We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundance Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Rose Suites(Phnom Penh)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
151
106
42
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
106
42
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshour barmekong buspool tablenight marketbar downstairstuk tukno windowgreat place to stayroom safefirst floorsiem reapcold beerceiling fanstayed longerwi fithe ground floorguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After a frustrating, delayed flight from Bali I immediately made to feel right at home by Jim the hotel owner and his friendly staff.

The rooms are not huge but with the number of mirrors on the walls you don't get a hemmed in feeling. The room was spotlessly clean and really thoughtfully laid out, making great use of a small space. Mult electric sockets beside the bed mean you will never need an adapter, room safe and plenty of hanging space for clothes. AC was efficient and quiet.

I was on the 2nd floor (room 7) and it was blissfully quiet, the window gave a view over roofs to the Post Office clock (which incidentally was never correct!).

Down the corridor is a great chill out veranda overlooking the river.

The bathroom is in proportion to the room, again spotlessly clean and a great hot water power shower.

The bar is the social hub of the place, its open 24 hours a day with great staff and a inexpensive menu. Its a great place to chin wag with Jim, the other guests and expats that frequent the place.

I have to say that on my first morning I went down for breakfast and was in need of advice on getting a local SIM card for my Ipad and phone. Fretting because I needed to keep in touch with my own hotel in Bali. Like a shot the staff were organising it for me and it was all set up without leaving my seat!

It's little things like that which define a hotels attitude to their customers.
I have been in many 5* hotels with much much worse service.

And one last thing.. the laundry very quick and very inexpensive.

Thanks again to Jim and the staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I was in room 7 it has a window some of the cheaper rooms don't.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeninnbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is run by Jim who is very knowledgeable on where to go or what to see and do. The staff is great and friendly. The kitchen is open 24/7 with great food. That is great when you come back at night and want a bite to eat. They are located across the street from the river and it is a great location. You can't go wrong with a stay at California 2

Room Tip: They only have two size rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tootall87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The red lighting in this hotel sums up the atmosphere as the majority of the clientele are lone-travelling, middle-aged American men. There is nothing wrong with this but it does make you feel slightly awkward as you walk through the bar and they all look at you. The rooms are fine and clean however the plastic mattress protector adds to the creepiness. It was also painfully overpriced as we were charged $35 a night and at that price I would expect a lot more.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyChitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimCA2, Owner at Sundance Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

No we are not a backpacker joint. There are dorm rooms two doors away. We do offer cheap beer and cheap water in an air conditioned bar with free wifi that would be appealing to back packers.

When the guest checked in we put them in a deluxe room at the standard rate and they said they would be staying two nights. When I came into the hotel the following day they had checked out. after only staying one. The am staff was unaware of this, did their job according to room pricing, and charged the full rate.

There is a red light as well as yellow lights above the bar and pool table. Its pictured here on our TA page. Warm colors make people hang out. With the exception of a couple that was in the bar, the others were watching a college football game, not any different from any other bar airing a football game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

California 2 is located right on the river front and it gives easy access to all the places in Phnom Penh. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was great especially their Fried Rice and whats more exciting is that the restaurant is open round the clock. They have a nice pool table in the bar which you can play for free.

As far as the rooms are concerned, its enough if you want a place to crash after a hectic day. if you are looking for a boutique hotel, this is not the place to be. I took a standard room and it was clean and neat. It is enough for one person to stay even though you can accommodate two. The deluxe rooms are spacious and good enough for two.

If you are looking to travel to Siam Reap or Sihanoukville, the bus station is just 200 meters walk from the hotel. It helps especially if you are catching an early morning bus.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends who are travelling.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room instead of a standard one. For only a few bucks more, you get a more spacious room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sathyaseelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Unique to Phnom Penh is California 2. Run by barang Jim who's been in Southeast Asia for most of his life, this boutique guest house is located right on the riverside just north of all the tuk tuk driver annoyances a few blocks south. Jim's knowledge of all things Cambodian runs deep and he can provide unbiased info on anything on your itinerary especially if you're a temple freak. The lobby is tastefully designed with a comfortable bar, seating, and top rate pool table. Cheery staff and decent grub. With only about ten rooms, it's often full, so book ahead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews