We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Awful”
Review of Royal Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Guest House
Ranked #161 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty Awful”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived at this guest house with a prior booking, but were told that our room wasn't available until the next day, so we had to stay in the downstairs room for the first night. We were shown to this room, just behind reception, but only stayed for a few minutes. The door had obviously been kicked in in the past, rendering the lock useless and meaning that anyone could just push the door open.

So we were given a family room for that night instead. One of the beds was dangerously broken and there were items belonging to the previous occupants in the room.

We were given 'our' room the next day, which was fine, but we noted that the door opposite us also had signs of forced entry.

The laundry service is overpriced and our laundry was returned to us still damp and some of the items had bits of string sewn into them - our guess is that they wash all together and do this to work out which item belongs to which guest at the end.

The staff in general ranged between dismissive and surly. Coming home late one night we discovered that the staff sleep on the footpath outside the guest house!! I would be surly too!

Overall, just not a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    36
    28
    44
See reviews for
9
53
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed for two nights (late October 2012) in this hotel and dissatisfied. In the first night I was put in a room at fifth floor with winding staircases long enough to reach which I complained. I asked to be moved to a lower floor the next day and she promised to. But the next day I saw a white guy adjacent to my room was moved downstair than me.

The receptionist didn't bother at all since I've paid for two nights in full. Just be careful when you paid in advance, there's nothing you can do to make further complaint or ask for just a mere service from a bossy receptionist. It was a bad experience to come-down from fifth floor if
you need to go out and climb back upstair. The bed in my room at fifth floor was also sagged down.

Room Tip: I don't know if an 8$ per night for this kind of room is fair in Phnom Penh Psar Kandal neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astroiseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We got a good clean double room for one night. There were 90 steps to walk up to the room on the top floor, but then again a bit of exercise is always good. Our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom even had a bathtub. Usually the shower just flows onto the floor of the bathroom, so having a bathtub was a pleasant surprise, keeping our bathroom dry.
All in all a great deal for 13$.
Staff could speak good English and were helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magicd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I booked 3 nights at the guesthouse and ended up staying 6 due to sickness. It was a good base for exploring the city, always tuk tuk drivers outside and a handy shop almost opposite which sold big bottles of water for 50c.

We ended up with a downstairs room, but were told if we wanted to change after the first nigh then we were more than welcome to. I would have done, as the room we were in had a window looking out into the corridor and it was very noisy as it was next to the reception and bar area so we had music blasting from early on each day, but as my husband wasn't feeling great he couldn't be bothered moving.

The room was ok, cleaned each day although we always had to ask for toilet roll...! Bed was rock hard but we got used to it. Wifi was good, and the restaurant served decent food.

The lady on the reception desk speaks perfect English which was helpful with booking onward travel, and we got all our laundry back nice and clean though a white vest top is now slightly pink!

Makes a good base and at $15 a night with air con it wasn't a bad deal at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was ok, a bit grubby, beds were comfy enough but the sheets didn't feel particularly clean. The food in the restaurant was ok but I did get a bit of an upset stomach after having the mixed fried rice (think the fish might've disagreed with me)
Location was ok, within walking distance to the waterfront and thats where all the good bars and restaurants are

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr87_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Thought this was a really great place to stay for the price. It is a bit dirty, there's quite a bit of dust in the draws and stains in the wardrobe, bits of wood a breaking off a little too, the paint job in the room hasn't been done with much care but none of these things effect the room really.

The bed it self is clean with no bed bugs, the general area of the room is clean & the bathroom is too. So all the area of the room which you actually need are clean.

The WiFi isn't very good, quite slow and doesn't work all the time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

The location of this guesthouse is good. It is close to many bars, restaurants, the market and the riverside.
Our room wasn't the cleanest, and our shower was pretty basic.
The owners were friendly and helpful. However on one occasion we waited a long time for our change, and were short- changed. By that time we couldn't be bothered to bring it up as it was only a dollar.

We payed $16 per night and thought that was a little overpriced. However I suppose we have to take into account that it is in the capital city.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 mi away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#198 of 267 in Phnom Penh
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skypark Guesthouse
Skypark Guesthouse
#145 of 267 in Phnom Penh
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#113 of 267 in Phnom Penh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Mou Hotel
The Mou Hotel
#221 of 267 in Phnom Penh
71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lucky Star Hotel
Lucky Star Hotel
#209 of 267 in Phnom Penh
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
Suite Home Boutique Hotel
#100 of 267 in Phnom Penh
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Guest House

Property: Royal Guest House
Address: 154 # 91eo, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Royal Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close by to the riverfront area, Royal Guest House is the perfect place to experience Phnom Penh and its surroundings. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With the city's main attractions such as River Front, Night Market Market, Royal Palace, National Museum, Pub Streets within close reach, visitors to the hotel will just love its location.At Royal Guest House, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. The hotel offers access to a vast array of services, including shops, poolside bar, bicycle rental, family room, pets allowed.Experience high quality room facilities, including separate shower and tub, fan, satellite/cable TV, desk, television, to help you recharge after a long day. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Royal Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Royal Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Guesthouse And Cafe Bar
Royal Guesthouse & Cafe Bar Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Phnom Penh
Royal Hotel Cafe Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing