We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely rooms”
Review of The Kabiki

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kabiki
Ranked #15 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The rooms are lovely! We enjoyed the quiet street as it is closed off to traffic. The staff service was a bit inconsistent depending on who was on reception and that seemed to change frequently. However, the rooms are super comfortable, breakfasts good with a good location!

Room Tip: Cost of a room with bunk beds and 2 double sized beds was the same as room with bunk beds and one do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DMinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Kabiki was our first stop on our first visit to Cambodia. As a family we travel quite a bit, but there is always a bit of anxiety about the first visit to a country with young kids. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and gave us good advice on how best to enjoy Phnom Penh with the children. As a family of five we struggle to find suitable accommodation without having to split across two standard rooms, which we prefer not to do. The Kabiki had a large room that could easily accommodate the five of us (when will Tripadvisor and hotel websites do a better job of helping to find this type of accommodation?? It nearly always requires a follow up phone call to find a room that caters for five.) The rooms were clean and reasonably comfortable in that hard-edged, hard-bed Indochinese style. Breakfasts were simple but tasty, and the pool area a pleasant oasis after a dusty day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wilburtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

When you enter the gate of the Kabiki, you immediately feel at peace in the lush greenery of the garden. The fact that the street is closed to traffic because the prime minister is the hotel's next-door neighbor contributes to the sense of calm.

Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful with things like airport pick ups and laundry, but vague about others, like when they were unable to provide any information on road closures the day of the procession to bury the late king's ashes and advised a 6 am departure to avoid traffic. We asked around and discovered that roads would be open after the morning ceremony and we could skip the brutally early departure. They also suggested a palace visit when it was closed for the same ceremony that week. Check in was rushed. Not that it matters, but I had to offer my passport as I wasn't asked for it. A welcome drink and sweet were served, but before I could try them, my bag had been picked up and I was being ushered to my room.

In the room (number 19, the top category of the hotel), requests to fix the TV the week of the world cup final produced only a greater selection of fuzzy unwatchable channels. The plastic soap dispensers, no light fixture over the shower and curtains on a string were details that cheapened an otherwise nice bathroom. There was nowhere to store bags, no wardrobes or drawers, so clothes and bags always had to be left out. Not much was done in the way of dusting or cobweb removal in the three days we were there, inside or on our balcony. The bed was firm and comfy and the room itself spacious (though take note: some third-party sites - not the hotel's own - refer to this category as a one-bedroom; it is not).

Breakfast was unexciting with few choices. The single Asian choice, fried rice, was bland; the American choice, pancakes, were pre-cooked then reheated. There was only one type of juice, passion fruit, and coffee was decidedly subpar. Restaurants along nearby 240th Street would be a much better choice. A visit to the bar one evening revealed a bottle of Pimm's on the shelf, but no one who knew what it was or how to make a Pimm's cup. The cocktails we got instead were a little weak.

I love to walk and found most everything I wanted to see was within 30 minutes walking of the hotel, with many attractions much closer. Otherwise an endless supply of tuktuks and motor bikes were available outside the security road block at all hours.

Recommended, but keep in mind there is room for improvement.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank vincentinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Kabiki for 3 nights at the end of June. It's conviently located within walking distance to the Kings Palace, National Museum and the riverfront which is fantastic for people watching and eateries. We stayed in a room with our two children, the room was average size with bunks for the kids. It had a very efficient air con which was needed as it was very hot. The pool is probably the only let down as its very shallow and really suitable for toddlers or a dip. It's also sheltered by lots if trees. The breakfast was also disappointing as its the same set menu everyday. We found it nice and peaceful even though there were lots of children around, a nice sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of PP.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuziiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Upon arrival we instantly felt relaxed at the Kabiki. It is a small hotel with a tropical ambience- loved the garden and pool area. The room was delightful and the terrace area was lovely. The breakfast was also enjoyable. The hotel is in a quiet area but it is easy to walk to restaurants and shopping areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Nice garden, good pool, tasty breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, big room, welcome drink and small fruit plate, good location! This is a good place indeed! You will forget that you are in the noisy city! Juices and smoothies are great! Good job, guys!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Due to the hotel being located next to the President's house the street is blocked off from general traffic. This is actually a plus and makes the hotel very quiet with little road noise. When you walk into the entrance of the property, you are instantly met with tropical plants and fruit trees. There's a gorgeous pool surrounded with sunloungers, there's also a kids pool. The rooms are very spacious, with a four poster bed, air conditioning, minibar and en-suite bathroom. The included breakfast is a set menu, but there are four options to choose from or you can opt to purchase additional items.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is located within walking distance of the popular St. 240 with a range of restaurants, bars and shops. Tuktuks were always available at the end of the street. Great hotel with only around 18 rooms, so not over-run with people. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 281 in Phnom Penh
2,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#21 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,706 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Plantation - urban resort & spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#16 of 281 in Phnom Penh
1,255 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Mekong Hotel
G Mekong Hotel
#11 of 281 in Phnom Penh
317 reviews
1 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 281 in Phnom Penh
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kabiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kabiki

Address: 264 22, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Phnom Penh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: £32 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kabiki 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After opening our famous Pavilion boutique hotel, we realised, as people with family ourselves, that Phnom Penh needed a resort that was family orientated and child friendly. The historic colonial house we found on Oknha Peich Street with its 3500m2 of surrounding land was perfect. Caring, friendly staff, lots of nature for children to explore, the Kabiki is a place to relax, take a swim and lounge in the sun between days exploring Phnom Penh and the nearby attractions of the Royal Palace, Wat Botum and the riverside. We planted over 500 native trees, many of which we've placed name tags on so you can identify them yourselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kabiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh
Kabiki Phnom Penh
Kabiki Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing