We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, peaceful atmosphere with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, peaceful atmosphere with very helpful staff”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having stayed at a few places in Cambodia, I appreciate when a hotel has good service. The staff members were extremely helpful and made the stay even more enjoyable. The rooms were clean, comfortable bed, hot water, air con and cable TV. The breakfast, included in the price, is delicious and I was happy to have a 'real' Cambodian coffee with my breakfast. The garden is quiet and pretty. Personally, I wanted to stay away from Riverside where it can get quite hectic, Frangipani was the perfect location to show my friend around and take her to the Russian Markets. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The only thing I would suggest is that if you are organising travel to Kampot through the hotel, be clear on ordering the 'Express Bus'. I said I wanted a direct bus and got the local six hour bus instead of the two hour express, tourist bus. Put a dampner on things a tad but it may have come down to communication issues and what was available. Apart from that, a great stay all round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thenextgemfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    76
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
65
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Frangipani 90s is a small hotel, personal and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean, with air-conditioning, hot showers, everything you'd expect. The staff are always very keen to help. Remember this is Cambodia - so the hotel has to deal with some unreliable infrastructure that means you may not get what you might be used to in more developed countries - so have patience. Remember also that this is a country that only emerged from civil war a decade or so ago. So don't come expecting staff to successfully anticipate your every western whim. We saw a couple of instances of Europeans at other venues lose their temper and shout at people for things that were out of their control. This is pretty crass in the context of Cambodia's recent history. Come with some patience, a kind heart, and give the staff the opportunity to show what they can do - and you will have wonderful time. Always happy to advise you on where to go - and to organise your tuk-tuks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Located in a quasi-residential area, this Hotel is definitely value for money. It has a certain quaintness about it that I liked.

Clean rooms, good A/C and attentive staff. The vegetarian Indian restaurant next door was a cherry on the cake for me as I am both! It is close to the genocide museum, Wat Lanka, and not too far from the royal palace.

I understand they are eco-sensitive and hence solar water heating and local staff. The solar heater can be frustrating as one has to wait for 10-mins (let the water run) to get hot water. Not sure if the electricity saved is all water down the drain, and the pressure could be better. The staff are well intentioned, though sometimes can be inefficient. But assuming they truly 'local', it is a small price to pay.

The breakfast is something that can be improved - but hey, how much does one expect for $40. With a spacious room and charming ambiance, I would recommend this.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to the construction next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamadmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My second stay at Frangipani 90s and as a returning guest, the staff couldn't have been more welcoming. I've read other reviews which mention construction noise (that's usually impossible to avoid in PP) but I didn't hear any. And a noisy nightclub - have never heard it myself. For my needs Villa 90s is perfect and out of the way of the chaos of the usual goings on in the city, but near enough to the things I need to get to. Even if I'm working on the other side of town I'd still stay here! Airport pick up - never lets me down. Laundry service has gotten even quicker and is still the best value of any place I've stayed. Is it the most salubrious venue? No. But it's smart, clean, and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have double high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. At £17 for a night it was a bargain. Nice comfy and big bed. Air con that made it lovely and cool. The bathroom was amazing as the shower was in the bath rather than a wetroom which we have experienced for 6 weeks of travelling! There was also a bath. You get toiletries too which is a nice touch. The breakfast was really good with eggs and pastries. The staff are friendly but some of their english isnt very good. The location is a little poor but tuk tuk are pretty cheap so not too much of an issue. Wifi was very good and consistent. You also get to use their sister hotel by the river for the swimming pool for free which was lush after a hot day exploring! Great hotel and would stay again without a doubt :).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I booked and received confirmation for studio room. whe i arrived i had an ugly room with very small balcony, a pushy air cond. asked for discount. no way. In the morning, impossible to sleep du to construction next door. Frangipani has too much success and start to be arrogant. May next stay will not be at any frangipani s.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tycoon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Lovely staff and service that catered a family with a toddler and very senior parents. Loved the simple but elegant ambiance and the spacious bathroom/shower. An extra railing would be useful for older folks to get around in the bathroom - my mother commented. Other than that, local cuisine served was really decent and free to use bikes were in great working condition. Will definitely stay here again if we need to visit friends there next time. Bringing your own bottles from home will help lessen the use of disposable plastic bottles - they'll fill up your bottles anytime. And we really appreciated that a fan was also in the room so we didn't have to use a/c which lets us reduce on energy use.

Room Tip: Our room at the back seemed quieter than my parents' room facing the road - although their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.6 mi away
The Frangipani Royal Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
Rambutan Resort - Phnom Penh
#4 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm Boutique Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Residia at Silvertown
Residia at Silvertown
#111 of 269 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
The Little Garden Boutique Hotel
#84 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel

Property: The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel
Address: 71 #25, Street, Phnom Penh 12000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frangipani Villa-90s Hotel is a 1990s villa restored in the style 1960’s Cambodia architecture with some contemporary touches. The hotel provides suite, studio, double and twin room accommodation. Comfortable seating for relaxing at any time of the day or for informal meetings are available on the roof top terrace and on a shady first floor balcony. Food and drinks are served throughout the day in the shady restaurant immediately adjacent to a well designed and extensively planted garden. The hotel is located in southern central Phnom Penh a short tuk-tuk ride from the city’s popular Tuol Tom Poung Market (Russian Market) and providing ready access to other sites throughout the city. A mini-mart, coffee shop and ATM are two minutes walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Frangipani Villa - 90s Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing