We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Ranked #70 of 319 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better places available”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is nothing majorly wrong with this guesthouse, it's just below average in most areas. Yes it's cheap, but there are other cheap guesthouses around.

The restaurant area is tiny and very crowded, the food very basic. There are lots of steep stairs and narrow corridors that are hard to navigate bags around. My room was ok, old and very tires, but the lock was really dodgy on the door and very difficult to open, the first room I was given the staff couldn't unlock.

It was also very noisy and quite hard to sleep.

The staff were ok, but not particularly friendly, and the place had no atmosphere either in the relaxing sense or for meeting people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    101
    118
    49
    27
See reviews for
14
105
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This place was fine. I had a single room with no view for 1 night and only paid $9 USD. The wifi did not work in my room and I was later told that it only worked in some rooms. I did not use the restaurant but many did and it looked fine.

Room Tip: No lift so if stairs are an issue request a lower floor.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

There is no elevator and being on the 4th floor was a bit tiresome but the room was good, mattress was comfortable, and the hot shower was hot without running cold while in it. The a/c and fan in combination could cause a chill. But the internet was slow as death in my room. It was fast in the lobby but they really should spring for some boosters in order that it is decent in the rooms. Additionally, every time you logged out or shut your computer down, when you re booted you had to go through the log in process instead of it instantly recognizing your device. The staff was GREAT; very personable and most spoke very adequate English.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buck2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We slept in this guesthouse for one nights, we chose it for its location, in fact it is close to the river and the Royal Palace.
But actually the quality is barely sufficient. Our room was on the top floor and the building has not lift, and it was really small.
Good if you're looking for a cheap solution

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Room clean and reasonably priced, though quite noisy at night as its near some bars.
Staff were very helpful and organised our tuk tuk tour and bus onwards to Battambang. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but they always had cold water for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

the promised pick-up never turned up, room tiny and poorly furnished, no elevator, unfresh food served in restaurant, very poor sound insulation - lack of common area on each floor and no elevator made people choose to socialize on corridor, no wifi throughout building

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_CL9201YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nothing fancy here, the $7 room (fan, with bathroom, cold shower) is not large but it's clean.
The restaurant is pleasant, the staff is helpful, there is free wifi and It's well located, near royal palace.
Altogether a good choice in Phnom Penh

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danylaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#109 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#34 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 264 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#107 of 264 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alibi Guesthouse
Alibi Guesthouse
#7 of 319 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Same Same Backpacker
Same Same Backpacker
#49 of 214 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh

Property: Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Address: #3BE0 R#258, Sangkat Chaktomuk | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing