We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay location, and pretty much okay all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh
Ranked #72 of 335 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We chose this based on tripadvisor reviews, wanting something walkable to the riverfront but on a budget and not really knowing Phnom Penh at all. We stayed three nights, and once we sussed the best and most efficient way to walk to the riverfront, it was fine! a ten minute walk gets you to Costa Coffee and the start of the cafes and bars along the river.
The staff at reception seem to be dealing with many things at once, and none of them brilliantly! check in wasn't the smoothest but our room when we got it was big and clean. it seems they only service the room if you specifically ask them too and leave your room key. the drainage hole in the bathroom gets easily blocked, and we were unable to clear it so had to wade in and out on our last two days!
we had breakfast here (not included in rate) and it was okay, nothing spectacular and not any better in price or quality than anywhere else we ate. I would recommend it for a quiet location but on our second stay in PP, we chose a guesthouse on street 172 instead so we were in the heart of the cafes and bars.

Room Tip: The stairs are steep and there is no lift so ask for one on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Food was great and staff was more or less friendly but the room we stayed in was awful. The ceiling was very low and dirty. We couldn't close the window so there was a lot of noise. There was no mirror above the sink and we risked our lives each time we went off the stairs. I think we were just very unlucky with our room, apart from that it is probably not such a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anouck111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

There is nothing majorly wrong with this guesthouse, it's just below average in most areas. Yes it's cheap, but there are other cheap guesthouses around.

The restaurant area is tiny and very crowded, the food very basic. There are lots of steep stairs and narrow corridors that are hard to navigate bags around. My room was ok, old and very tires, but the lock was really dodgy on the door and very difficult to open, the first room I was given the staff couldn't unlock.

It was also very noisy and quite hard to sleep.

The staff were ok, but not particularly friendly, and the place had no atmosphere either in the relaxing sense or for meeting people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This place was fine. I had a single room with no view for 1 night and only paid $9 USD. The wifi did not work in my room and I was later told that it only worked in some rooms. I did not use the restaurant but many did and it looked fine.

Room Tip: No lift so if stairs are an issue request a lower floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There is no elevator and being on the 4th floor was a bit tiresome but the room was good, mattress was comfortable, and the hot shower was hot without running cold while in it. The a/c and fan in combination could cause a chill. But the internet was slow as death in my room. It was fast in the lobby but they really should spring for some boosters in order that it is decent in the rooms. Additionally, every time you logged out or shut your computer down, when you re booted you had to go through the log in process instead of it instantly recognizing your device. The staff was GREAT; very personable and most spoke very adequate English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buck2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We slept in this guesthouse for one nights, we chose it for its location, in fact it is close to the river and the Royal Palace.
But actually the quality is barely sufficient. Our room was on the top floor and the building has not lift, and it was really small.
Good if you're looking for a cheap solution

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Room clean and reasonably priced, though quite noisy at night as its near some bars.
Staff were very helpful and organised our tuk tuk tour and bus onwards to Battambang. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but they always had cold water for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.6 mi away
Okay Boutique Hotel
Okay Boutique Hotel
#33 of 278 in Phnom Penh
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#84 of 278 in Phnom Penh
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 335 in Phnom Penh
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 278 in Phnom Penh
2,619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#24 of 278 in Phnom Penh
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh

Address: #3BE0 R#258, Sangkat Chaktomuk | Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £9 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Okay Guesthouse Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay Guesthouse Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing