We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
Review of Hagar Restaurant

Hagar Restaurant
Ranked #263 of 1,413 Restaurants in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Chefs at Hagar Restaurant love to create varieties of cuisine for you to choose from our Breakfast selections to International and Local Lunch Buffet . We use bountiful ingredients found in Cambodia and incorporate those flavors into our cooking.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We went there on a weekend & was able to sample their barbeque buffet at $6.50 per head. We enjoyed the food a lot. They had a wide spread of salads, soups, main course & desserts. The place was clean, so with the toilet & the air-conditioning was a relief from the heat outside. Best time to come is about 11AM.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoodles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Good food in a clean and friendly atmosphere. A great value for the price! I enjoyed sampling a variety of dishes and will return the next time I'm in Phnom Penh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ntbown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Misleading information presented”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

1st day: went to Hagar at 2pm and was told that they are closed for the day. However, their opening hours are from 7am to 3pm as indicated in the Phnom Penh visitor guide (46th edition - March 2013) by Canby Publication.
2nd day: decided to give it another shot since the reviews are so good. Went there at 9am and they told me they are not serving breakfast. The whole restaurant was dark and they are preparing for the buffet lunch that starts from 11.30am. The banner outside their restaurant indicate that they serve breakfast from 7am to 10am.

Was very disappointed as we made the special effort to walk from our hostel for 2 consecutive days just to have a meal at a restaurant that have such.good.reviews. Oh well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chimpengzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lunch Buffet is Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

The staff is very friendly, but the food was not good at all. I have eating khmer food many places in Phnom Penh and in the provinces and I just feel that they have missed the mark. The price is cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for at a buffet. For those looking for a full stomach with some vairety and at a cheap price, I suppose it is worth checking out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

From the reviews we were expecting something rather special. In terms of the food we were not so impressed. Of course this is another training restaurant for less privileged children so certainly cannot fault the work they are doing. But in my opinion the food is better at other similar establishments such as Friends or Romdeng.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hagar Restaurant also viewed

 
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
 

Been to Hagar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing