We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate”
Review of Villa Langka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Langka
Ranked #24 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“adequate”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights - I was told that the charity I was there to visit had favourable rates, which is why I stayed there, but it turned out to be only $5 discount. the first room I was given in the contemporary annex had a bar outside and there was a lot of noise. I was told it quiets down after 10:30 but didn't stay there since I was quite tired from a long trip. I was moved to the traditional house. There was no noise from the outside but the phone next door range nonstop for many hours. There is nowhere to store your clothing so if you are on a long trip, as I was, there is nowhere to hang or put clothing away. The restaurant is very good, the pool area is nice and the staff are attentive but I found the rooms to be a bit dirty and just 'adequate'. There are other more charming places in PP

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graydon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
I read with attention your review and I will take seriously into consideration your constructive remarks. I regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay but I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, pool area and employee attitude.

Do look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    416
    116
    19
    7
See reviews for
140
399
117
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice pool surroundings with plants, loungers and comfy sofas. Excellent staff. Very nice food - we had lunch and breakfast. Room noisy though - could hear neighbours too much - this is because it is in a nice old building.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thank you very much for your great feedback and very glad that you enjoyed hotel facilities and services.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Langka for 3 nights at the end of a 2 week holiday in Laos and Cambodia. We were hoping for a lovely hotel which could act as a relaxing base and we were not disappointed. After the chaos and heat of PP roads, entering the reception area of the hotel was like walking into another world of peace and tranquility. After welcoming drinks we were shown to our room on the ground floor close to the pool which felt like a small suite with its own outdoor seating area.

The room was a good size with a 4 poster bed and usual accessories. An odd feature was what appeared to be netting around the bed but was not large enough to be a mosquito net. As there were several mosquitos around the pool area, a full net would have been useful. The bathroom was a good size but had 2 downsides; there was no hot water and as it was a walk in shower, water sprayed all over the floor.

The breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of pastries, cakes, fruit, cereal, hot buffet and freshly cooked eggs or pancakes. We also ate 2 other meals at the restaurant which were really tasty and from a varied menu of Asian and Western
dishes.

The hotel is on a quiet street close to Independent monument. It is walkable to the riverside but more likely a tuk tuk journey at night. After the first night at the riverside, we explored the area around the hotel where many ex-pats live and found we preferred the ambience and choice of bars and restaurants which also meant it was much easier to walk back to the hotel. As many of the sights and areas of interest require a tuk tuk journey in PP, this hotel was a good a base as any along the Riverside.

Finally, the pool was lovely and shaded by many plants which was very welcome in the hot PP sun. It was quite a busy pool and sometimes difficult finding a lounger. However, we did notice that there were signs displayed limiting the use of the pool to hotel guests at weekends and holiday periods.

A final welcomed gesture by the hotel was use of an empty room free of charge for a shower prior to our evening flight. We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Langka and would highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katanambu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had a delightful time in Phnom Penh and would gladly return to the city and to Villa Langka. Our room was very large and very clean and had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool--a great place to sit for evening cocktails. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. We liked the quiet street on which the hotel is located, but it is easily accessible to all the places you will want to visit. The pool is very nicely landscaped and very clean. On hot days, this is a great respite.

We found the breakfast choices abundant and delicious.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool provide attractive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We are a family of four that had two superior rooms at Villa Langka in Dec 2012. We spent three nights there and overall it was ok but nothing special. The rooms were ok but I struggle to see what was superior about them but they were clean and comfortable.

The main area that disappointed was the "restaurant". For breakfast it clearly was far too small for the number of guests. The buffet was small and disappointing especially coupled with the inevitable wait to find a table which, frankly, is not what I want on my holidays. The staff were helpful and efficient in clearing tables but the experience was such that I would be unlikely to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garythegrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you for the review and sharing your experience with us.

We are always happy to receive feedback as it helps us to ensure constant improvement and to keep the team motivated. I take well note the points of improvement that you mention especially concerning breakfast. We always aim to create a nice experience for our guests, and on behalf on the whole team I can say we very much regret that was not the case on this occasion. I certainly hope you will return to us one day and give us a chance to thoroughly exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Not bad hotel. But no hot water. Staff very commercial. Extra charge for a bed who was olready in the room !!! Our guide from siem reap who find this place there was no space to give him a breakfast .commision whooooforget about this. Real frence owner break fast morning coffee included but coffee from the coffee machine like expresso we had to pay extra .they charge enough for the rooms .when we checked in two nights ago late they had the rooms empty but dit not want to give any discount at all.they prefer to leave it empty . The garden is ok but a lot off mosquitos .the single room for my son for 45 euros is a cage,there was no cabinet to hang or lay dont your stuff .we stay at this place due to the fact that a hotel we booked at sold our rooms.
To stay in this hotel again when we come back to phnon phem no way .we checked others hotel and find there are many hotels around who are much better.by the way the suite roomis ok but most off the other rooms like a puzzle. They used the space till the last centimeter to build rooms
And many rooms have a bad view for 100 euros a night double .

Room Tip: Shop around when you have time many hotels in phnon phem but look in the day time not like us we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vl282, General Manager at Villa Langka, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us! This is always disappointing for us to read such feedback, our aim is to please as much as we can our customer.
You have been charged according our public rate with extra bed but currency is not Euro but Dollar. If you visit again Phnom Penh, it will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again and to meet your expectations.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Small and friendly with a good restaurant and a small pool. Professional and capable staff in reception. Very helpful in arranging onward travel. We arrived in the dark and were treated to a wonderful view of a Cambodian wedding and a monastery spire on waking. Wildly expensive 'Best of Cambodian arts' type gift-shop. 24-hours security. A good place to begin exploring Phnom Penh, but also comfortable enough to relax and unwind in. I'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.3 mi away
Samsara Villa
Samsara Villa
#38 of 267 in Phnom Penh
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
the 252
the 252
#14 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 267 in Phnom Penh
2,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#21 of 267 in Phnom Penh
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Langka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Langka

Property: Villa Langka
Address: No 14, Street 282, Phnom Penh BKK 1, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
#9 Family Hotel in Phnom Penh
#13 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Langka 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Boutique Hotel in an oasis of calm, Villa Langka offers a private hideaway in central Phnom Penh.Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Villa Langka Boutique Hotel overlooks the ancient spires of Wat Langka Pagoda and is located just around the corner from the Independence Monument and the popular street 278, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Villa Langka Boutique Hotel offers 48 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 24 rooms in a traditional khmer villa and 24 rooms in a contemporary building.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility.Ideal location and atmosphere for both leisure and business travelers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Langka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Langka Hotel Phnom Penh
Langka Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing