We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green oasis in a busy city”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #18 of 275 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Kabiki with our 3 teenagers in July and had chosen this place because it was one of the nicer looking small hotels with a pool that didn’t have a ‘no children/under 16’ policy.
The hotel is situated on a little side street which is cordoned off at both ends and guarded because the prime minister also lives along here. No traffic is allowed but it’s only a short walk to get a tuktuk and if getting an onward bus, staff will help you with your luggage. It also means it’s nice and quiet. Stepping through the gates into the hotel’s enclosed garden feels like a million miles away from the busy city.
There’s a lovely little pool, which is perfect for relaxing around; that is if it’s not too noisy with lots of playing kids (read: family friendly) and the adjoining small bar/restaurant serves a decent bite to eat if you don’t want to venture out because you’re tired after travelling.
The rooms have quite a few beds in them; our twin room had 2 double beds, bunk beds and a sofa, so this hotel is a really good choice for (larger) families. Rooms are fairly basic but comfortable enough.
The Kabiki is within short walking distance of the Royal Palace and it’s easy to pick a tuktuk up at either end of the street. Recommended as an affordable, comfortable place to stay for families and travellers that don’t mind families!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Fantastic, quiet location right in the middle of the city and within walking distance of many of the places of interest. Great service, clean & comfortable rooms, good sized & clean swimming pool, lovely shady gardens, excellent breakfast and good food (from a relatively limited dinner menu choice). Unbelievable value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It's amazing place,
birth are singing round the pool and have all kind of tree in the garden, feeling peace that relax by the pool in the afternoon.
this hotel locate near the dining street 240, ATM, super market.
Walking distance to the royal palace, museum and river front where have a lot of tourism.
Staff are friendly and helpful, they try to arrange transport or whatever you ask for.
breakfast is simple but have all i need, egg, ham, fruit, yoghurt, mueslie, coffee, fruit juice, ohh i can't finish it. if I come back to Cambodia I will be back in this hotel.

Room Tip: if you travel with your family, you should take room 08
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaalba_1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at The Kabiki with our sons (ages 10, 13). It's a beautiful property with a lush grove of trees (planted by the owners) and luxurious swimming area with large cabana-like platforms. It's so quiet and peaceful that you forget you're in the center of Phnom Penh. The staff was attentive and helpful. The room was well-appointed and large - maybe even too large as we had 2 double beds and a set of bunkbeds that we didn't use. The bathroom could use some updating, but it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast buffet was yummy - great French breads! The hotel is obviously popular with families, not really a couples spot. Great spot for the money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Shellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a short anniversary break here and enjoyed it. It certainly is "boutique" small although first impressions are of a much larger place - quite a large part of the site comprises a spacious garden planted with mature trees and large shrubs, with a swimming pool to the side. What is presumably the original house is the hotel reception, and the rooms are in a concrete block tucked behind the main house. The block is saved from being too austere by the garden trees outside and nicely chosen furniture and fittings inside (mainly of coconut wood).

The hotel rooms have a guide book listing many interesting things to do in and around Phnom Penh that can be booked at the front desk - many of these we were unaware of before despite living in Phnom Penh for 3 years.

The location is good - quiet, and yet only a short walk to streets 240, Norodom, and 51 all of which have reasonable eating places. The breakfast was tasty and generous (eggs and bacon, muesli and yoghurt, fresh nut bread and home made jam, passion fruit juice and coffee). Staff were friendly and eager to help.

There is quite stiff competition in Phnom Penh for boutique hotels these days. Cannot say if this is among the best or not, but we would certainly recommend it to others as a good quality little place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clan_Macqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hi; we stayed 3 nights in a deluxe room with extra single bed. The room was great, with plenty of room and excellent facilities. Only negative was as others have described - lack of hot water, but the weather was very warm so not an issue (just an invigorating way to wake up in the morning :-) ).
Staff were very friendly and helpful, location was very good and quite (as others have described). We really liked the breakfast.
Short walk to 240 street, Royal Palce and about $2 by tuk tuk to centre of town at riverfront.
Enjoyed our stay. Cheers John

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisbaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Lovely oasis in a quiet part of a slightly chaotic city. Comfy beds, nice pool, lovely staff, yummy breakie. Restaurant probably a little expensive. Rooms were not quite as nice as we were expecting going from the photos but no complaints from here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 275 in Phnom Penh
2,573 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#7 of 275 in Phnom Penh
242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#22 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,668 reviews
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#17 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
the 252
the 252
#12 of 275 in Phnom Penh
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing