which was amazing. She did not refund us our money, but gave us one free night and we payed the same price for the top floor room. Lucky for us their was an American who spoke fluent Khmer who translated for us and got staff to wash all our clothes and silk liners separate from everyone else's and insisted on hot water wash. The young staff were friendly and helped us move our luggage.


I wonder if anything was even done to that room, the place was crawling with these bed bugs! I really hope people reconsider staying here, and if they do stay in a well lit, ventilated room!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackerNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

I made the mistake of staying here while on a short stay in Phnom Penh. Unless you really have to then don't stay here. Its not very clean, there are a considerable number of men here on the sex tourist trail, and it doesn't have many rooms with external window. They really need to make some improvements here and should definitely keep it out of the guidebooks in future

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I booked in this hotel via Internet and when i arrived, the woman was not kind at all and tried to charge more than the real price. My room was clean but no window and very small. the location is good. it is not the good place if you want a friendly athmosphere.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank louloulyon126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#101 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#141 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#196 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#190 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#123 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#96 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 154 # 91eo, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Royal Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close by to the riverfront area, Royal Guest House is the perfect place to experience Phnom Penh and its surroundings. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With the city's main attractions such as River Front, Night Market Market, Royal Palace, National Museum, Pub Streets within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.At Royal Guest House, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including shops, poolside bar, bicycle rental, family room, pets allowed.Experience high quality room facilities, including separate shower and tub, fan, satellite/cable TV, desk, television, to help you recharge after a long day. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Royal Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Guesthouse & Cafe Bar Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Guesthouse And Cafe Bar
Royal Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Cafe Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing