We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & cheap!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #179 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good & cheap!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Thought this was a really great place to stay for the price. It is a bit dirty, there's quite a bit of dust in the draws and stains in the wardrobe, bits of wood a breaking off a little too, the paint job in the room hasn't been done with much care but none of these things effect the room really.

The bed it self is clean with no bed bugs, the general area of the room is clean & the bathroom is too. So all the area of the room which you actually need are clean.

The WiFi isn't very good, quite slow and doesn't work all the time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    35
    34
    28
    44
See reviews for
9
52
43
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The location of this guesthouse is good. It is close to many bars, restaurants, the market and the riverside.
Our room wasn't the cleanest, and our shower was pretty basic.
The owners were friendly and helpful. However on one occasion we waited a long time for our change, and were short- changed. By that time we couldn't be bothered to bring it up as it was only a dollar.

We payed $16 per night and thought that was a little overpriced. However I suppose we have to take into account that it is in the capital city.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our room was up alot of stairs but was decent once we got there. This really is a budget hotel. It wasn't super clean but was comfy enough. The bathroom was very run down, yet the water pressure was GREAT! Good for short people, not so good for tall! Location is decent, close enough to walk around, although it does feel a little sketchy at night. The restaurant was great, decent price and great food. Staff was also really nice and helpful! Good place for budget travelers!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my gf arrived on bus from saigon bit dazed and confused and fr some strange reason turned away from every guesthouse before this one telling us they were full. Came here spoke to girl on reception who speaks perfect english said she had room for 10 dollars we were so tired and moody from searching everywhere with no luck so took it. Our room was filthy sheets stunk tv didnt work properly and there were open window vents so noise was unbelievably loud in morning. For 10 dollars this was kind of expensive came from saigon where we had ac, flat screen tv brand new room in lovely modern hotel for the same price. To top it off laundry we had to fold ourselves despite paying 1.50 for a kilo!!!! Haggle the prices for a room if u do stay, shame really considering how nice family are!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Vinh Long, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Tuk tuk drivers brang us in this place telling it was cheap. But it was not so cheap ; we negociate the price and the receptionist ask us to tell to the tuk tuk drivers that the price was low and cheap. By this way the tuk tuk drivers never know the good price, and they have a lower commission. For the tourists, they have the wrong information to help them in the decision ! Really unfair.
Othewise, the room was big but not clean. It was really noisy.

The good points : very central to visit the town, not far from the river, a pool available and the food not so expansive. Last good point but not least : A very fast internet connection (so good to transfer pictures on a server).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Terrible place to stay; rooms are big but not clean, lots of stairs, looks like a maze.
Walking from the Riverfront to the guesthouse straight is not a good idea as St. 154 looked a bit odd to us, feeling not safe in the part of the street closer to the river. And quite dirty as it looked very poor.
They had good breakfast though.
My advise: look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Good price, large rooms (very warm though and the air con seemed to make no difference) but quite a walk up many stairs to most of them. Friendly staff but once again we were told our bus (which we booked through them) would arrive in Sihanoukville before 12, as we stressed we wanted to catch a boat to Koh Rong and knew this was the last boat of the day, and we only booked our bus through them as they promised it would be in before 12, but it didn't get in until 1PM. DO NOT TRUST WHAT TIMES THEY SAY TRANSPORT WILL ARRIVE AS IT IS NEVER ON TIME.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 135violet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#109 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#145 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capitol Guesthouse
Capitol Guesthouse
#112 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Cyclo
Le Cyclo
#125 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#186 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#190 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 154 # 91eo, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 264 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Royal Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close by to the riverfront area, Royal Guest House is the perfect place to experience Phnom Penh and its surroundings. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With the city's main attractions such as River Front, Night Market Market, Royal Palace, National Museum, Pub Streets within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.At Royal Guest House, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including shops, poolside bar, bicycle rental, family room, pets allowed.Experience high quality room facilities, including separate shower and tub, fan, satellite/cable TV, desk, television, to help you recharge after a long day. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Royal Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Guesthouse & Cafe Bar Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Guesthouse And Cafe Bar
Royal Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Cafe Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing